5/29 Neko PMPS 467 +2 465

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Neko

Member Since 2012
Moderator
Yesterday http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=71980

Yesterday morning Neko did a bump up instead of a curve down :oops: followed by an evening with a bit more action. I think her evenings she is going down and reacting with a bit of a bounce during the day. I am happy that both yesterday and today her AMPS are low (for her), it was 292 yesterday and 302 today. One thing I am trying as an experiment at night is to give her a 1/2 tsp of MC is she is dropping fast and both times that has resulted in lower PS for her. However, I am going to have to get up in the night and do a spot check to see where she is going. If this #$#@ cold would ever go away, that would be easier.

I did sleep in this morning. Since Neko was lower, she wasn't demanding food. The cat alarm went off an hour early. I ignored it expecting to get the cat alarm going off again, but neither cat made a fuss. Yikes! Guess I'm going to have to set a real alarm for the AM. Shot was 1/2 hour late this AM. I'll set it back 15 minutes tonight and tomorrow AM.

In spite of no cat alarm, CPC is maintained, autofeeder has done it's duty, and yard patrol completed. Again no LB action, but it was used last night and she is getting to the point where sometimes once a day is enough (instead of the 2 pees a day when she started FD).
 
Re: 5/29 Neko AMPS 302 +2 334

Get down from the purple Neko! Nice & easy, lots of yummy food will be waiting for you to get down that little step!

Using the LB once a day? That's very little. Is Neko drinking water on her own? Are you adding lots of water to her meal to make it kinda soupy? I seldom see Rosy drinking on her own after the switch to canned as I really add in lots of water. She's peeing twice a day & the amount is quite a lot. I guess it's from the water content of the canned & the water added in. Do add in more water into Neko's meal if she accepts soupy food.
 
Re: 5/29 Neko AMPS 302 +2 334

Helen - once a day was Neko's normal pee amount before FD, sometimes every 3/4 of a day. It's the same for civie Theo. There is a lot of moisture in raw food and I do add some water, plus Neko has always been pretty good at drinking if she wants more. Before FD she got 1/2 wet, 1/2 dry food, so it was an easier change to all wet, then to raw.
 
Re: 5/29 Neko PMPS 467 - Sigh!

PMPS 467

A flatter day of pinks and yellows until this ugly red at the end. Cycle 4 at this dose and haven't seen anything interesting yet.
 
Re: 5/29 Neko PMPS 467 - Sigh!

Aww... Neko! Come down from that ugly red!

Have the patience Wendy. It does take time for them to settle down, not only with the dose but with their own body. The insulin dosage acted as an healing agent. Just follow the protocol & act accordingly. I tried not analyse why & the reason for those figures because it is so frustrating. Once you thought you've found the reason, it changed.
How our kitties react is always a mystery to me. Most probably I am not wise enough but this makes my life easier. ;-)
 
Re: 5/29 Neko PMPS 467 - Sigh!

I hope Neko will settle in a little more and give you some better numbers but I wouldn't be surprised if she's going to need more insulin.

I hope you feel better soon, Wendy.
 
Re: 5/29 Neko PMPS 467 - Sigh!

How long should I wait to see what this dose does? I was just thinking the 6 cycles but I'll see what tonight and tomorrow does before I make the call to increase yet again.
 
Re: 5/29 Neko PMPS 467 - Sigh!

I think you might be holding onto the doses a little long. If she clears her bounces but doesn't get any lower than blue, then she probably needs more insulin but I would definitely give her a full six cycles.
 
Re: 5/29 Neko PMPS 467 - Sigh!

Wendy&Neko said:
How long should I wait to see what this dose does? I was just thinking the 6 cycles but I'll see what tonight and tomorrow does before I make the call to increase yet again.

I know it's rough waiting, but it's suggested to hold for the 6 cycles, so that the shed is given ample time to fill and the cat gets a chance to show how the full dose will work. More aggressiveness would be 5cycles, if you are getting high and flat numbers.

Some cats respond to a dose change earlier than others; my Shadoe took 3 or 4 cycles, but my Oliver took closer to 6 or even 7 sometimes. Often, I would say OK if the next ps is still high, I'll increase. Naturally, Oliver would then decide to respond.

It is hard to watch the numbers remain high, but you should still be seeing small amounts of improvement in Neko.
You will get to Neko's good dose, but you want to be sure you reach it safely.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top