? 5/29 SHEBA AMPS 196 +4 41; +4.25 38; +4.50 61; +5 83; +6 61; +7 34 ; +7.25 88; +8 220; PMPS HI; +

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bron and Sheba (GA)

Member Since 2015
Yesterday
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...1-8-5-108-pmps-122-4-101.138548/#post-1428713

Another night at the lagoon last night after her mini bounce in the morning....her bounces seem to be much shorter and not very high compared to what they used to be. Her whole way of coping with bounces and dives seems to have changed (for the better)...I hope permanently.
She seems to be coping with the decrease very well and last night's cycle was quite strong and needed honey to stop it going too low.
This is her 6th cycle on the decrease so the depot should not be in play......would that be right?
Should I be letting her drop down and get a reduction or is it too soon or unwise? I would appreciate any thoughts or advice, thanks.

Thanks everyone who visited our condo yesterday ........Wendy I am still laughing at that hilarious photo.
@Patricia & Noodle I love the way Noodle likes to play soccer....maybe he would be a good goalie!:joyful:
 
It's great Sheba's bounces are shorter and not as high. I'm not sure how long the depot can affect her numbers. I would think it would be done by now. Hopefully someone with more experience can answer.
 
The depot from the 6.5 dose should be depleated, I think. I would let her drop and earn her reductions if that's what she has a mind to do. I think you're doing great and the spreadsheet is looking good.
 
The depot from the 6.5 dose should be depleated, I think. I would let her drop and earn her reductions if that's what she has a mind to do. I think you're doing great and the spreadsheet is looking good.
Thanks Dyana. I thought the depot would have depleted by now but good to have confirmation. I will let her drop and see where she goes. Now I am going to do this, she will probably not go low:rolleyes:
 
I agree...let that girl earn those reductions if that's what she has in mind, but since she's back from remission (so considered a "long term diabetic") you might want to consider only taking a reduction when she drops below 50 three times or below 40 once, but if you have to fight to keep her above 50, you could go ahead and take the reduction at any time

You can always go back up if you need to
 
Had been out. Just popped back to test her and was going to head out to the shops to buy my daughter a birthday present........guess I will hang around and see how she comes up. Have given her some MC food and honey.
I'm not surprised really because all her cycles, when she drops have been strong.
 
Umm, yes!! Larger depot can last up to 6 cycles. However, yikes Sheba - that's a little dramatic. Come up please! :eek::eek:
I guess she answered your question about the reduction!!

Congratulations!!

Now it's time to come up now Sheba...You've made your point loud and clear!!

Thanks Chris and Wendy...she really seems as if she is on a mission these days......just hope the mission is reductions!:joyful:
 
Sheba's looking good today! It's always nice to see reductions - and her ss is looking great!

Thanks Julie, I am really happy with how Sheba is doing....all thanks to you wonderful people on the forum. And she is getting more and more like her old self. Quite happy to go off for the day after her am meals and find a cosy spot and curl up and sleep...until she hears me in the kitchen making 'her noises' about 6pm and she is down the stairs like a shot.
 
Yes, I am fine now, thanks Julie.
Gave me a fright when I first saw the number... It was 1.9 on my meter!!!
I wasn't expecting it after this morning. But Sheba was very cooperative and ate all the food I gave her and the honey. I gave her about half a teaspoon of honey....far more than I usually do but I wanted to get her up fast because I don't know how she handles numbers that low.
And I didn't want her to start getting hypo symptoms. Anyway I have just tested and she was 4.9 (88) so she responded well to all that honey!!

Now I am wondering if I should drop .25 or .5 tonight. What do you think?
 
It depends on what she is by pmps. I'd probably reduce by 0.5 because she's been moving in and out of the 30's this whole cycle.

Another option is to give a one time reduction, say 50% or so to drain the depot and interrupt these low numbers, then return to your regular new dose that's either 0.5 or 0.25u less with the subsequent shot.

Let's see what other input you get on the dose.
 
It depends on what she is by pmps. I'd probably reduce by 0.5 because she's been moving in and out of the 30's this whole cycle.

Another option is to give a one time reduction, say 50% or so to drain the depot and interrupt these low numbers, then return to your regular new dose that's either 0.5 or 0.25u less with the subsequent shot.

Let's see what other input you get on the dose.

Ok thanks so much Julie. It is good to know there is someone around at times like this to turn to for advice.:)
 
Yes, I am fine now, thanks Julie.
Gave me a fright when I first saw the number... It was 1.9 on my meter!!!
I wasn't expecting it after this morning. But Sheba was very cooperative and ate all the food I gave her and the honey. I gave her about half a teaspoon of honey....far more than I usually do but I wanted to get her up fast because I don't know how she handles numbers that low.
And I didn't want her to start getting hypo symptoms. Anyway I have just tested and she was 4.9 (88) so she responded well to all that honey!!

Now I am wondering if I should drop .25 or .5 tonight. What do you think?
That 1.9 would have been a bit scary Bron. You did well with the honey though in bringing Sheba's glucose level up. Good work again Sheba and Bron.
 
I think I gave her too much honey.....or she has started to bounce. Plus I did give her some MC food as well.
+8 220
Oh well. At least she is in safe numbers.
I need a drink!
 
Whew - the power of honey! Could you update the subject line to show she's up now? (and the SS).

The one time reduced dose as Julie mentioned above (1/2 or 2/3) can be good for a couple of reasons. 1 - it helps to reduce that depot that seems a little overfull at the moment. :eek: 2- if you do it at night time, you can get a good rest. Personally, that latter one has the most appeal to me. ;)

I also like the idea of a .5 reduction cause she's been trying so hard for so long to hang out in the 30's.
 
Last edited:
Wow Bron you're having an exciting time over there - but seem in control of the situation. I think a large adult beverage is definitely called for.
Good luck with the reductions.
 
Whew - the power of honey! Could you update the subject line to show she's up now? (and the SS).

The one time reduced dose as Julie mentioned above (1/2 or 2/3) can be good for a couple of reasons. 1 - it helps to reduce that depot that seems a little overfull at the moment. :eek: 2- if you do it at night time, you can get a good rest. Personally, that latter one has the most appeal to me. ;)

I also like the idea of a .5 reduction cause she's been trying so hard for so long to hand out in the 30's.

Have updated the subject line and the SS. Sorry, those things go out of your mind at times like this!
ETA. this went off into space before I finished.
 
Whew - the power of honey! Could you update the subject line to show she's up now? (and the SS).

The one time reduced dose as Julie mentioned above (1/2 or 2/3) can be good for a couple of reasons. 1 - it helps to reduce that depot that seems a little overfull at the moment. :eek: 2- if you do it at night time, you can get a good rest. Personally, that latter one has the most appeal to me. ;)

I also like the idea of a .5 reduction cause she's been trying so hard for so long to hand out in the 30's.

I will try again to answer post...
OK I will do a one time reduction as mentioned above then go with the .5 reduction. Thank you very much.
A good nights sleep would be welcome!
I am very thankful for everyone's support because as I said to DH ... If I had just been on my own and this had happened I would probably have lost my nerve and confidence.
 
Wow Bron you're having an exciting time over there - but seem in control of the situation. I think a large adult beverage is definitely called for.
Good luck with the reductions.

Not sure I would call it exciting exactly....certainly got me moving!!!:eek::joyful:
Yes a very large adult beverage sounds perfect!:)
 
Funny how much it helps to just have someone to talk with when you've got a scary situation. I don't know how a person could do all of this pre-internet.

Enjoy some sleep!
 
Funny how much it helps to just have someone to talk with when you've got a scary situation. I don't know how a person could do all of this pre-internet.

Enjoy some sleep!
How true.....how did we manage before the Internet........we probably didn't really....certainly not as well as we do now.
Thanks for all your help.
And I will enjoy a good nights sleep:)
 
Sheba has a massive bounce 482 from the low of 34 earlier.
I have been advised to reduce the dose tonight to deplete the depot a bit and then take the reduction tomorrow. At the time of being advised, Sheba was not bouncing.
My question:
Seeing she is bouncing so high tonight...should I just give normal dose tonight and do the other two dose reductions tomorrow OR should I just go ahead as advised
 
I've been advised at times I could shoot through the bounce and then reduce. Max of course never bounced high enough by the next shot for me to do that. The high numbers came too late, lol.
 
I think she is clearing her bounces too fast now to risk shooting through at the old dose but since she's bounced I would go for taking the reduction now (I would only take .25) and not worry about the depot reducing shot tonight - provided you have the energy to stay on it. She's really looking good :D
 
I think she is clearing her bounces too fast now to risk shooting through at the old dose but since she's bounced I would go for taking the reduction now (I would only take .25) and not worry about the depot reducing shot tonight - provided you have the energy to stay on it. She's really looking good :D
I didn't think about how fast she is clearing the bounces now when I asked about that.....good thinking! Thank you for that very much!!
Prior to the bounce happening. Wendy suggested I take the reduction to deplete the depot tonight because I have had very little sleep lately with Sheba running low most nights , so I think I might do that to take advantage of a good nights sleep. I am running almost on empty!
Thanks Serryn so much for looking at her SS

I was told not to shoot through a bounce following a number in the 30s. I think I would reduce now.
Thanks for that Tricia. That is very interesting and good to know.
 
Last edited:
:) No worries - just remember - depot effect - reduced dose won't necessarily = good nights sleep - but I really hope it does tonight :cat:
 
I've been advised at times I could shoot through the bounce and then reduce. Max of course never bounced high enough by the next shot for me to do that. The high numbers came too late, lol.
Thanks Elise for your input.

Sorry to have rushed off just then. Sheba's insulin was due.
PMPS HI. Ugh, I thought I had seen the last of those horrible numbers.
Oh well, at least I know what caused the bounce. I just hope it doesn't last long and doesn't stuff up her great numbers of late.
 
Last edited:
:) No worries - just remember - depot effect - reduced dose won't necessarily = good nights sleep - but I really hope it does tonight :cat:

You are quite correct - but I live in hope!:)
I have forgotten what a really good nights sleep feels like and the idea of a sleep-in is a distant memory:(
Thank you everyone for your help and support. I could not do this on my own
 
I don't think there's too many of us that would do so well on our own ;)
@Vyktors Mum
I struggled along on my own for over a year....I was stupid.......not because I thought I knew it all.....I used to read this forum every day and learnt heaps......but I had never joined a forum before and I was a bit nervous .....
Now I think it is the best thing I have done for Sheba by a long shot.
Have just been following the other post where you, Elise and Tricia are helping Andrew. It is such a fantastic service to the feline community, it really is.
 
You are certainly seeing all the colours of the rainbow today Bron, hope Sheba gets of the ceiling soon, at least you will be able to get a good night's sleep.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top