5/3 Oscar Difficulty getting regulated numbers above 400

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christina and Oscar

Member Since 2021
Oscar and I have had a long journey over the last year. He is a 10 year old domestic short hair. About a year or so ago he was a big boy. Loved to eat and was 16 pounds. Now he is down to about 11.5 pounds. We are so used to seeing him as a fat cat, that seeing him in a normal weight range almost looks bad. lol

He was first diagnosed with diabetes and then what seems like every "itis" there is. Pancreatitis, arthritis, etc... He was put on prozinc insulin in March 2020. By July 2020 he was in remission.

This past march (2021) he began acting strangely. Not able to jump, not really eating, etc. They diagnosed him with diabetic ketoacidosis. He was hospitalized for 3 days. During this time he was also treated for hepatic liver. Eventually a feeding tube was also placed. He still has this as of today. We have an appt tomorrow and are hoping that he can have it removed. It is also the last day of his FreeStyle Libre. He has had one on to try and determine a curve for a month now.

Since he was on Prozinc in the past they started him with this. His BG would not go below 300. So after speaking with an internist, my vet transferred him to a new insulin: Lantus. We have been using Lantus since April 10th. He is now up to 3 units twice a day. We did not seem to start low and slow. It was after about a week or so that he was bumped to 2 units and then another unit about a week or so after that. With the increase of insulin, we have not seen lower numbers. In fact they seem to be the opposite. His BG seems to be getting higher.

Over the last week or so I've been trying to get him to eat mostly FF Classics wet food. In the past he was never one that really liked wet food and has been on W/D prescription dry food for a while due to his various intestinal issues he's also dealt with.

This boy is a fighter. He has been through a lot and there have been many tears on my part. I already posted in the Lantus forum, but I was told I should do the introduction here. Some of the info is a bit overwhelming, but I am trying to get a handle on it all.

I'll see what the vet says tomorrow, but I'm wondering if we need to start back at zero and reset his insulin.

Thanks for all the help,

Christina and Oscar
 
Please don’t start back and reset. That NEVER works. If he was getting too much insulin he would be dropping under 50 on a human meter or 68 on a pet meter. You will only waste valuable time and end up with an even higher dose.

I looked at the ss you started. The WD dry is pretty high in carbs. Have you tied any of the freeze dried food on top of the canned? My boy had chronic pancreatitis which led to him becoming diabetic. I had switched him to canned but it was too high in carbs. I never thought I would get him to eat the pates. He never would before diabetes. But I succeeded.

The dos8ng method you need to follow when feeding dry food is SLGS. I’m going to look at your linked thread to see if you posted the bg from the Libre. I think Oscar might need to be fast tracked to get him out of those high numbers. I’m going to discuss with sone of the others. The little on the ss shows me he needs more insulin, NOT less.
 
Over the last couple of days he’s only had maybe a1/4 cup of dry food a day. I’m working on getting home off of it. I think he was only up to two units of Prozinc twice a day. My understanding is he was switched to Lantus because it is is slow release and may give better control. But as we increase dosage I’ve seen the BG also increase . I’ll take away dry food today and see what happens
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top