5/30/14-Zack PMPS 273,+1 263,+3 201,+4 165,+6 195

Status
Not open for further replies.

hyolles

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's condo http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=119481
So much for sleeping in....
Paul took AMPS and fed, I got up, gave meds to horse, then took +2 BG.

AMPS 171, +2 36,+2.5 44,+3.5 75,+5 139,+7 215,+9 224, PMPS 273,+1 263,+3 201,+4 165,,+6 195
Breakfast low carb wet, then 3 tsp high carb Friskies which Chicken, tuna and cheese, carb load is I forget. 23?

He was just reduced yesterday morning to .75. I think this is too soon to reduce again? Please confirm.

Thank you.
 
Re: ? 5/30/14-Zack AMPS 171,+2 36??Too soon to reduce? Right

No, it's not too soon to reduce as that's a # below 40. In order for a reduction to occur, the protocol states that your kitty needs to show either of these situations:

1. 3 numbers below 50...
2. 1 # below 40...
3. #s need to be in the healing range (between 50-120) for 7 days.

Have you taken another test after that +2 was taken? If not, please do so to ensure that Zack is rising.

And congratulations! :-D
 
Re: ? 5/30/14-Zack AMPS 171,+2 36??Too soon to reduce? Right

It seems like the food is working. However, please get another test 20-30 minutes after that one. You want to make sure that the #s are in the 50-120 range as much as possible.
 
Re: ? 5/30/14-Zack AMPS 171,+2 36??Too soon to reduce? Right

Congrats Holly and Zack on another reduction. Great work on the testing, Holly. I guess you're working now on getting Zack's numbers up to a safer level and testing every 15 to 20 minutes? Good luck and let us know if we can help in any way.

Thinking of you both!

Anne
 
Re: 5/30/14-Zack AMPS 171,+2 36,+2.5

Yes. Handing off to hisband who will update ss but not message post. Have dr apt to attend.
 
Re: 5/30/14-Zack AMP 171,+2.5 36,+3 44,+3.5 75,+5 139,+see b

It may very well still be the previous 1.0u dose that was involved in this morning's low numbers. It *might* have been too soon to take another reduction, although a 36 is nothing to ignore and i think you did need to go ahead and take the reduction. You're not going to know for a few cycles.

if Zack goes back into green numbers once the bounce has cleared, and it looks like the reduction is holding in the next couple of cycles, you could keep shooting the 0.5u until he goes below 50 again.

But if he trends back up, be ready to go back up to 0.75u. This is a bounce tonight, so not a "trending up" of numbers. I think i'd hold the 0.5u dose now and see what he gets to when the bounce clears.
 
Re: 5/30/14-Zack AMP 171,+2.5 36,+3 44,+3.5 75,+5 139,+see b

Agreed.
Additionally, I think perhaps we could focus on trying a higher carb of a low carb variety to feed when he gets low.
Seems like he reacts significantly to high carbs, bouncing more each time.
Hoping the high carb food did not hurt him.
Holly
 
Re: 5/30/14-Zack AMP 171,+9 224,PMPS 273,+1 263,+3 201,+4 16

I think you're probably seeing the higher bounce because he went SO low, so quickly more than anything.

It seems like when they drop really low or really fast (and Zack did both), I see higher bounces

When they're that low, and as stubborn as Zack has been in the past to get him above 50, I wouldn't worry a whole lot about the high carb food that gets him to finally come up! He'll come back down :-D

Congrats on the reduction, and hopefully he'll hold it and won't have to go back up!
 
Re: 5/30/14-Zack AMP 171,+9 224,PMPS 273,+1 263,+3 201,+4 16

Some people use low carb for many of the low numbers, rather than using gravy or karo. if the kitty gets below 40, though, i would use gravy or karo. if Zack is really sensitive to the carbs you might be able to give less volume (say a scant teaspoon). you might need more at +2 on a normal cycle than if you had a low number at +10.

good notes will help you fine tune this and figure out what works for Zack - everyone overcarbs at first! :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top