5/3 Pumbaa AMPS/319 +6.5/333 PMPS/356 +4/254

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pumbaa

Member Since 2012
Looks like the little guy is coming down after that 508 two mornings ago.

I'm praying that today's numbers all show a gentle decline. I might give his ears a break and only do a +6 and the PMPS...then gear up to run a full curve on Saturday.

Come on, yellow!!!! :)

Suze

Update after PMPS: I'm getting totally disgusted. It appeared that Pumbaa was clearing his bounce of 508 as of last night's PMPS reading. I wasn't too concerned this morning when his AMPS was 319 because that was just slightly higher than his 293's last night. I truly expected to see the yellow numbers today, and a gradual decline of those numbers. Why, instead, he is climbing up in the 300s is a total frickin' mystery to me!!! :?

Is it the food? Do I need to take him off of FF classics again? Is it the insulin pen (clear fluid, no floaties)? Should I open a new one? Is it the Lantus he's not responding well to?

I. Just. Don't. Know.

And I'm so tired of being encouraged that he is going to drop into the 200s so we can move on from there, only to have him back up in the 500's, 400's and 300s. I'm not looking for miracles, I just want him out of the danger zone for organ damage, etc.

Okay. Pumbaa has only been on insulin for 23 days. A miracle would have been controlling this by diet alone. And tight regulation did not work because Pumbaa and I were BOTH stressed out by his roller-coaster numbers.

Outwardly, he's like his old juvenile-delinquent self again. Other than hoovering up massive quantities of food, regularly, which I understand because he's not regulated yet. Maybe he's hoovering up too much food? How do I know how much is too much food when he's not regulated? Especially when he has been on all-wet low-carb food exclusively since 4/3/12?

I think I am going to Trader Joe's tomorrow. I know that feeding your cats a fish diet isn't the best thing for them, but Pumbaa and Larry used to love their fish cat food (wet and dry). The Trader Joe's Tuna for Cats is very high protein and very low carbs and very low fat. 72% protein, 26% fat and 2% carbs, per Binky's chart (I've been working on getting updated information, and they have responded recently that carbs are 1.164% but I don't know if that is as-fed or KCal). I would think that significantly more protein would cause Pumbaa to stay full longer, and the TJ's Tuna for Cats would counter-balance the high-fat EVO.

Right now, I'm planning on keeping him at the 1.00U dose, until I do a 2-hour curve on Saturday. I'm frustrated, but I'm wearing my patience pants and they are doing a great job...other than not allowing me to concentrate on my work and cause me to not dwell on Pumbaa and his numbers. I was thinking about opening a new Lantus pen tomorrow morning, but that's probably not a good idea if I am going to do a curve on Saturday. Then again, maybe it IS a good idea, just in case the insulin he's getting is not up to snuff for some reason.

I'm just rattling off at the brain here 'cause I can't figure out what I need to do to stabilize Pumbaa and start seeing less black/red/pink numbers.

Help! :)

Suze
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top