5/29 Vesta amps~73 +2~48 +4~99 pmps~86 +2~45 +2.5~78 +3.5~73

Status
Not open for further replies.

Weather Girl

Member Since 2010
Here was Vesta's trend yesterday:
amps: 177
got 0.5units Lantus
pmps 71
got 0.5 units Lantus
+1: 94
+2: 69
+3: 67
+6: 54
+8: 56
+11: 69

I'm here today through +4, then I am out of the house. Tonight the petsitter does the night dose and I come home at +2 or +3 after pmps.

Any dosing advice for today?
 
Re: 5/29 Vesta +11~69 AM DOSE ADVICE (7AM WEST COAST)

Wow looks really good! Seems like her numbers are rising now (up from the 50's a few hours ago) you still have an hour before shot time right? Looks like you have given this dose before on preshots in the 80'S so i would think if the number is still going up at shot time you can go for it. Be sure and test before you leave. Does your pet sitter test or just give shot?

You might be looking at earning a decrease here soon.
 
Re: 5/29 Vesta +11~69 AM DOSE ADVICE (7AM WEST COAST)

Hi,

Those are some very nice numbers. I'm not really qualified to give advice, but I can remind you of the sticky information on dose reductions:
"--- If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further. "

You do have a couple of higher blues, especially recently, but you are very close to staying in the normal range. I hope someone comes along who can comment from more experience!

No matter how you look at it, though, you have some pretty numbers. I think Vesta is going places!
 
Re: 5/29 Vesta +11~69 AM DOSE ADVICE (7AM WEST COAST)

thanks for getting the +11, it will make it easy to see whether your +12 is rising. If it is still rising, I agree with Monique that you should be able to shoot it. You'll know before you leave at +4 whether she is planning to drop today, and you can give whatever kind of food you need to give to keep her surfing.
 
Re: 5/29 Vesta +11~69 amps~73

so, it's up, but not a lot.

biggest issue is the petsitter tonight. she does test, but not well. she also comes tomorrow night. so, i want to establish something consistent.
 
Re: 5/29 Vesta +11~69 amps~73 +2~48

what I think we all expected. 48 at +2. giving her HC now to bump her up a little. I only have +4, then I'm out, so I'd like to see if she does well with the HC at +3 and +4, instead of finding out that she continued to drop with a LC 2nd meal.
 
Re: 5/29 Vesta +11~69 amps~73 +2~48

Sounds good. She earned a decrease so now you know what the pet sitter will be giving!

Feed a little then test, keep it up til she is steady or starts rising, it's early so she may surf a while or drop lower again. Your dose is small so it shouldn't be to big of a drop. When you go you do leave plenty of food out right?

The pet sitter comes at what time? You said she does measure before giving insulin right? Do you leave any instructions (I assume she will be feeding too) and then you will be home just 2 hours or so later so you can test when you get there.
 
Re: 5/29 Vesta +11~69 amps~73 +2~48

that's exactly what I would do. 48 at +2 for a new diabetic is an earned reduction, so carb her up good, test again in 30 minutes. She has nothing left to prove this cycle, she has earned her reduction, so bump her up to a higher range to surf while you're out.

Her new dose is 0.25 units. Can your petsitter measure that?
 
Re: 5/29 Vesta +11~69 amps~73 +2~48

Woohoo! I'm so happy for Vesta. She is such a trooper with all of the testing last night. We're so lucky that our "chill" cat is the diabetic.

I'd expect her to drop to the high 30s at most based on her prior trends. I'm hoping the HC will sort of cut that off.

The petsitter is solid with measuring insulin. She's used to animals on a more set dose. It's only the testing she's hadn't done before until we met her.

I'll make sure she knows the new dose.
 
Re: 5/29 Vesta +11~69 amps~73 +2~48

We're so lucky that our "chill" cat is the diabetic.

I can relate. My Spooky is pretty easy going (he was always a real nervous cat but not agressive) he has never bitten or scratched. Socks on the other hand is vicious. He attacks my hands every chance he gets and will take a whack for no reason. He is loveable and cuddly one minute then WHAM! When you pick him up he starts growling and hissing. I'm so thankful that Spooky was the one to bbecome diabetic because I couldn't have imagined doing all that with Socks. One time Dr. Lisa wanted to do an experiment with a non-diabetic cat (testing BG after eating) and I volunteered to use Socks :roll: I had to test him about 5 times that evening. We managed but I bled more than he did! I had to wrap him in a towel so only one ear was sticking out and then almost sit on him to hold him still. The growling bundle on the livingroom was pretty funny though :lol: Now I know why I became a Pathologist and not a Pediatrician!
 
Re: 5/29 Vesta +11~69 amps~73 +2~48 +2.5~66 +3~86 +4~99

Thank you everyone for the support!

Looks like the 1/2can HC kicked in. A little more than I hoped, but I guess I can relax at work now.

Keep your fingers crossed for a successful petsitter visit.
 
Re: 5/29 Vesta +11~69 amps~73 +2~48 +2.5~66 +3~86 +4~99

Good luck with new dose! Are you leaving some LC food out while your gone? She's prbably filled up for now but they will eat when they get lower (they know how to take care of themselves). Have a good day.

Oh and Welcomme to Lantus...There's a lot new people here I have "met" yet because I haven't had much time to "visit" , but I do skim through each day. I was planning to mow the lawn today but everytime I think ok the grass is dry enough now, along comes a little shower (from a cloudless sky :? ) how is that? So since I can't do anything I had planned, I'm sitting around here (and playing games :-D ) now it's dinner, TV and bedtime (I'm on the other side of the world) ;-)
 
Re: 5/29 Vesta +11~69 amps~73 +2~48 +2.5~66 +3~86 +4~99

Congratulations on the decrease! :thumbup Vesta is really cooperating, coming up so nicely.
 
Re: 5/29 Vesta +11~69 amps~73 +2~48 +2.5~66 +3~86 +4~99

Monique & Spooky said:
Good luck with new dose! Are you leaving some LC food out while your gone? She's prbably filled up for now but they will eat when they get lower (they know how to take care of themselves). Have a good day.

Thanks :) Yep, left out some of the food she's not quite as much of a fan of... That way if she needs it she'll eat, otherwise, she'll surf. There's also the added bonus of the civvie kitty disliking it, so we know it'll still be there for Vesta if/when she needs.
 
Re: 5/29 Vesta +11~69 amps~73 +2~48 +2.5~66 +4~99 pmps~86 +2~45

down to 45 at +2 after pmps. 0.25units given by petsitter, so it's hard to confirm how that relates to my 0.5.

So, do i get to dosecrease again since we hit 45?... haha, just kidding.

getting 1/2can of HC for +2 meal.

tomorrow is the same as today. here until +4. petsitter at night. home at +2 and +3 after pmps. Monday I will be home all day to track her.
 
Re: 5/29 Vesta +11~69 amps~73 +2~48 +2.5~66 +4~99 pmps~86 +2~45

Is this a usual second part of a meal or a way to bump Vesta's numbers up? You may want to go easy on the food in case you have to keep feeding gravy to bring numbers up. It's early in the cycle!
 
Re: 5/29 Vesta +11~69 amps~73 +2~48 +2.5~66 +4~99 pmps~86 +2~45

go ahead and HC her and check again in 15 minutes. She doesn't need to go lower.

This cycle has some of the momentum from the 0.5 behind it, so usually we don't decrease. I'm going to see if I can find some others to look at your spreadsheet with me.
 
Re: 5/29 Vesta +11~69 amps~73 +2~48 +2.5~66 +4~99 pmps~86 +2~45

Sienne and Gaby
We usually give split her total food into 2 meals at ps and +2. Since she dropped so low, I figured instead of doing LC for the other 1/2meal, I'd just do the HC. She usually responds well to this.

+2.5 up to 78. i'll keep tracking her a little tonight to make sure she doesn't have a second bottom.
 
Re: 5/29 Vesta +11~69 amps~73 +2~48 +2.5~66 +4~99 pmps~86 +2~45

sounds good. I would probably test in an hour, or at the latest +4. Her number might wobble around for a while.
 
Re: 5/29 Vesta amps~73 +2~48 +2.5~66 +4~99 pmps~86 +2~45 +2.5~78

Get a +3 since numbers can bobble.

This looks like an over filled shed to me, as well.
 
Gave 1/4can of LC with some gravy. +4 to 83.

Thank you everyone! Your input is very helpful.

I'm hoping to crash soon. I'd like to get some sleep tonight if possible.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top