5/29 AMPS 289 +5 285

Status
Not open for further replies.

MB and Feen

Member Since 2024
It has been about one month since Feen's diagnosis and I feel guilty and frustrated that he hasn't had any improvement in symptoms since starting on Basaglar. I have been trying SLGS for the first month to ease him into being on insulin. I would have hoped for at least a small change. He is currently on 1.5u BID and only weighs 10 pounds. My syringes have half-unit increments and so when I raise his dose I try to only increase by 0.25u but sometimes it is closer to 0.5u.
 
Last edited:
It has been about one month since Feen's diagnosis and I feel guilty and frustrated that he hasn't had any improvement in symptoms since starting on Basaglar. I have been trying SLGS for the first month to ease him into being on insulin. My spouse and I are both teachers and so we are gone from 6:30am-4pm most days and I worry about Feen being home alone for that amount of time so newly diagnosed. He has been on a strict canned food only diet his whole life and I cannot put "emergency" dry food down for free feeding while I am at work because he will gobble it and then vomit, and that concerns me with possible low glucose if he vomits after having to his breakfast/insulin dose. I have not yet been able to do a proper glucose curve at home, but the end of the school year is coming and so I will be home with Feen and able to do that. Regardless, when I have been home and able to spot check between AMPS and PMPS he is always hovering between 200-300. His symptoms are the same as when he was diagnosed: PU/PD and intense food-seeking.

I feel terrible for him and want him to find relief. I am also worried that if I don't see improvement soon in his glucose readings, my vet will not continue to prescribe long/intermediate-acting insulin. She wanted him on short-acting only SID and I had to convince her to let me try this for the first month. As it is, she did not want me dosing BID even though that is what research supports.

Should I continue to proceed with SLGS? I'm just surprised that he is exactly the same now as he was without any insulin a month ago. I would have hoped for at least a small change. He is currently on 1.5u BID and only weighs 10 pounds. My syringes have half-unit increments and so when I raise his dose I try to only increase by 0.25u but sometimes it is closer to 0.5u.
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Wendy&Neko
@Bandit's Mom
 
Are you testing before every dose to see it is safe to give the dose? Looking at the SS it looks as if you are only testing every so often. I would recommend you try and get at least one test in every pm cycle so we can get an idea of what’s happening.
We cant really help with dosing unless we can see daily data.
Don’t let your vet change you to another insulin. You are using the best insulin for cats and to go to a short acting insulin would be a big backward step and would not help at all… just make it worse.
Have you thought about getting an automatic timed feeder which will dispense food when you are not at home. It’s a life saver for diabetic caregivers. Thru are fine for wet foods.
Until he is regulated he will pee more and drink more and be hungry.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top