5/29 FAX PMPS 335 +2 232 IS THIS OK?

Status
Not open for further replies.

roisin and fax

Member Since 2011
Breakfast was 3/4 EVO and 1/4 M/D. I'm not sure if I'm being paranoid but his hind end seems a little weaker this morning.


yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=44284
 
Re: 5/29 FAX AMPS 475 not a good start today

Just stopping in to say Hello,

We've been busy this past week and I've been bad about visiting and Welcoming.

Like everyone is telling you it does take patience and some will tell you I am the most impatient person around here. You look like you are getting lots of good advice!

Neuropathy or hock walking is a side effect of the diabetes. As FAX comes down out of the high numbers it should resolve itself. Some folks add a B-12 supplement to the food, but since you are new I suspect getting FAX's numbers down will resolve the problem.

Hang in there ...it does get easier and things do get better. You are doing all the right things with the food transition to low carb. wet. Just like human diabetics have to watch what they eat...so do we with our 'sweet kitties.'

Welcome to the FDMB and Lantus Land!
 
Re: 5/29 FAX AMPS 475 not a good start today

Most of those beans who are treating their kitties for diabetic neuropathy use methyl-B12. Xobaline has been formulated for cats and contains no sugar. It takes at least a month of consistent use to see any results.
 
Re: 5/29 FAX AMPS 475 not a good start today +3 358

Fax has made a nice move off the red floor there. Keep it up, Fax...nice-n-steady!

Have a great day, Roisin!

~Amy
 
Re: 5/29 FAX AMPS 475 not a good start today +3 358

he came down nicely at +3, didn't he? and probably will be even lower in another 3 hours. don't get discouraged! now that you've got his food switched to low-carb, you'll be able to adjust his insulin when it's needed. hang on - sienne or one of the other people who feel comfortable giving dosing advice will let you know when it's time. you don't want to tinker with multiple factors at the same time and cause a problem - getting the food issue resolved is the first step.

hope you're having a good weekend. fax will improve, really!
 
Re: 5/29 FAX AMPS 475 +3 358 +7 304

+7 @ 304 - that's the biggest drop over 7 hours since I started ultra testing!

i'm all stocked up on the new food and his tummy so far is adjusting just fine. phew!
 
Re: 5/29 FAX AMPS 475 not a good start today +3 358

that's great! i didn't know you were supposed to ease food changes and i just moved my cats all at once. fortunately it went ok - they love having canned food.

isn't it fascinating to see fax's progress?!
 
Re: 5/29 FAX PMPS 335

i'm so happy that things are changing with faxy - coat etc. i can't wait to see the colours on his spreadsheet start to change!!
 
Re: 5/29 FAX PMPS 335

I'm glad the food switch doesn't seem to causing any tummy trouble, Roisin. I'm very curious to see what he does tonight...he's starting out much lower than last night! :-D
 
just want to check in and make sure that this lower number is a good one. he is sleepy and only ate most of his second dinner (fed just now) i will check again before bed.
 
+4 @ 299.
Sleep and not finishing meal induced by climbing on counter while I was outside and breaking in to wrapped up pizza. Ate most of one slice, crust, cheese, ham and pineapple. All sauce lapped up.
No wonder he felt more heavy just now when i picked him up!!! I hope this doesn't really affect his levels - though I don't see how it can't.
This is the biggest difference in Fax since developing diabetes. At heart he is a true gentleman but now his hunger overtakes any manners he has!
 
the hunger is part of it, roisin. punkin didn't use to be an endless eater either, but he sure is now. they don't use their food as efficiently when they're unregulated, apparently.

you might see higher numbers from the pizza scavenging, but it will clear. there was probably a lot of carbs & straight out sugar in it, but just hold your dose and don't be surprised if it goes up. overall though, his numbers are at a good point!

these things happen - the worst is that kitties like their dry food - we joke about it being kitty crack! it makes their BG go up and stay up for awhile.
 
When he was first diagnosed last spring we had to wean him off of dry food. Fax was a 100% kitty crack addict. He is an outdoor cat and his whole life he has managed the neighbourhood and then would come in and check his food, eat a few kibbles, go back outside. He has always loved food!
Julie, you're right - I feel like besides the pizza incident his numbers are settling into more of a pattern. We'll see where he's at in the morning.
 
Nice job getting the tests, Roisin. :smile: I think he would have seen blue at least tonight. They do love the contraband, I have to watch Tinkles like a hawk around the dog kibble...that's his downfall! He gets one little piece and his numbers go up over 100 pts. The pizza will boost his numbers, but he'll come back down...and tomorrow is another day! ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top