5/3-Racci -AMPS-68,+3-64,+5.5-121,PMPS-188,+9-58

Status
Not open for further replies.

MelanieAndRacci

Member Since 2010
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=70105

This is a first for Racci! A green BG for an AMPS has never happened before. Giving her less of the Core is really bringing her BG down low! The vet may have been right about bringing her down to 3u. I may have missed her dose change number last night. I usually give her a +3 meal and last night she did not want it so I was going to give it at +6 since she was high anyway and didn't worry about it but I overslept which is weird because I am a very light sleep,,er and Racci didn't wake me either! Usually when she's low she asks for food very loudly.

With an AMPS of 68 do you think I missed her dose decrease number? Do you think I should go to the 3u or give her more carbs at night, which would also be more calories, since I can't rely on waking up?

Thanks!

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 5/3-Racci -AMPS-68,+3-64 Green Day! Dose Advice Please

Hi Melanie. I have no advice, just stopping by to say "yay" on the green day for Racci. :mrgreen:

Checkers also usually tells me when he's low. He sits in front of me, complaining loudly that I starve him.
Today he did none of that. He lay in the window most of the day.

You asked if he's on lev now. Yes, and I love it. He doesn't have those horrible steep dives any more.



Barb
 
Re: 5/3-Racci -AMPS-68,+3-64 Green Day! Dose Advice Please

I hate to ask this but if you know that Racci pooped at PM +3 and you fed at PM +9, couldn't you have gotten a test?

My best suggestion is to remind you that Lantus likes consistency. Being consistent with dose, shot time, and food are all part of tight regulation. I would feed Racci the same level of carbs and calories unless it's your intent to try to influence the cycle by food manipulation. The goal here is to keep Racci in green numbers and to gradually lower her dose -- unless you have a different goal in mind. From the data you have, Racci did not drop below 50 to warrant a dose reduction.
 
Re: 5/3-Racci -AMPS-68,+3-64 Green Day! Dose Advice Please

i would add that because she's more than a year since diagnosis, you would want to see under 40 for a dose decrease. if she got there last night, she'll get there again. i'd hold the dose, personally.
 
Re: 5/3-Racci -AMPS-68,+3-64,+5.5-121 Dose Advice Please

Hi Sienne,

Unfortunately, I was unable to lift her at those times to test. I had a bad night which is why I overslept from my pain medication. If I could have, I would have. She weighs over 20lbs and my limit is supposed to be 10. Obviously I lift her all day everyday but sometimes it is just beyond me. It is what it is. I accepted it years ago. Believe me, I would have liked to have had the data. It will only get harder for me not easier, as I start babysitting my 3 yr old grandson regularly the days he does not go to nursery next week. My dil found a job.

I'm thinking if Racci was that low at +9 she possibly went low enough to get a reduction. We don't know it for sure though. If you think it's a bad idea, fine. Of course, I would like her to be in the greens but she hasn't had a green overnight yet. It was her first and it makes me nervous. I also thought the purpose was to lower the dose also. But I don't know whether it's better for her to be in greens on a higher dose or blues on a lower dose. I would imagine the second, but you know more than me about that so please let me know. I could just keep her on this dose and give a little more hc at her PMPS meal in case she skips that +3 meal again if you think that's better.

I do intend to keep her on low carbs as much as possible. This particular one she is eating is 2%. We did discuss this but I realize you help so many people it's not easy to remember every detail. I just add a little of the high carb to make it stick together but since Julie suggested trying it without so much water, I realized I hadn't tried that since the beginning when I first introduced wet food so decided to try it thicker and she liked it. This meant I needed less of the HC. So yes, I am still playing with Racci's food. Don't forget she's been eating dry food for over 15 years and it takes a while to figure out what she will and will not eat since she's extremely picky with the wet food and I still have not found a mid carb that she will eat.

I do appreciate your help but I have limitations. By the time I go to bed and in the morning until my meds work, I am useless.
 
Re: 5/3-Racci -AMPS-68,+3-64,+5.5-121 Dose Advice Please

Hi Barb,

That's right! You did tell me that. I forgot about you saying how well Checkers was doing on the Levemir. It's just that this is the first time I noticed him doing the green thing all day like this and forgot when I saw someone else mention it. :lol: I'm surprised he didn't tell you today. Isn't that the cutest, when they do that? I love it!

Thanks for coming over to say yay!
 
Re: 5/3-Racci -AMPS-68,+3-64,+5.5-121 Dose Advice Please

Thanks Julie! I'll just add a little more carbs to the nighttime (PMPS) big meal to play it safe then. I'd like to see her run those greens in the daytime before she runs them at night when I may not be able to keep her safe.

I wanted to thank you for your suggestion about taking some of the water away from the food mix too. I keep meaning to get over to your condo. It turns out that now that she's eating the wet foods for several weeks she decided that she does like it that way after all. It's especially helpful with the grainier foods that don't mix well.
 
Re: 5/3-Racci -AMPS-68,+3-64,+5.5-121 Dose Advice Please

Beautiful numbers today Melanie & Racci!!! Happy to see you in the greens!! Hope you find that perfect dose!!
Hugs & Love from us!!
 
Re: 5/3-Racci -AMPS-68,+3-64,+5.5-121 Dose Advice Please

You're right -- I forget. My brain is a sieve these days.

I would suggest deciding on whether you'll give Racci more carbs at night based on her numbers. It's no different than for those of us who leave for work every day. If the numbers are indicating that there may be a drop, we leave higher carb food out but it's not a daily thing.

Will Racci jump up on a place that would be easier for you to test? I usually pick Gabby up and test her on the kitchen counter. However, I also test her where she may be planted -- my bed, on the floor, on the sofa, etc. Many cats who will jump to their test spot and I'm wondering if with enough coaxing with treats, Racci will help to put less strain on your back.
 
Re: 5/3-Racci -AMPS-68,+3-64,+5.5-121 Dose Advice Please

Sienne, I wouldn't expect you to remember everything! Just think how rich and famous you would be if you could! It's okay. :lol:

Unfortunately, between Racci's neuritis and arthritis, she can't jump up anymore. She jumps down if it's not too high but actually I'd rather put her down myself. She gives me heart failure every time she does. :mrgreen: She tries to slide down and usually half falls. I wind up lifting her all day wherever she wants to go which is one of the reasons my back and knees have had it by the time I collapse into bed. I test her on a big ottoman sitting next to her. She can't even get up on that anymore. She walks over to it and waits for me to pick her up.

I do get down on the floor with her to play because I can play in any position and to clean her bottom, etc but it doesn't really work for testing or meds. That's only good when I'm using the orange ear. I can't see the blood if it's the other ear's turn. My lights aren't good enough and she moves too much. She always winds up getting me in a really bad position trying not to lose the blood. ohmygod_smile

I think the carbs are going to be the way to do it with her. I usually feed her after her PM meds unless she's really low and wants them immediately, then I'll give her food right after her test. I'll just use a larger portion of Core with that meal in case she doesn't eat her 3am meal, which I wait for before I go to sleep. If I can, I wait another hour and get a test, if not, I don't. Once I go to sleep tho, it's all over until my next round of meds.

She won't eat the wet food if it's left out. It has to be fresh and warm. She's still the fussiest little princess when it comes to the wet food so I leave it all ready and wrapped in her dish in the fridge so when I get up I just put it in the micro and give it to her before I work on myself or at +6.
 
Re: 5/3-Racci -AMPS-68,+3-64,+5.5-121 Dose Advice Please

The only other suggestion I can think of is stairs for Racci. A friend of mine's cat had a herniated disc and had back surgery. Her cat isn't supposed to jump. She has several sets of cat stairs around the house so her cat can get onto the beds, window sills, counters, etc. without hurting herself.
 
Re: 5/3-Racci -AMPS-68,+3-64,+5.5-121 Dose Advice Please

I tried stairs with her before and she wouldn't have anything to do with them. I saw some online the other day that were very wide tho and thought that she might not be scared of those. If they're returnable, I might try them.

I think if I could find them, a short ramp would be best, covered with carpet. I probably would have to have it made for me. Since she tries to slide down off furniture, I thought a ramp might work for her. She's very timid and afraid of new things tho. She thought the stairs were scary. She had a horrified look when I tried to make her go down. :lol:

Thanks, Sienne. I may try to get one of the guys to cut a board the right length and width and cover it with carpet and try a ramp to see if it works before making something fancy since I couldn't find one online that would work.
 
Re: 5/3-Racci -AMPS-68,+3-64,+5.5-121 Dose Advice Please

Thanks Roni! I noticed that Moonie's having a nice blue day last I was able to look too but haven't been able to get over yet. :razz:

Its meds time but maybe I'll finally get there after.

Hu& Love back to you and Moonie
 
Re: 5/3-Racci -AMPS-68,+3-64,+5.5-121 Dose Advice Please

heheh i would "seed" the ramp with food. just like the wicked witch with hansel and gretel. ok, not just like that, more like how hansel and gretel did before the witch stuffed them in the oven - but you get the idea. i think i'll forgo nursery tales as my examples from now on! ;-) :lol:

i think i've got a sieve brain going sometimes too - i have to look at every spreadsheet before every single comment, read the last condo and the current one to make sure i'm thinking of the right cat! ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 5/3-Racci -AMPS-68,+3-64,+5.5-121 Dose Advice Please

Julie, that's a good idea with the food! I'll have to use some of her favorite treats, maybe some corned beef or ribs. I kinda liked your analogy. :lol: Now, to get either DH or my son to make it for me..... ;-) Well, actually I need to measure a few spots first and see how much floor space I have.

I can just imagine what you all must feel like at the end of the night when you go to sleep with all those numbers & different problems in your head trying to remember which cat did what all day or night. If that was me, it would take hours for me to wind down before I could sleep. :lol:

Thank you for all you do. We really do appreciate all the time & effort you ladies go through for us and our precious babies. My vet is a cat specialist and I'm sure you saw the answers I got the other day. She was not happy with me at all when I would not agree with her about testing or food. She is a good vet, just not up with TR or Rand. Racci would not have as good numbers as she has if it wasn't for this board and the people who make it what it is.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top