5/3 - Gryphen AMBG @ 159 / +3 @ 170 - Alphyne AMPS @ 282 / +3 @ 260 (any advice)

bobjoh

Member Since 2021
(previous) https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-29-alphyne-pmps-130-2-5-72-clarification-on-dose.246780/
and

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-26-need-recommendations-for-blood-work-testing.246623/


Good morning. I'm at my wits end. :(

Gryphen was still having episodes of not eating, mostly in the PM. The vet recommended Pepcid, and it seemed to be working, and she actually ate AM and PM yesterday! But, her BG was too low to shoot last night, so we once again skipped the shot.

This morning, she was throwing up bile again, so I gave a dose of Cerenia. That was 3 hours ago, and she still won't eat. She hasn't eaten since 9 PM last night. I can tell she wants to, but must still be nauseated.

+3 today is also the first time her BG has jumped over 160 in I don't know how long. :(

Alphyne earned her reduction to 1U a few days ago, but on that dose her numbers are creeping up. She was back up to 282 this morning, also a number we haven't seen for a while, at least not in rhe AM. We did the 1.25 to 1 dance a few weeks ago, then back to 1.25, now back at 1. I feel like we will just keep bouncing between these numbers.

I have another call in to the vet for Gryphen for the vomiting. Fingers crossed.

I feel so bad for my girls. One step forward, two steps back. I'm so frustrated; I feel like I'm failing them. :(

Does anyone have ideas for me? I'm all out...

Thanks.
 
Last edited:
I am so sorry you feel so low today :bighug::bighug: we all have good days and bad days. Please remember that you are doing an humongous work for your kitties, they have the best mommy they could have asked for :cat::cat:

It is sometimes a dance forward and backwards, it's just the way this FD works, we as well have to increase Chico's insulin dose after going lower previously, i tell myself that it is the way this goes and i cannot influence it. Take it one step at a time.

I cannot giving dosing advice and i do not know how to stimulate Gryphen's appetite, i hope someone with more experience will jump in and help.

:bighug::bighug:
 
Do sorry for poor Gryphen. Ask your vet if you can try ondansetron, a human drug, for nausea. For an appetite stimulant I like cyproheptadine, a human drug. Just a tiny 1/8 of a 4 mg pill worked for my cats and can be given twice a day.

For Alphene I think it’s a failed reduction and unless you see green tonight I would go back to 1.25.
 
For Alphene I think it’s a failed reduction and unless you see green tonight I would go back to 1.25.

Do I just keep going between 1.25 and 1? When she's on 1.25, she gets really low, then at 1 it's not enough. This will be the 3rd time we go back to 1.25.

I will ask about the Zofran (again) when I take Gryphen in. I will ask again about the stimulant, too.

Thanks!
 
Last edited:
When I get Gryphen under control, do I start her back on her last dose? .1U? Technically, we will be starting over. :( Thanks again.
 
Last edited:
Let's add some more bad news to an already horrible day.

Vet said YA food was bad (as in sour, not bad food). They had me bring in a sample and tested it.

Called YA, they called my vet a liar, then proceeded to tell me diabetic cats shouldn't eat wet food. What? They also wanted my vets number, so they could 'talk' about the food. Also told me everything the CKD group told me was wrong. Again, what?

Then, vet tech couldnt tell me how much subQ fluids they gave Gryphen (I forgot to ask, so I called when we got home). They will call back. (200 ml, by the way)

Plus, I got my new insulin today from Mark's Marine. It looked different, so I compared it to my old bottle. I think my old bottle was bad! It was very slightly cloudy...I never would have noticed if I didnt have a new bottle to compare it to.

Good heavens...what else can happen today? Wait...don't answer that...I probably just jinxed it. This day needs to be over so I can start fresh tomorrow. :banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::blackeye::blackeye::blackeye::blackeye::blackeye::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead:
 
Last edited:
The cloudy insulin means it had gone bad. Watch carefully as you may see a dramatic decrease in bg.
 
Last edited:
Answering on today's post, instead of the previous one, about blood work. Looks like Gryphen's phosphorus is getting a little high. Might be time to look for foods a little lower in phosphorus.

And your experience with YA are not unique. I remember one person saying they opened a bag to see blue mould inside. :eek:
 
Answering on today's post, instead of the previous one, about blood work. Looks like Gryphen's phosphorus is getting a little high. Might be time to look for foods a little lower in phosphorus.

Thanks! I'm working on it, but so far, all of the 'good' ones have been a bust. Of course, that might change if she would actually eat at all, I suppose... :(

Boo about the YA...the owner called me and talked my ear off for at least 20 minutes. But of course, it 'wasn't the food'. LOL
 
Back
Top