5/28 Tiger Amps 155 sick/ skipping dose

Deb and Tiger

Very Active Member
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-25-tiger-amps-295.290407/

Not a good morning. Tiger got up crying and vomiting liquid. He usually feels better after getting sick but started crying again and walking around trying to lay in different spots. We gave him cerenia and zolfran and managed to get a few of his favorite HC treats in him and after a while some HC food that he would eat. His numbers kept dropping as well, especially with an empty tummy. Now over an hour after food, he only had a slight quick food bump up to 199 but now is back down to 178 @ +13.5. Not sure why the HC didn’t bump his number way up. Very strange…

I couldn’t delay food because he needed food for the tummy problem so I was going to consider shooting late as I expected a huge food bump. That’s not happening at all, so we’re going to skip dose this am and concentrate on rest and getting over tummy troubles… his appetite was off this weekend but seemed better yesterday so I thought he was over it.

I can only hope the day gets better. Poor baby feeling so bad…

Hope everyone has a better day than we are…
 
I hope Tiger feels better soon. :bighug:

An option for a cat when unwell is a half dose of insulin, instead of skipping altogether. Even cats who cannot eat due to upcoming surgery and anaesthesia, can get a half dose. Insulin does much more in the body than counter the carbs in his food. Since you skipped, try to get a ketones test in today.

When a cat is as high as he is, you don't need to delay food. It's only if kitty is in the greens and you don't know if food has bumped him up from an otherwise unsafe number to shoot, that you worry about feeding early.
 
I hope Tiger feels better soon. :bighug:

An option for a cat when unwell is a half dose of insulin, instead of skipping altogether. Even cats who cannot eat due to upcoming surgery and anaesthesia, can get a half dose. Insulin does much more in the body than counter the carbs in his food. Since you skipped, try to get a ketones test in today.

When a cat is as high as he is, you don't need to delay food. It's only if kitty is in the greens and you don't know if food has bumped him up from an otherwise unsafe number to shoot, that you worry about feeding early.

Wendy thank you for this info. I wondered about the food delay in his situation. I really did consider shooting an hour late but worried about the food within 2 hours. I was a bit worried about shooting and him not eating or eating and not being able to keep it down tho. If his numbers dropped. I still can’t believe he didn’t get much of a food bump.

we did just do a ketone test with his libre change and he was at .3

thank you for watching out for us! It is so appreciated!
 
Back
Top