5/3 Buzz PMPS: 345, +2.5: 253, +4: 133, +5: 86

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sarah and Buzz

Very Active Member
Yesterday's condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/view ... =9&t=13496

WCR: Buzz is doing well today. It's another lovely day out so she's been planted in front of the window all morning.

My question is this: Am I doing the right thing by not increasing the dose? She is getting good nadirs on her PM cycles, but then she bounces and stays in flat yellows during the AM cycle. If it is simply a case of "wait it out" while her liver learns not to panic, then I'm okay with waiting for it to settle down. If I should be trying to aggressively chase the bounce away, then I want to be doing that but don't know what to do.
 
Re: 5/3 Buzz AMPS: 282, +4: 276/Dosing question

I certainly don't have the "eye" of the expert, but considering that lantus dosing is based on nadir, I am of the opinion that the dose is right. Now Buzz has to work on the flattening of the curve.... take the stairs girl, no need for the express elevator!
Hopefully someone else chimes in with their opinion.
Happy Monday... if that's possible! :-D
 
Re: 5/3 Buzz AMPS: 282, +4: 276/Dosing question

Sarah:

Are you at home during the day? It looks like you (or someone) is able to get checks pretty much all the time. This may make a difference with regard to strategy.
 
Re: 5/3 Buzz AMPS: 282, +4: 276/Dosing question

Yes, I am currently unemployed and at home often. While I don't want to be tied to the house 24/7, I can be home when necessary to test.
 
Re: 5/3 Buzz AMPS: 282, +4: 276/Dosing question

Hi, Sarah & Buzz!! Happy Monday friends!! :mrgreen:
I am hoping you get the go ahead to dosecrease since you are there to monitor!! Goooooo Buzz!!
 
Re: 5/3 Buzz AMPS: 282, +4: 276/Dosing question

Hi Sarah and Buzz!!! I can't give you any dosing advice but it is great that you are home to monitor! Hope you have a great night! Thanks for cheering us on!!
 
Re: 5/3 Buzz AMPS: 282, +4: 276/Dosing question

Looks like Buzz could be in RBc from yesterday's low numbers, & rebound can last 72 hrs, Soooooo...
I find success by raising Moonie with added drops to her dose(as she is an old timer)-look at our ss & you can see how many times we had to go up to come back down(like now!!)
I believe if Buzz went OTJ before, she can do it again--Keep the Faith girl!!! :mrgreen: You are doing good--Just had lovely lows yesterday-maybe see where this dose is going..
 
Re: 5/3 Buzz AMPS: 282, +4: 276/Dosing question

Sarah and Buzz said:
My question is this: Am I doing the right thing by not increasing the dose? She is getting good nadirs on her PM cycles, but then she bounces and stays in flat yellows during the AM cycle. If it is simply a case of "wait it out" while her liver learns not to panic, then I'm okay with waiting for it to settle down. If I should be trying to aggressively chase the bounce away, then I want to be doing that but don't know what to do.
imo, one has to be more aggressive with a kitty who has fallen out of remission... if you're looking to get back to the falls. it's harder the second time around.

that said, you still want to keep buzz safe. however, being more aggressive is really hard work for the bean. it requires more testing and possibly using food manipulation in order to hang onto doses as long as you can.

i dosed alex aggressively the last time she was on insulin (2009 lev ss) and just started dosing aggressively again about a week ago (2010 lev ss). i use food to keep her numbers above 50 whenever possible. i don't look for reductions. instead, i continue raising the dose in very small increments (usually 0.1u) until we can hold all green cycles or she drops too low despite my attempts to control the curve by using food. if a reduction does not hold, i immediately take the dose back up. my goal is to get her into and keep her in normal numbers as quickly as safely possible.

if you have the time to commit to constant monitoring, this might be a method worth considering...
 
Re: 5/3 Buzz PMPS: 345, +2.5: 253, +4: 133

Thank you all for your thoughts and advice. Jill, I am definitely thinking hard about the method you discussed. I do have the time to commit to it and I am definitely willing to give it a try. With the (assumed) additional costs associated with more monitoring, though, it will have to wait about another month. Then I can begin a more aggressive regimen of testing and feeding. Until then, I will be content to do as I've been doing and increase/reduce as needed and watch what happens. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top