5/3 Dimitri PMPS 58

Status
Not open for further replies.

ChEMom

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's condo

Good morning. I hope everyone else has a nice day. Dimitri is off to another good start today.
There's a chance we may get to see the sun today. I wish I could send some of this rain west
where it's needed.
 
Re: 5/3 Dimitri AMPS 71 +2 70 +5 84

Well, for some reason Dimitri insisted on a BG check at +7.25. I know he probably just wanted a treat, but
nonetheless, I obliged him and he was 69 - a bit low given his +5. I had wrongly assumed he was heading
on up towards his PMPS. He's eating lunch now, so I will probably recheck in an hour.
 
Q: How big of an effect does Neosporin have on BG readings? About 4 hours ago, I put some Neosporin w/pain meds on Dimitri's ears to help
them heal (one has a small bruise.) I forgot about that when I went to do his evening shot. So I poked, got a reading, THEN realized his
ear was a bit "creamy." The first number I got was a 41. So I thought I'd better retest immediately. But Dimitri was NOT happy, so I had
to wrestle him a bit to wipe off his other ear and poke. The 2nd reading was 58. He is eating dinner now and I will recheck in an hour.

So which reading do you think is accurate, if either of them are?

Thank you.
 
i've had the neosporin goo up the test strip and make it so i couldn't get a reading, but i haven't had it create a questionable number. i don't know. but given that you got a 41, i want to blame it on the neosporin and take the 58 instead!

glad you got a +1 and a +2. Dimitri appears to be on a mission and not wanting to stay on the juice very long. You've got 2 days of solid green numbers, and everything under 120 is considered normal. If he continues like this without going under 50 (although i wouldn't assume and am glad you're being vigilant), after 7 days in normal numbers you would reduce the dose.

by the way, don't shoot if you get a number under 50. wait for it to rise over 50 - and don't feed Dimitri while you are waiting. even experienced people don't shoot under 50.

Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s.

Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
 
Right that's what I thought, that he needs to stay "green" but normal for a week to stop the juice.

I am planning to watch him closely tonight just because he's doing so well. I don't want him to go
too low and me not catch that. I think we'll stay up, watch old movies, braid each other's hair,
and paint our nails. :lol:
 
What great numbers for Dimitri lately!!

You're right in that if he stays in normal numbers for a week, he might be ready for the OTJ trial, but we also usually want them to go for a week at .1 before the OTJ trial. We just want them to get into a really strong remission

To get that tiny a dose, I know I've heard that you push the plunger in hard, insert in vial/pen and release the plunger...it draws up just a very tiny amount

Of course there's also the "take the insulin out of the refrigerator, wave it in front of his nose and put it back in the refrigerator" dose too :lol:

Loving all those greens!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
The 0.1 dose is slightly more than that. I call the one you described, Chris, as a "breath" of insulin. It's just a drop or so. Most people don't go to that dose on their way OTJ, but stop with the 0.1u. The 0.1u dose is difficult to measure, but there is a photo on the New to the Group sticky to show you what it looks like.

It's true, janet, there is one more dose to reduce to before trying to go OTJ. But obviously, Dimitri is doing very well. We'll follow his lead on this.

Have fun braiding his hair and painting each other's nails!!! I want pictures! :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top