5/30/12-Racci-AMPS-168V, +4-230,+9-218,PMPS-253, Vet Update

Status
Not open for further replies.

MelanieAndRacci

Member Since 2010
Using Relion Ultima until Contour strips get here (generally about 15% higher)
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=72079
Yesterday: 5/29-Racci-AMPS-302,+2.5-119,+5.5-139,PMPS-174 Ketones??Help

Hi, I just got home from the vet a little bit ago. I had to rush to give Racci her meds and food before I could write. She was already an hour late and starving.

Racci does NOT have ketones! Sigh of relief! The doctor was stumped also. She went online to a vet only site, to look it up and found that what Racci had was called a gray reading and they can be caused by any metabolite that is screwed up, by infection or by anything that changes the ph, even by the blue cleaner I use to clean her butt and is not that unusual though it seems no one knows about it, even the vet! She found several case studies about it.
Racci does have an infection and had a blocked anal gland and the other and was partially blocked. The rash was gone. Other than that and being too fat, the doctor couldn't find anything wrong.

She got a long-acting ab shot and Orbax for the house and the dr. gave me some of her flush cleaner to try and she wants to see her again in 2 weeks to check on her again. All in all it was a good visit after all that worrying. I'm falling asleep typing and was falling asleep driving after two days in a row with no sleep. I think I need a stiff drink and a nap. Poor Racci just wants to sleep now that she had her meds and food. :-D

Thanks for holding my hand last night! I was a wreck! this is the second time i am posting this! It keeps disappearing on me! The dr. also had a fit cause Racci tested 168 even though she was stressed out and again said she wants her at 3u. She's afraid Racci is going too low whan I can't watch her and that could also cause weird readings and make her sick.

brb. Racci's calling.
 
Re: 5/30/12-Racci-AMPS-168V Vet Update

Great great great news!!! drinking24 I would definitely come have a drink with you if I weren't at tbp and in Tulsa, OK. :-D That is such a huge relief. I hope you are able to go home and get some much deserved rest. ((((Melanie))))
 
Re: 5/30/12-Racci-AMPS-168V Vet Update

Yay for no ketones! And an answer! Definitely get that drink and nap. You both deserve it!
 
Re: 5/30/12-Racci-AMPS-168V Vet Update

Yay to no ketones!!!!! What a relief!

Wishing Racci a quick recovery from his infection. ((((Hugs to you Melissa))))
 
Re: 5/30/12-Racci-AMPS-168V, +4-230 Vet Update

I don't know if you saw my note from last evening. I belatedly realized that a UTI could have caused the discoloration on the strip. With a UTI, sometimes there's blood in the urine. That would cause the strip to be a brownish color. Your vet didn't, by any chance, get a sterile urine sample?

Also, for future reference, it sounds like your vet gave Racci a shot of Convenia. It's a long acting antibiotic. The problem with a long-acting injection is that if your cat is allergic or develops any kind of side effect, once the drug is in you can't get it out. It's not like a pill you can stop giving. We encourage you to ask for something other than Convenia. The only indication that Convenia has is for skin infections. Many vets will use it for cats that are hard to pill since it is a long-acting injectible medication.
 
Re: 5/30/12-Racci-AMPS-168V, +4-230 Vet Update

Awww, Melanie, I'm sorry to hear you have had such a hard time lately. I'm so glad to see that Racci is doing better, and that you are both home. Take care.

Dale
 
Re: 5/30/12-Racci-AMPS-168V, +4-230 Vet Update

Wow, I took a long nap! I didn't get my drink but that nap sure helped. :razz: Racci is still sleeping! :mrgreen:

Racci had called me before to clean her after going to the LB and to eat so that's when I got the high reading (230), I wonder if she's going high tonight because of the stress. Racci's had a really rough week. She had the cleaning crew on Friday, me shopping and being gone monday, my DGS here tuesday and now the vet today! Poor baby! Oh she also got a shaved butt at the vet today since they missed it the last time.

Thank you all so much for your support. This has been so traumatic for me. All I could think of was all the poor cats and their beans who went through the terrible trial of dka and ketones and how terrible it was for them & that I was going to lose my Racci. I'm so relieved that it was just the anal glands infected again and the ketone test strips being that weird color had another reason for doing that.

Sienne, I think at first she did think I was nuts, even tho she knows me, but when she tested her herself and got the same results I did, that's when she did research on it and found what it was. I did see your note and was going to reply but fell asleep before I could, sorry. She did not have blood in the urine. I mentioned that to the vet because I also thought of it even though it looked very clear. She did not get a clean sample this time but will in 2 weeks when she sees her again. I brought the urine with me this time. Racci doesn't have any of the symptoms of an UTI though and I don't expect to find one. She's eating, pooping, peeing, drinking, not straining at all or showing signs of nausea. In fact, she's been asking for food and hungry.
Racci has had Convenia before several times and never had a reaction so I think if she were going to have one she would have already. She also has Orbax to take at home later if she still needs it. Racci does not take pills well. She needs syrups and the shots work really well for her because they're fast and she doesn't get sick from them. Thanks so much for your support and caring last night. It really made a difference to me. I didn't feel so alone with the weight of the world on my shoulders. Thanks again.

Melissa, I would have had that drink with you gladly! :lol:
 
Re: 5/30/12-Racci-AMPS-168V, +4-230 Vet Update

Great news! LL is an amazing place when your cat is doing something weird (which is often :lol: ) and you feel overwhelmed with trying to figure it out. Anal gland expression seems to help our cats feel better too.
Liz
 
Re: 5/30/12-Racci-AMPS-168V, +4-230 Vet Update

Hi Liz,

That is so true about LL! Where else do you find a bunch of friends willing to sit up with you and take your worry about your fur kids seriously at any time of day or night? Not only that, but with helpful suggestions and knowledge!! Even my family doesn't understand. They all tell me I'm going to wind up homeless because of all the money I spend on Racci. The only one who was like me was my father. He truly loved his animals too. I don't care what any one says though, she's my furbaby. It's so nice to have other people around who understand and feel the same way.

Racci always seems to have problems with those glands! Oh, she finally woke up. I better get a test & give her some food before it gets too close to test and shot time for her pmps. TTYL. Thanks!
 
Re: 5/30/12-Racci-AMPS-168V, +4-230,+9-218 Vet Update

LL will always be here for you!! So Glad All ailments are Minor & hope you can finally get some sleep!!
You are a great Bean & do so much for your fur baby!! Racci is so lucky !Everything was caught in time!
Knowing Thy Cat can be a lifesaver especially for us here--So glad vet could help her!
We love you Melanie & will always hold your hand!!! Hugs & Love from us!!
 
Re: 5/30/12-Racci-AMPS-168V, +4-230,+9-218 Vet Update

What a relief it's not ketone! We all understand that love for our kitties. Hugs!
 
Re: 5/30/12-Racci-AMPS-168V, +4-230,+9-218,PMPS-253, Vet Upd

Would you believe that I fell asleep again sitting at the computer? :lol: I think it's probably mental exhaustion too. Thank you so much for caring and visiting, Julie, Helen, Sienne, Dale, Melissa, Liz, Ann & Roni.

Roni, It sure is true that we have to know our cats! I had to explain to the vet again why Racci wasn't ready for the 3u decrease yet but that she almost was and remind her that I got her down from 5U and high numbers to 3.25u and mostly normal or near normal numbers with tr and using .25 dose changes so it was working and I was not irresponsible & tr did work. Racci just can't move quickly. I also told her about the remissions we had in the group. She's also under the impression that the testing hurts them too much and we should do it a minimum of times so I had to explain again how important that is in tr to keep them safe & the steps we take not to hurt them. I finally found out her ideal #'s are in the low 200's but that means no remission! When I said that she didn't have an answer. Who knows, maybe eventually we'll have a converted vet yet. ;-) She's such a good vet and she loves cats so much, I wish she would read up on Rand & the protocol, etc & look at a new way of doing things with diabetes.

Hi Dale, long time no speak. :smile: I hope all is well with your fur family.

I have to get off to bed for the night. I hope you all have a great night & pleasant dreams! Thanks again for visiting and caring and celebrating the good news of minor illness. :lol:

Melanie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top