5/3 Zeke AMPS 89 - Preshot BGs have improved :-)

Status
Not open for further replies.

MrZ

Member Since 2013
Good morning LL ~O) ~O) ~O)

Sending out positive :mrgreen: BG vines to all and feel better vines to all kitties in need of them.

Zeke's previous condo

Sorry to be MIA. I’ve been scanning the “headlines” when I can but have not had much time to post. Work week has been ugly (I’ve put in some really long hours – nearly all nighters) so DH has been handling all the shots/test this week.

Fortunately everyone has recovered from the diarrhea and Zeke has seen more improvement , BG wise. He’s gotten a lot flatter in the lower greens so we’re gonna start backing off on the testing. Additionally, thanks to the suggestion from Julie, Sienne, Dyana and Marje, we’ve been sticking with the +8/+9 snack and It’s finally starting to help his PSBGs. The Pet Safe timed feeder that Julie recommended is AWESOME!!! Thanks Julie!!! I had purchased the Cat Mate Feeder before seeing Julie’s recommendation (Darn it!) because it has the thermal/freezer packs to keep the food cool but it can’t be set digitally and therefore is not very precise and apparently not able to handle multiple settings in one day. However, the Pet Safe feeder is working just fine with foodsicles.

It didn’t take long to “condition” Zekey to the feeder. I set the feeder for about 4 feedings, 10 minutes apart, placed some freeze dried treats in each compartment, and Zeke caught on very quickly that as soon as he hears the feeder go off, there will be a reward to be had. Fortunately, our civvie’s Mia and Ivan are afraid of the feeder so I’m 100% sure that Zeke is the one who ate yesterday’s snacks that we’re left in the feeder (first day we used it for this purpose).

So, Zeke’s PSBGs have come down and we’re seeing many more green PSs (Yay!!). Unfortunately, he’s getting blue food spikes (Boo!!!). Additionally, we had an unfortunate stressed filled evening for Zeke this week that caused him to spike to 164 :o (what the heck!). I felt really bad because it was my fault (bad bean). I had a consultant on speaker during a phone call and poor Zekey thought there was a stranger in the house. He is so terrified of men. I didn’t realize the impact my call was having until that +2 test. DH was handling the testing/feeding and I could hear that DH was trying to comfort Zeke and get him to eat but I thought this behavior was due to a knock at the door just before the PS. Once I realized the impact my call was having on Zeke I immediately switched over to ear buds but the damage was already done. Fortunately, Zeke was able to recover a little later in the cycle.

Well, we’re hoping that Zeke will continue to have nice PSBGs and stop having such dramatic food spikes and hopefully start seeing some prolonged and constant green cycles. Paws and fingers crossed.

Here's a recap of what’s been going on with Zeke.

Today so far :
AMPS / 89; +1.25 / 117 (What?!); +2.15 / 83 (Well that’s more like it)

May 2:
AMPS / 91; +1.25 / 103; +2.25 / 89; +4.25 / 74

PMPS / 89; +1.25 / 104; +3.25 / 69; +4.25 / 78; +8.5 / SNACK

May 1:

AMPS / 85; +1.5 / 99; +4.5 / 72; +9.25 / SNACK / 63

PMPS / 70; +1.25 / 93; +2.25 / 95; +5 / 98;

April 30:
AMPS / 91; +1.5 / 123 (Food spike); +2.25 / 95; +8.5 / SNACK / 96

PMPS / 106; +1.25 / 164 (Stress induced); +2.25 / 134 (I feel so bad that I caused him this much stress); +8.5 / SNACK / 69 & 72 (RT)
April 29:
AMPS / 94; +1.25 / 91; +2 / 79; +3 / 68; +5.25 / 66; +8.5 / SNACK / 76

PMPS / 134 (No idea why. Initially thought due to the snack. Considered eliminating the snack but decided to stick with the program and just see how it goes - so glad I did.); +3 / 105; +6.5 / 72; +8.5 / SNACK / 83

April 28:
AMPS / 112; +1.25 / 108; +2 / 81; +3 / 71 ; +4.75 / 71; +8.5 / SNACK / 83

PMPS / 97; +1.25 / 124; +2 / 108; +2 / 66; +4.75 / 73; +8.5 / SNACK / 83

April 27:
AMPS / 108; +1.25 / 99; +2.25 / 62; +3 / 56 ; +4.5 / 56; +8.25 / SNACK / 69; +10.75 / 104

PMPS / 108; +1.25 / 112; +2 / 79; +3 / 62; +5.5 / 67; +8.5 / SNACK / 58; +10 / 64

Wishing everyone a great Caturday.
 
How thrilling to see Zeke doing so well! I'm very glad for all of you - glad his numbers have come down almost completely into normal range, glad the feeder worked (i really liked it too!), glad the snack is bringing his preshot numbers down. Must be that he wasn't quite ready for it when you tried the first time.

Looks like you've got 2.5 days of completely normal numbers under 120. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: i'm sending Zeke psychic vibes to go another 4.5 days just like this so you can try reducing his dose again . . . :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top