5/29 Bingo AMP 158 and a ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

BrandyMom2AFew

Member Since 2011
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=43691

So it has been a busy last week or so, sorry I have not been active.

Can someone look at Bingos SS and see if maybe it is time to lower the dose to .75u instead 1u? I have skipped morning doses now for three days in a row (not too comfortable to shoot lows) and prior to that the numbers were shrinking. The numbers at night have been fairly consistent, so I am not sure where that leaves me. Any insight would be great.

My thought is shoot him in tomorrow AM and do a 12 hr curve since I will be home all day and can do that fairly easily.
 
are you not able to get any mid-cycle tests? sometimes people can get a test right before they go to bed. the critical numbers for dosing are whatever the lowest numbers are in the cycle.

i can't answer about the dosing, but i know more test numbers would tell a lot more of what's going on with bingo.
 
It's really hard for me to make any recommendation. Sorry. Lantus dosing is not based on the pre-shot numbers. Dose decisions are based on the nadir. In order to make a recommendation, you need to get some spot checks. I can understand your reticence to shoot the blue pre-shots (although, we don't consider above 150 "low" even for someone new to Lantus) especially since you are not getting any subsequent tests.

This is a link to a post about dosing guidance and the importance of spot checks.
 
hi brandy,

i saw your blog was Oregon Homestead, so i took a peek. i'm in corvallis! there're others in albany and lebanon on FDMB too. on your blog you said that your vet's goal is to keep bingo's BG between 100-250 . . . is that why you're thinking 150 is too low to shoot? the vet is saying that because most people aren't hometesting and that's high enough to pretty much never go hypo, although my cat has gone below 50 with a preshot number of 150ish, so it can't be counted on. however, higher numbers aren't natural in a cat and it's not good for their organs. an undiabetic cat's normal numbers seem to be in the 50-100 range most of the time.

the protocol we follow on here is with the goal of getting cats off of insulin if at all possible. in the original study, 100% of the cats who followed this protocol in the first month of being diagnosed went off of insulin. the percentage decreased as it had been longer since diagnosis, but within the first year there is still a chance. with that goal in mind, following the protocol, we try to keep the cat's BG between 50-100. that is a riskier range because under 50 we begin to treat for hypoglycemia, even if there are no overt symptoms. hence the need for regular, frequent testing throughout the cycle.

so i guess my question is, what is your goal? your vet's directions put you in conflict with the protocol we follow. just something for you to consider. i'm not saying that to be rude, or to imply "follow this or don't come here" because i don't mean that at all. please don't be offended, i'm just wondering if you realize it.
 
hi there

completely agree.
you really need some spotchecks,
if you can get any, a before bedtime check (so important and highly advised!), a lunch time check, an in-the-door check, all these numbers will really help others here guide you with the dose.
 
I live in Corvallis. Just lost my 16 year old cat to Diabetes complications. I have almost a full bottle of Lantus purchased May 19 and kept refrigerated. I hate to just throw it away. Is there anyone who could use it?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top