5/29 Willy AMPS 78|+2~202

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stephanie&Willy

Member Since 2011
Hello all!

We just got back and settled back at home after a very stressful week moving the MIL from storage units into storage containers (through PODS). My DH has been pushing this plan for over 6 months but it took awhile to get her to agree because the whole situation is very stressful and overwhelming for her to even think about. Couple that with the fact that she has a difficult time planning for the future (or seeing FUTURE benefits) and only sees the INITIAL issues, it made for a very difficult situation with lots of fighting and resistance on her end.

It was a lot worse than DH and I thought it would be but we managed to knock out 2 10x30 units and got them into 2 PODS despite the blasting AZ sun! The whole situation was very sad to see, she has 6 units total and a lot of it is “junk” but she can’t bring herself to part with any of it (even empty boxes which there were lots of). We did the best we could and kept her away from the PODS so she couldn’t see the stacking that was going on because she literally did not want ANYTHING stacked ontop of anything else, even if done properly.

DH and I are disappointed we didn’t finish everything we wanted to but the MIL was becoming irritable and controlling (even over how we put OUR bags into OUR car) because she was so overwhelmed so we just decided to leave it and let her be happy with what little progress we have made so that hopefully she takes away a positive experience so that she FINISHES in the near future. Her storage bills are astronomical and she can no longer afford them and we (and her parents) can't afford to bail her out again in the future if she stays at the place she's at. She is a very difficult person to be around, and everyone always wonders how my DH didn't turn out like his mother. He is nothing short of amazing, is my theory (he says he just does the opposite of whatever she would do and 98% of the time its the "right" answer and he's thankful she taught him how NOT to behave).

There was some good that came out of the situation! We have never taken Gizmo with us to eat because we didn’t know if he would behave but he did really well both times.

Now for the Willy!

He did very well on the drive down and back. It’s only 2ish hours but he didn’t get car sick at all. He loved the balcony the room had and spent a lot of time rolling around and watching the birds out there. We think he likes to travel because he gets a lot of 1 on 1 attention--- he spends all night snuggling with us in bed and seems more relaxed in general. He adapted very well to using the Breeze system which is awesome because it’s a great box for traveling.

In our haste to leave (nothing with MIL can be planned in advance), we actually forgot our meter (I had meant to put it in my purse) so we had to pick one up from Target. We got the Target brand one and man, that thing is horrible compared to what we’re using now (ReliOn). It gives different variations of readings based on the angle you get blood from and takes a lot more blood than we thought (pharmacist said it wasn’t a big difference, yeah right)! Oh well, we have a backup meter now from another “common” store so that’s nice.

Since we got back, we got a new prescription for a BOX of pens instead of the “3 pens” she originally wrote it for. She also gave us one refill… I think. So that’s kinda awesome! We decided to get it filled asap because it’s a holiday weekend and the place that sells solo pens is closed on the weekends and we were worried she may not change it from solo to box.

We also had a close call at our hotel with the mini fridge.. It was set to KILL instead of STUN-- the temp got turned all the way down to super cold freezing status and we didn’t notice because the control is hidden in the corner. I only noticed because a water I pulled out was deliciously slushy. I immediately checked the insulin (despite having used it like two hours prior) and it was JUST STARTING to slush. We pulled it out, fixed the fridge, and were ready for the worst case scenario (lost it’s effectiveness due to getting too cold). It seems fine and we’re still getting good control from it but it made us realize that you can’t be too safe.

For his BG:

He has been spending a lot of time in the blues and greens. We are so pleased! He recovered quickly from the stress of traveling and overall did very very well. The second day we were there (5/25) he earned a dose reduction from 5.25 to 5.00 because he dropped into the 40s.We were actually supposed to be on our way out to dinner so we gave him some HC and retested in 15 (repeated this process a few times until we were satisfied he would be ok for an hour or so). The whole waiting on the kitty thing and running back to check on kitty really annoys the MIL (she is not a pet person) but she dealt with it OK this time (in the past it hasn’t gone over nearly as well). We shot at 88 one day and he had a nice gentle drop and a lovely cycle.

Today we shot at 78. We will be home to watch him so we’re confident it will be a really good day and we’re hoping that he earns another reduction today!

We gave the cats their nanner and they all LOVE it! We have also been using spirit essences with Zell and Rasta for two days now. I don't want to jynx that just yet by talking about it though.

I just applied for a position at one of our no kill shelters yesterday. I would appreciate any prayers or positive energy that it works out because I have been having the worst of luck and I would very much enjoy the opportunity of working with the organization.

I hope all our friends are well and having a great holiday weekend! I hope to stop by condos a little bit later or tomorrow once I finish unpacking and grocery shopping. We are thinking about you all and sending you all a little prayer and positive energy.
 
What a week, Steph!! Suddenly, my packing to be done seems a whole lot less intimidating! Glad you guys got through what you could and realized the point at which enough is enough... you not doubt saved everyone involved a great deal of stress!

Willy is looking great! Hope he is headed back downwards this evening!!!

Hope you enjoy the rest of your long weekend!
 
Hey Steph and Willy!

I've been wondering what happened to you guys. Glad to hear Willy is earning dose reductions and that he enjoyed his trip. Yikes on the MIL!

I've been hearing good things about the Breeze system, but i can't find it here in Canada..... :sad:

Have a great evening!
 
Hi Stephanie....so glad you are safely back and all went well....I can attest to how hot you must have been because it has been particularly warm in AZ of late. I'm glad Willy is doing so spectacular!!! What a lot of stress you had to deal with but it sounds like you took the upper road.

Your MIL sounds so much like my mom....man do I empathize with you!!!!

Glad you are all safely back and hope Zell and Rasta do well together and Willy keeps on trucking.
 
hi stephanie - we've missed you! glad you're back home. perhaps i should resolve never again to complain about my MIL. yours is a doozy. funny how people can get attached to their stuff - not that i can say anything because i have a ton of my folks' stuff.

willy is doing great! that's exciting to hear the low numbers you're getting. cheers on the job possibility - i hope you get it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top