5/28 Philly - AMPS 409, +2 301, +4 195, +6 93, +7 82, +10 237, PMPS 358, +2 458, +4 397, +7 427

Beck and Philly

Member Since 2018
Hi everyone. I made some good friends here a couple years ago when my Grandpa cat was diagnosed. He left us in the fall of 2018.

This week my sweet boy, Philly, was also diagnosed as diabetic. My vet is wonderful and trusts me and this group to manage his treatment, supporting when I need her . Bloodwork shows no pancreatitis but elevated white blood count. She gave him a Convenia injection on Tuesday. I picked up a new Lantus pen yesterday and just did his first AMPS. I'm a bit out of practice and this is new to Philly so I'm going to start with SLGS.

Food may be the challenge. He picks at dry food throughout the day. Even when we open wet food for the gang, he isn't interested. He turns away from roasted chicken and baked fish as well. He's dropped from 15 lbs in September to 10.8 lbs now. We do rescue, so there are quite a few kitties around here.

Wish us luck!
 
Last edited:
Good luck! With him eating dry SLGS is your only option. That’s a huge drop in weight! What’s his ideal weight?
 
That’s great! He’s going to need to eat a lot to get back up there. My boy was a tad overweight and Lantus made him heavier even though he didn’t eat a lot.
 
That's a good sized drop. Be good to know which way he is headed.

I miss the "and Grandpa" part.
I have 30 minutes until I can get a +6. I'm wondering...

I miss the "and Grandpa" also. When I changed my user name I tried to fit it in. I even went back to edit the new name, but it said I can't change again for 30 days.
 
Ok. The +6 is 93. I didn't expect this on day one. I'm not panicking yet, but I expected a gradual reaction over a week or so.

I'm hoping he doesn't drop much lower today. I've gotta admit that I'm worried about giving him another full unit tonight at 8 PM.

Advice welcome!
 
Try to get Philly to eat a little something, to see if you can slow him down. I;d test again in an hour.

To early to say yet about dose tonight, but it does look like you might want to try a bit less insulin. Do you have half unit marked syringes?
 
Try to get Philly to eat a little something, to see if you can slow him down. I;d test again in an hour.

To early to say yet about dose tonight, but it does look like you might want to try a bit less insulin. Do you have half unit marked syringes?
Thanks. I'll see if he'll eat.

Yes, I have half unit marks on my syringes.
 
He is at 82 at +7 after eating some TikiCat and RC glycobalance dry. He's eating more Tikicat dry now. Won't touch wet or even cooked ground beef.
 
He's slowed down, that's good. Maybe check again in an hour to see if he' stable.

I have to head out. If you need help, modify your subject line to include something like "need help" and hopefully someone will be along.
 
Looks like he’s heading up fast. Since he is still eating dry food, that means following the SLGS dosing method for now. It also means a dose reduction down to 0.75 units tonight, as reductions are earned when they go under 90. I asked about the half unit syringes to make sure you could eyeball that amount. The Sticky Note on syringes has some pictures that might help with those in between doses.
 
Darn! I read this now after we gave a full 1 unit this evening since he had gone up to 358 PMPS.

We plan to test a couple times overnight.
 
Paws crossed he'll bounce and be safe for you.

His +2 is 458. Yikes.

I had called my vet office when he reached 82 earlier, but my vet was off today. The vet on duty told me to give a full unit if he was over 200 at time for shot. I had forgotten the 90 reduction rule here.

I'm surprised at the jump in numbers tonight.
 
That's why it's nice to have a dosing method you can follow and people here almost 24x7 to help you. I got frustrated waiting for my vet to answer too, then started following the good people here.
 
That's why it's nice to have a dosing method you can follow and people here almost 24x7 to help you. I got frustrated waiting for my vet to answer too, then started following the good people here.
Thanks for all your help today. I had read and tried to refresh myself before starting again, especially since Grandpa was dealing with pancreatic cancer and had his own unique issues. I never dreamed we'd see blue on day one.

I'll be testing through the night. Should I plan on .75 in the morning regardless of nadir tonight or have we missed our reduction opportunity?

Oh, last question...I am using an AlphaTrak2 still since I stil have a ton of strips. If 90 is the reduction point for a human meter, what is the pet meter number?
 
Last edited:
Yes, 0.75 units tomorrow - 1.0 units has shown it's too much.

That 90 is AT or human meter, we don't have a way to convert between the two.
 
Back
Top