5/29 Phoenix +9 115 +11 104 PMBG 91

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lindsay & Phoenix

Member Since 2011
Hello all,

Phoenix and I are doing very well! I hope all your sugar babies are doing just as great! I am an hour away from PM shot and it's looking like I might be too low to shoot yet again. I have not given a PM shot in days. I know this is bad but his numbers have been too low and someone on here told me not to reduce his dosage too often or too quickly. So I am trying to give a couple days in between lowering doses. I think it's time for a change to .5 though. Any tips for tonight and for how my spreadsheet has been looking in general? I would appreciate any observations about my little guy. Thanks in advance!!!!



 
Re: 5/29 Phoenix +7 104 +8 110 +9 115 +11 104 dosing reducti

hi there

quick question, do you work in the evening cycle?

because there are no pmps shots, and I'm really not sure, but hopefully others can take a peek
and give you some insight.

the numbers in blue are nice thou. Would be interesting to see what he does in the evening.
 
Re: 5/29 Phoenix +7 104 +8 110 +9 115 +11 104 dosing reducti

Lindsay,
I'm wondering if you should pick a dose that you can shoot regularly on a 12/12 schedule, as Lantus does really work best 2x a day.
.50u or even .25u are nice options.

Do you leave food out while you're gone? a timed feeder? if so, you can always top off his food with some medium carb to high, if it makes you more comfortable.
I do that too sometimes.
Let us know if you are away in the evenings, so we don't bug you too much on evening checks. :lol:
 
Re: 5/29 Phoenix +7 104 +8 110 +9 115 +11 104 dosing reducti

I work all kinds of crazy hours. Everyday I work a different shift because I work in restaurants. If I work during the day I am usually gone from 9-5 if I work at night sometimes I am gone from 6-2 am. I always try to keep his schedule at 7:00 am and pm but obviously it is very hard. If I vary his times a little bit I always keep it within an hour.
 
Re: 5/29 Phoenix +7 104 +8 110 +9 115 +11 104 dosing reducti

I really do aim for a 12/12 but sometimes his BG levels are too low that I don't give them when I can't test. I can test all night tonight though. I wish I had a normal schedule. He does graze and I have given a higher carb wet in times when I was worried going to work.
 
Re: 5/29 Phoenix +7 104 +8 110 +9 115 +11 104 dosing reducti

I totally get your problems. I work 7 days and have crazy hours at my PT job on the weekends. Usually I work days at WDW, but until recently I worked 5am to 1:30pm. It's a long story (and I am steamed about it) but since they have put me on 6 hr days , it has worked better with Cedric's schedule. I totally blew up when they scheduled me next Sat 4:30 to 10:30p - who's going to give Cedric his insulin? fortunately, he currently is on a OTJ trial, and I haven't found anyone to take my shift. If he doesn't need the injection, I'll go to work, but if he does, I'll call out and get the stupid demerit. Your job is more serious though.

My vet said not to give any insulin if the reading was below 100. But what about a loww 100 range? After spending the better part of 5 weeks with the folks here, I feel that if Cedric had a number, say 110, I would give him a small dose, not what my vet said. I'd be scared to death that something would happen to him.

I did order an automatice feeder from Drs Foster & Smith on Friday. Since Cedric only eats canned now, this particular feeder has room for ice packs (I think it comes with them) underneath. It says it hase a 3 yr warrenty too.

good luck to you! Trust your instints!
 
Re: 5/29 Phoenix +7 104 +8 110 +9 115 +11 104 dosing reducti

Wow, that is such a crazy schedule! I guess Diabetes does not care what we have to work!!!! That is great about the feeder, I thought automatic feeders were just for dry food. I am going to check that out. Wish I had looked for it when I ordered off their website a week ago!!!! Thanks for the tips and for the understanding.
 
Re: 5/29 Phoenix +7 104 +8 110 +9 115 +11 104 dosing reducti

i can't give dosing advice, but phoenix's numbers sure look great. i hope you can figure out a way to give the same dose morning and evening.
 
Re: 5/29 Phoenix +7 104 +8 110 +9 115 +11 104 dosing reducti

Lindsay:

Just echoing Julie's thoughts. Can't give you any advice....there are lots more experienced people in LL, like Ronnie, who need to do that. Maybe consider what she said because she's been around a long time. Thinking of you and understanding how difficult it must be. I wish you luck in whatever you decide to do.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top