5/3 Darcy PMPS 105. Don't know what to shoot??

Suzanne & Darcy

Member Since 2020
Last edited:
Saying "hello", in part to bump up this new post over the old one. Once you've started a new post for the day, it's best to stick with the current one.

Paws crossed for even better kidney numbers today.
 
Okay... we just got home from the vet a few minutes ago. Vet reported that his BG was 90 at 5:00 which was about +10. I was surprised at this because I'd cut his dose by 3.5 units this morning (yes... depot). I really wish Wendy were around to give me her advice, but it's mid-afternoon on the west coast. I will have to make up my mind, I suppose. Do I go with 4 units again tonight?
 
Do you have time to get one more test before feeding time?

Maybe he's going up?
Yes, he is going up.. he was at 90 at five o'clock and 105 at about six o'clock. Last night that didn't help me much. He had been rising but then did a big dive on me... all the while he was nibbling on HG prescription Renal food! :-)
 
HG prescription Renal food

I'm sorry I'm not familiar with this food? How many carbs are in that? I presume the vet prescribed this for his kidney issues?

Luci oddly goes down every time she visits the vet too...as soon as she gets home I take her BG and for whatever reason she's always lower than low...very atypical for her...but it is what it is.

I hope you can at least shoot the 4 units...hate skipping...
 
Okay... we just got home from the vet a few minutes ago. Vet reported that his BG was 90 at 5:00 which was about +10. I was surprised at this because I'd cut his dose by 3.5 units this morning (yes... depot). I really wish Wendy were around to give me her advice, but it's mid-afternoon on the west coast. I will have to make up my mind, I suppose. Do I go with 4 units again tonight?

You could tag Wendy? I like your idea of 4 units again. I hope Darcy is getting to be healthier and healthier!
 
I'm sorry I'm not familiar with this food? How many carbs are in that? I presume the vet prescribed this for his kidney issues?

Luci oddly goes down every time she visits the vet too...as soon as she gets home I take her BG and for whatever reason she's always lower than low...very atypical for her...but it is what it is.

I hope you can at least shoot the 4 units...hate skipping...
Oh yes, I'm not going to skip. The renal foods are quite high in carbs. I believe the one he likes is 31%. The fact that it really doesn't make him go up that much when he eats it seems to indicate to me that his pancreas does work and releases insulin, but that it is the pituitary tumor releasing the IgF-1 that causes him not to be able to use the insulin properly ... and since he's been on the cabergoline... that seems to have suppressed the tumor... so ... @Wendy&Neko .. what do you think of that?

Thanks for being there, Sue! I hope you've had a good day! I think I'll go shoot the reduced 4 units now before it gets to be a late shot (gosh, I need to work his shot time back to it's earlier time).
 
If you want to repeat this morning's dose, go for it. At this point, your gut plays a large part in dosing decisions. I think Sandy called it "seat of the pants" when dealing with a larger dose cat going down dose fast. If it was the wrong decision, his numbers will tell you.
 
If you want to repeat this morning's dose, go for it. At this point, your gut plays a large part in dosing decisions. I think Sandy called it "seat of the pants" when dealing with a larger dose cat going down dose fast. If it was the wrong decision, his numbers will tell you.
Thanks, Wendy. What do you think about the pancreas working theory... a few posts above this one?
 
Many acros have working pancreases, or at least partially. Neko did, threw me the odd curve ball because of it. But she was fairly carb sensitive and higher carbs did impact her. Maybe Darcy just isn't that carb sensitive, I've seen other acros where people needed to toss a lot of high carb food into the mix to increase the numbers.
 
Oh Suzanne, so pleased to see these better numbers though of course I feel your stress. If only we knew at the time we saw these numbers that they weren't going to plummet!

I like your theory. I have no idea if it's right or not but there's logic to it...:) Now behave, Mr Darcy!!
 
Many acros have working pancreases, or at least partially. Neko did, threw me the odd curve ball because of it. But she was fairly carb sensitive and higher carbs did impact her. Maybe Darcy just isn't that carb sensitive, I've seen other acros where people needed to toss a lot of high carb food into the mix to increase the numbers.
Yes. Karo tends to work for Darcy and then about 10-15 (max) Points :confused:
 
Back
Top