5/29GentleAMPS 349 +3 27 +7 290 +10 309 PMPS 335

Status
Not open for further replies.
Gentle is sleepinga lot today and not as social, he's trying to be playful but i's taking a lot out of him.
His appetite is healthy though, and he's still alert. Shot 2.0 U, fed FF LC 3%
Hopefully he'll still have a good weekend.

nailbite_smile
 
Was your +3 a 27 or a 278?

When you see the new vet, ask to have the vet check Gentle's teeth. I'm wondering if the swings in Gentle's numbers may be due to either old Lantus or a dental issue. If you opened a new vial 3 weeks ago, the Lantus should be OK. As for a dental, I was referring to a cleaning. Cats can develop tarter which causes inflammation. Any inflammation (or infection, for that matter) will affect BG.

As for the pens, I'd call around and see if there are outlets where you can buy a single pen at a time. Someone posted that either their local Sam's or Costco would sell them singly and you don't need to be a member to use the pharmacy. Some of my local university medical centers pharmacies will sell the pens singly, as well. If you have that information ahead of time for your vet appt., the vet can write the Rx with as many refills as you want, probably up to 12.
 
if Gentle is otherwise healthy, then this looks like he has just lost momentum and needs to go back up in dose a little bit to get him started back on the dose reduction path. I'm glad you increased the dose. You might want to be aggressive with dose increases until he starts getting green again, maybe increasing every 6-8 cycles instead of waiting longer. Lucy did this to me a couple of times, and I learned from her that the sooner you get the numbers back under control, the easier it is.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top