5/29 Mannie AMPS 196, PMPS 396, +2 378, +4 317, +6 352

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michelle and Mannie (GA)

Member Since 2009
Good Morning LL!, and Happy Caturday! ~O) ~O)

Yesterday's Condo

What a wonderful blue surf last night - way to go Mannie! Even nicer to start out the morning with a 196 - blue!, and not a bounce, or pink, or or or... Paws Crossed, and anti-jinx: I do hope that his +2 is as nice, that his surf continues, that maybe we will even see some green.

WCR: Dreary morning here this AM: foggy, wet, cool, perfect weather for kitty I-) I-) , so he did. After a romp with the kitty nip toys: more slobbers, and chews and face rubs. Followed by shut eye on top of the pile. Mannie was very anxious for his breffis this morning - maybe he has lots of surfin' planned for today and needs his energy. He spent last night sleeping on my feet: love it: instant thermal blanket.

Mannie and I hope all have a great holiday weekend: BBQs and parties and family time. We have another series of very low tides here this weekend, so I hope to get in some low tide, sea critter exploring in. Mannie is so ready for Buzz's party, and hopes to see all there.
 
Re: 5/29 Mannie AMPS 196, +2 237, +4 260

Wrong way, Mannie!! That's what Buzz did last night, too. I wonder what it means...probably nothing, I'm just always looking for signs. :lol: Have fun tidal exploring, Michelle!

Mannie-
Hey, thanks for helping me spread the word about the party. I've got the info in my condo, too, so hopefully some kitties will show up. It will be a fun time, my first party! Have an awesome day!!
<3, Buzz
 
Re: 5/29 Mannie AMPS 196, +2 237, +4 260

I think Tess and Mannie have gone over to the teeter-totter, he goes up and she comes down. But maybe this will slow them a little. Paws forever crossed around here!
 
Re: 5/29 Mannie AMPS 196, +2 237, +4 260, +6 310

Hi guys - and darn it! a 310 @ +6. these bounces are killing me, figuratively speaking... so much for my hoping he would not bounce. oh sure..... :? and yes, paws forever crossed... :-D teeter totter describes it well.

Hey Buzz - I have all the kitties I know ready to come to your party! it will be really cool. Happy Birthday to your sister! ~~ Mannie

have a great day today guys! I am off to explore the tide pools, and the low tides, and hoping that the rain, well misty drizzle, stops. been raining for 2 days straight here - enough already!
 
Re: 5/29 Mannie AMPS 196, +2 237, +4 260, +6 310

Yo Mannie, buddy--I bounced, came down a bit, and now I'm going back up again. But my bean isn't too upset because her sister is here and she doesn't have to worry about me going too low. You're starting to climb today, pal, get back down into blue, OK? I'll be coming to Buzz's party tomorrow for sure. See you there.

Stu

Hi Michelle, Your coastal walk today sounds great. I love low tides. Today we'll take a walk around one of the local ponds, and tomorrow and Monday will be paddling days. My sister always comes to visit on Memorial Day Weekend and paddles with our Monday group. We have a group potluck picnic after the paddle.
Enjoy the weekend. Hope that Mannie will settle down to a blue surf again. I don't know what's going on with Stu!

Ella
 
Re: 5/29 Mannie AMPS 196, +2 237, +4 260, +6 310

posting my response to a PM michelle sent me asking about the use of food manipulation to control the curve:

hi michelle,

front-loading the cycle with food does seem to help with kitties who bounce or experience food spikes. front-loading will slow things down before the insulin pulls the numbers down quickly. not feeding in the second half of the cycle (when feeding can put the brakes on whatever action is left in the cycle) can help keep the numbers from going up even higher.

however, there's no one fool proof method for every cat. you'll really have to play around with timing in order to find what works for mannie. that said, dividing up his daily allotment of food into 8 equal portions to feed at ps, +1, +2, and +3 (2 cycles) is a good place to start. ECID. you'll end up tweaking this method as you get a better feel for mannie's response. eg. - there are times i give alex as little as 1/16 of her daily allotment of food to bump the numbers up slightly. i also know that a small piece of freeze-dried chicken will give her a bump of about 20 points. these are the kinds of things you'll learn about mannie.

initially, using food to manipulate the numbers also requires a lot of testing because you want to learn how mannie is responding. for instance, after feeding at ps time you'll want to get some +1s to see how much of a rise you were able to get from that 1/8 portion of his daily intake. the rise will vary, but you'll be able to get a general idea. getting +1s works out well because the insulin hasn't kicked in yet. frequent testing will show you where you might need to intervene with a bit of food to keep the numbers steady or to slow the momentum. you'll also want to figure out how much of a rise you'll get from mc and hc because it's possible that you may need to feed a higher carb food (on numbers higher than 50) early on. check out miriam/putty's ss for an example of what i'm talking about. miriam recently started using food to slow down fast drops. another example can be found on alex's lev ss... although i use food manipulation because alex experiences food spikes. what you feed and when you feed it will depend on mannie's individual response. sensitivity to carbs is different for each and every cat.

the idea behind the use of food to manipulate the numbers is to maintain a dose which is able to pull down high numbers without letting the cat drop too quickly and/or bottom out. it's easy to get caught in a vicious cycle where a certain dose "earns" a dose reduction... only to find out the reduced dose isn't enough insulin. this is why "seeing green" and earning reductions isn't always the best thing for some kitties. for kitties like mannie, alex, putty, and gabby... maintaining the dose until the cat stabilizes on the dose might be preferred, but you have to control the curve with food to keep kitty safe. unfortunately, in these days of "following protocols", we sometimes forget to emphasize how important it is to learn how YOUR cat responds to food and insulin.

hope this helps answer your questions. food manipulation is just another tool we have available to us. it is a lot of work in the beginning (lots of trial and error), but once you get a handle on mannie's response, the method can really help.
 
Re: 5/29 Mannie AMPS 196, +2 237, +4 260, +6 310

Michelle,I looked at your ss, Could your insulin be toasty??-It's like 30 days...That could explain the higher numbers--Ya Think??
Enjoy your walk, love the ocean--we are by the atlantic..Enjoy the day!
Hope Mannie comes down tonite! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/29 Mannie AMPS 196, +2 237, +4 260, +6 310

Thanks Jill - very helpful indeed. I will do my homework, study the SS's, test and see what works for my guy. I just feel that I could be doing better by him. Example in point: we went from a 196 at AMPS to a 483 @ +10. un-freakin'-real! as we so jokingly put it: Mannie has found his trampoline, and took his bungees with him today. AS quickly as he went up, well he usually comes down equally fast. anyways - thanks for your response. much appreciated. hopefully this will level him out some.

Hi Roni - it's possible that maybe it is toast. It's a cartridge, with not much left it in. In all honesty I was about to start a new one. And thanks on the beach walk - nice - even if it was blanketed in mist. typical PNW mist. :lol: that part of the Seattle legend is true more often than not.

and having said all of the above - we have a 483 @ +10 ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile darn it, and rats, and errrrr!! you would not know it by looking at him: he just returned from an outdoor excursion - saw him out there, in the drizzle, rolling in the lawn, rubbing his face in the grass, and bringing the yard inside on his fur. way to go! but I love him anyways....
 
Re: 5/29 Mannie AMPS 196, +2 237, +4 260, +6 310, +10 483 (!!)

oops - missed you Ella, and Stu - my bad!

Yo Stu - my man! My bean is freaked. she says she's not, but i keep seeing her pounding her head on the wall. i think it was the 483 that did it. uh.... what's the big deal - i feel great. it's really misty and rainy here - i love that: the lawn is so primo then, i can roll in it, get all dirty and wet, and mash up my whiskers in the grass. it's just the best. us grass guys gotta stick together! Great that you are coming to Buzz's party - it is her first, for her sister, and we need to make sure it is a success! See you there!! oh - below is a photo of me in my yard - I'd just finished lawn rolling. later! ~~ Mannie

Hi Ella! Your visit time sounds really nice! What a fun to to celebrate the holiday. The low tides today were nice - very wet, misty and rainy, but good none-the-less. The sunflower starfish were out in abundance. Good time! And thanks on Mannie - knew this would happen, it usually does - but a 483 ??!!??. ugly!

and Mannie in his yard:
 

Attachments

  • P1010473.JPG
    P1010473.JPG
    55.2 KB · Views: 691
Re: 5/29 Mannie AMPS 196, +2 237, +4 260, +6 310, +10 483 (!!)

hi Sienne - isn't it though? and we haven't even hit pmps time yet. omg.... i do hope though that he does not do one of his cliff dives....
 
Re: 5/29 Mannie AMPS 196, +10 483, PMPS 396, +2 378

Loved Jill's post about food since it might help me with Do Lou as well since he is a very bouncy boy, hope Mannie clears this quickly and love the pic of him :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/29 Mannie AMPS 196, +10 483, PMPS 396, +2 378

Hi Lisa - I was grateful for Jill's input. Mannie just is all over the place sometimes. I hope this will help, despite the amount of effort it will take to "get it right". It would be worth it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top