5/28 MILO AMPS 158 +3 193 +7 162 +10 153 PMPS 149 +2 124

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bebe Kaye

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's Condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=96228&p=1031011#p1031011

AMPS 158
+3 193
+7 162
+10 153
PMPS 149
+2 124
+4 131


I had dropped the dose to 1 unit AM and PM today, panic dropping and also not understanding completely the tight regulation thing completely. Any help where to go from here would be greatly appreciated...not sure whether to go back to his 1.5 and see where he goes, or drop to 1.25...the drop to 1 unit was a panic move (stooopid bean!). I also had a few calls from the vet today to discuss his numbers as well as some other health things, he's going in on Thursday for a BP test again to see how the medication is going, to start some vitamin b injections and the vet is also going to teach me how to do subq's. The vet told me to drop to the 1 unit, but I would prefer to hear from all of you who have had a lot more hands on experience with using lantus.

Miley has had a pretty good day, nothing out of the ordinary to report except he's found a new napping spot, he sneaks into my grandson's room and sleeps under his cot (crib), Miley has been the baby for so long not sure he likes his position being usurped. I mixed up the Ebony Princes meals a little more today and he's been eating well, fluid intake is still high and his urine very dilute, can't wait to start those subq's!

His bean is surviving (just) managed to get a whole 2 hours sleep over the past 24 (go me!!), I seem to go through these weird periods of days and days of no sleep and then my body just shuts down and i'll sleep heaps for a few days, it's weird and I hate it *stomps foot*...okay tantrum out of the way. It was a lovely rainy day in this part of the world and even though Winter has yet to officially arrive, the ugh boots have come out and so have the jumpers. I worry about the cooler weather making Miley's joints ache, so I may start putting some warm heat packs on his shoulders, he seems to enjoy it as well as a good massage...pity he can't return the favour (without claws that is). I have Miley here snuggled up beside me, I have been considering buying him a little dog jacket (pleaseeeee don't tell him him it's a dog one, he will be insulted beyond belief!), but am not sure he would wear it. It's just that he has a completely bald tummy, insides of legs, under tail and up his sides, I worry that he will get cold. Anyone had success in getting a kitty to wear something during Winter? I doubt he will put up with it!

Hope everyone and all the meow meows are having the most splendiferous day; full of rainbows, fluffy clouds and breezes filled with the sweetest smells.

Bebe and Milo
 
This is definitely the sleep deprived club.
I remember even when I went to bed, I laid there staring at the door since my cat sleeps on the bathroom mat instead of coming to bed. ( That was my first clue that something wasn't
right) I worried too much to sleep so I would just sit up and read everyone else's condos to learn more quickly.

I do remember there being a cat here somewhere who had a sweater.... I think it had a hair loss condition... so I guess some will allow you to give them clothing.
My cat has a kitty heating pad to lay on... the temperature doesn't go above a certain heat unlike a human version.
Since you can't get a timed feeder right now.... there is the catsicle method.
You take the canned food and add water, making it soupy, and freeze it.... some use ice trays, or if you have a silicone muffin holder.... something you can pop it out of.
Leave that out to thaw when you have to be gone for many hours or at night.
If it's cool in your house at night, just adding a few tablespoons of water to the canned food keeps it from getting crusty. If Milo scarfs his food... that won't work but if he's a grazer...
he can go get food while you sleep. ( that's where the timed feeder is handy, it doesn't open for a few hours)
Most of them won't scarf a catsicle... they wait until it's partially thawed .

I was surprised that my cat was willing to nibble on the partially frozen .... she had always gotten her food heated before diabetes.

I'll leave the dose issue for one of the more experienced to come answer.
 
With Miley's CKD, I add water to everything he eats, just to get even that small extra amount of fluids into him. Problem with the Ebony Prince is that he won't eat food after it's been left out for a certain period of time :roll: I don't know what I shall do with him! I may have to try the frozen food thing, not sure how it will work with him, but definitely worth a try.

Miley kept me up again, I thought the way his numbers were that I would get some sleep, but then at his +6 he dropped down to 77, so I stayed up to make sure he didn't bottom out. At his 5/29 AMPS reading he was still only 113, so without any suggested doses, I just left him at his 1 unit.

Hope everyone's doing well...furry and otherwise.

Bebe and Milo
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top