5-29-18 Jones AMSP 196, +9 200 PMPS 274 Bounce?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tracey&Jones (GA)

Member Since 2016
Yesterday

He ate better yesterday. It is supposed to cool down for a few days and I am hoping that helps with wanting him to eat.

Today is Day 3 of the methyl B12 but I still need to get that B complex in. His capsules of all his meds are made up till Wednesday, at that point I will do up another 2 weeks worth with the B complex added into one capsule that isn't full yet.

Got a call from the vet yesterday, she wants him to fast from midnight on and no meds or insulin the morning of the operation but I can resume when I get him home. He gets is SEB at +2 or +3 at night, so he will get that at least. I was going to put out half his food and then scoop it up before I go to bed.

Scared s*%tless about this but I have weighed the benefits and risks. If he has teeth bothering him or as noticed some really bad gingivitis then it is better to get that dealt with and may help with him eating. However, to me he seems so....not the previous Jones from before the dx of IBD and FD and that scares me with the risk of anesthesia. He is scheduled for June 8th. I already made arrangements to work from home that day so I can pick him up as soon as possible.

Since I have no more plans to travel until fall for work...I have booked Friday's off for the summer (at least the last two weeks of each month due to month end) to give me extra time to spend at home and enjoying my furbabies and my garden. If I ever get to planting....I didn't do any seeds this year...so it is buying all items.
 
Last edited:
I'm glad Jones ate better yesterday. I hope he continues to eat for you today. Sending early prayer for his procedure. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I agree it's better to deal with his dental issues now when he's still "young" at 13 years old. I know I can't do anything with my elderly civvie at 18 years old. He's already fragile.

Enjoy the "abbreviated" work season for the summer! I have every Friday off and I love it!! :)
 
Hugs, I know how scary anesthesia is because of age and just more so when you pile on FD and whatever else. Asia had several extractions at 13 and it was life changing for her, I hope the very same for Jones! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: I wish I just had a dental for Asia even a year or two ago, it’s so dicey to attempt it now, but it still has to be a consideration since I know now it’s a real issue. The way I see it is better now than later and if it’s an issue now, you know it can only get worse since they are crap at magically healing their teeth! ;) I wish it made things less scary, but I hope the times flies quickly and it’s done and over with and a dental helps bring back the old Jones. I think bad teeth could contribute to IBD and FD, so you have some good odds it will help at least a little bit, if not a lot! :)
 
If any assurance, Tracey: Azalea was 17 near 18 yo when she had eye enucleation surgery and then two months later, major dental surgery bc of stomatitis. I was sweating bullets (specialist surgeons were, too) bc of her age and ckd history. They both did special anesthesia and protocol. Granted, she didn’t bounce back as quickly as a younger cat would, but she did recover from the surgeries. Hope this helps and sending bushelsful of vines. :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top