Gracie's Yesterday
Recap:
AMPS: 332 10th cycle f .5u
+2: 306
+6: 225
+10: 162
PMPS: 106 11th cycle f .5u
+1: 96
+2: 82
+3: 86
+4: 117
+6: 217
Good morning and wishing everyone a happy Tuesday!
It is Tuesday, right? :lol: :lol: Sending healing vines to all ailing kitties and beans in Lantus Land. You are in our thoughts.
Gracie had a few hours of healing range numbers yesterday. We're still holding the f .5u dose but I'd really like to see her with longer healing cycles between the bounces instead of her popping up at +4. Since we had a great bunch of info from Jill yesterday, I'm cutting this part short and pasting in that info as well as some thoughts Mike and I have.
Mike's post to Jill last night:
My thoughts: Jill and I posted on yesterday's condo about Gracie's SS similarity to Mocha's but that Peter and Devon held Mocha for long periods of time at a certain dose....they were very patient about waiting on the bounces. Jill provided some great info on the Start Low, Go Slow protocol (just click the link to yesterday's condo to read). We are willing to try this as well as long as Gracie is getting decent normal cycles between the bounces. For Mocha, she would have lovely blue or green cycles and then bounce. Right now, we aren't getting that with Gracie. She slides down, gets some normal numbers for a bit, and then pops back up by +4 as Mike said. For that reason, I wonder if we shouldn't take her back up to sk .75u tonight (depending on what she does today) and get her moving again, hold that dose for as long as possible (keeping her above 40 as long as we can), and then when we reduce, try again the same way. I know there is no right/wrong answer and I don't want to chase numbers but I do want her to have less time above the renal threshold and more time in healing ranges or I don't see how she gets Mr. P to heal if most of her time is in a bounce and then she spends a few hours in healing ranges. And I don't like the "side effects" I see in her when she's this bouncy....quieter, a little more dandruff, more urine output, etc.
Jill..does this seem reasonable or am I being too impatient and PLEASE do be candid....I'm pretty tough :lol: :lol: Thank you. And we always welcome other thoughts as well. Have a great day.
Recap:
AMPS: 332 10th cycle f .5u
+2: 306
+6: 225
+10: 162
PMPS: 106 11th cycle f .5u
+1: 96
+2: 82
+3: 86
+4: 117
+6: 217
Good morning and wishing everyone a happy Tuesday!
Gracie had a few hours of healing range numbers yesterday. We're still holding the f .5u dose but I'd really like to see her with longer healing cycles between the bounces instead of her popping up at +4. Since we had a great bunch of info from Jill yesterday, I'm cutting this part short and pasting in that info as well as some thoughts Mike and I have.
Mike's post to Jill last night:
It looks like Gracie broke her bounce and is starting another one. This is why we sometimes get antsy about holding her at a dose too long. it appears as if she has enough insulin to get her down, just not keep her down. Her cycle today and tonight was very gradually descending and she didn't get low, so the immediate bounce is frustrating and hard to understand. Not enough juice? Still settling into the dose? I think we are decided on shooting the same dose in the morning and see what she does tomorrow. As long as she is getting fairly good cycles with short bounces we can live with that, but for how long it... seems there is no right or wrong answer.
Jill - Thanks for the post. My/our interpretation in a nutshell: if and when we get Gracie to a dose where she is throwing green cycles of longer duration at lower numbers, we are going to manipulate her to keep her from earning reductions like we always have. the difference will be the dose reduction trigger point. If she is dropping rapidly towards/through 50 we will use carbs to slow and stop it. If, on the other hand, she is calmly surfing in the 40's we aren't going to carb her to get her up into the 50's. She won't get an automatic dose reduction for any specified number of times below 50. 40 becomes the new trigger point, and 1 time below 40 gets her a reduction, just like it always has. Is my interpretation in line with your thoughts? Thanks as always for your wise counsel and help with our little girl
My thoughts: Jill and I posted on yesterday's condo about Gracie's SS similarity to Mocha's but that Peter and Devon held Mocha for long periods of time at a certain dose....they were very patient about waiting on the bounces. Jill provided some great info on the Start Low, Go Slow protocol (just click the link to yesterday's condo to read). We are willing to try this as well as long as Gracie is getting decent normal cycles between the bounces. For Mocha, she would have lovely blue or green cycles and then bounce. Right now, we aren't getting that with Gracie. She slides down, gets some normal numbers for a bit, and then pops back up by +4 as Mike said. For that reason, I wonder if we shouldn't take her back up to sk .75u tonight (depending on what she does today) and get her moving again, hold that dose for as long as possible (keeping her above 40 as long as we can), and then when we reduce, try again the same way. I know there is no right/wrong answer and I don't want to chase numbers but I do want her to have less time above the renal threshold and more time in healing ranges or I don't see how she gets Mr. P to heal if most of her time is in a bounce and then she spends a few hours in healing ranges. And I don't like the "side effects" I see in her when she's this bouncy....quieter, a little more dandruff, more urine output, etc.
Jill..does this seem reasonable or am I being too impatient and PLEASE do be candid....I'm pretty tough :lol: :lol: Thank you. And we always welcome other thoughts as well. Have a great day.