5/29 Indigo AMPS 106, +2 144, +4 128, +7 129, +10 138, PMPS 130, +2 130, +3 101, +4 62

Carole & Indigo

Very Active Member
Last Post

It has been quite a while since my last post, I hope everyone and their kitty's are doing well!

We have been having a hard time with Indi's numbers the past month or so and we also had a house full of covid so we didn't have the energy that we usually put in but we are really trying to get back on track now.
We were able to find a vet that is willing to do a dental so we took him in for a check up and bloodwork.
I liked how thorough he was with Indi and he said all the right things about keeping a close eye on Indi and monitoring during the anesthesia so I am comfortable with him doing the dental but he said all the typically wrong things in regards to his diabetes.

Normally I just duck and dodge all the diabetes talk but this vet was pretty set in his way of thinking. He wouldn't look at the spreadsheet and insisted that we do a curve on his worksheet. I will never understand how 1 day of numbers is better than all the days:rolleyes:
He also insisted we do a fructosamine which I cave to because he has been so bouncy lately I wanted to see just how bad it was and I was shocked and upset when it came back at 480 :(
He was not happy with his curve and said that he thinks he is going to low which surprised me, I gave him the numbers from the 26th which I thought were beautiful. He wants us to "make some small changes" and repeat the curve in a week or so.
Feed 2 meals a day only, consistency is best for them and he is not getting enough calories with his insulin.
Feed DM ideally, he says he knows it is higher in carbs but it has "other good things" for diabetics :rolleyes:
(I wanted to send him the ingredient and ask what the good stuff is, soy protein isolate, corn gluten meal, soy flour and corn starch?)
At the very least feed 1 tyoe food only, again the consistency thing

So we will not be doing any of that but I do need to get his numbers to a place where he will be comfortable doing the dental. On the one hand the vet is not happy that his is unregulated but on the other he thinks he was too low on the curve:banghead:
I don't want to go so long that we have to put him through repeating the bloodwork and starting from scratch. We also want to be sure to keep him as safe for the procedure as we possibly can.
We are wondering if we should reduce his dose a touch so he winds up in higher but still good numbers? But will he start with the high bouncing again? His numbers have been so good the past few days I am at a loss as to what to do and could use some advice :nailbiting::blackeye:
 
Hi Carole it's soooo good to hear from you :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:. Sorry about the house full of Covid. Hope you all are recovering.
Sorry about the Vet's FD lecture :mad:.

Do you think you could update the SS with the last week or so of data and his current dose?
 
Hi Carole it's soooo good to hear from you :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:. Sorry about the house full of Covid. Hope you all are recovering.
Sorry about the Vet's FD lecture :mad:.

Do you think you could update the SS with the last week or so of data and his current dose?

Hi Angela!! It’s good to hear from you too! I hope you and Cleo are both doing well :bighug::bighug:
Whoops, I totally forgot I got locked out of that sheet somehow it should be the right link now :oops:
 
That dental may be just what Indigo needs. What range is the Vet looking for? Is that range on a human or pet meter?
Tagging our go to Cat-God-Mammas ;) @Bandit's Mom @tiffmaxee

He does not seem comfortable with anything under 100, feels like it’s to too low. I guess it would be if you’re telling people they don’t need to test :banghead:
I kind of cherry picked the 26th cause it was such a good day but the 52 freaked him out.
He is very stubborn and is not open to much discussion, he was super unimpressed at the idea that I change his dose without professional direction. He believes that you find a “safe” dose and that’s it you don’t change it.
The irony is he may be the best vet we have seen for Indi's over all health he is also the absolute worst we have seen for diabetes.
Under normal circumstances I would get into it with him at least a little but I need to get his teeth done so I’m REALLY biting my tongue. My husband is loosing his mind over the things he’s saying :mad: I’m proud of how far he has come :smuggrin:
 
Last edited:
Back
Top