5/28 Michelangelo AMPS 281, +5/148

Status
Not open for further replies.

KPassa

Member Since 2012
Previous Condo.

I switched to a new pen on Saturday and dropped Mikey's dose to a skinny 2.5u just in case his old pen had started to lose potency toward the end. We've been hitting some nice blues and high greens, but I know that we'll be hitting even better greens once I confirmed his new dose would still be a fat 2.5u (which is what I shot this morning). What a difference a couple of drops makes!

Haven't mentioned Henry Hugglemonster's antics for a while. Michelangelo and Henry might both be my first long-hairs, but Henry has Mikey beat when it comes to sheer amounts of fur. He's about a 10-pound kitten now with 20 pounds of fur! :o Henry's already got one massive mat of fur under his right arm (it freaked me out because at first I thought it was a tumor :? ). I think I'm going to have to take him in to get shaved soon before he starts growing wings. I've been grooming him like crazy to no avail and I keep finding all these little fur bunnies scattered throughout the house and in my bed...and even in one of my sinks! :lol:

photo.jpg
 
Came home on my lunch today to test Mikey. Henry was nowhere around, yet I could see everywhere the little shedding fuzzball had been...including my kitchen counters! I knew that little sneak was jumping up there; I just haven't been able to catch him in the act until today! Little twerp. :YMSIGH:
 
Hmm, I think you have a fur problem there in that sink. :cool:

My medium haired cat (aka Brownie) has been shedding a lot lately. (Well I think she's medium haired. I have no idea since the vet classified her as domestic shorthair but she has longer fur than Cain.) I see tufts of fur everywhere. We started warming up more to our normal pre-summer levels so I'm guessing that's why. She also has troubles with mats in her fur on her belly and just on her chest near her legs. I end up having to take a pair of scissors and try to carefully cut them out while she's trying to wiggle away. That's a great idea to try getting those areas shaved a bit. I might have to have the vet do it though. She's a skittish cat.
 
Narillan said:
I end up having to take a pair of scissors and try to carefully cut them out while she's trying to wiggle away. That's a great idea to try getting those areas shaved a bit. I might have to have the vet do it though. She's a skittish cat.

I tried that with Henry last night. He's had this mat under his arm for about a week now and it is knotted really tightly close to the skin. I've been working on it with various grooming brushes and even bought the furminator when it was on sale last week, hoping that might do it, but no luck. :sad: Tried with the scissors last night and between his squirming and the angle of it, I couldn't get to it, so I'm thinking a vet visit is going to have to be in order.

I just can't believe how much fur this guy has! Michelangelo is part Maine Coon and even he doesn't have nearly as much hair! Last week, my brother had a graduation party and a lot of people were there who haven't seen Henry since he was a "little" kitten at 4 months old (and already 4.9 pounds!). Everyone couldn't believe how "big" he'd gotten...until they ran their hands down his sides and realized most of it was just fur! :lol:
 
Looks like between Mikey's bratty gobblishness and The Hugglemonster's furry antics, you've got your hands full there, missy!!! I've never had a long-haired brat cat, but I cannot even imagine how many times I would swear I gave a fur shot, if I did....just how do you give a shot to a long-haired cat?

Thanks for visiting Gob's condo--yes, Mikeywill be already is the sweeter one. Gobbles started losing some of his sweetiness when I started taking him outside (about 3 weeks ago) because of taking off running and heading for a dilapidated piece of farm machinery, to hide from me--I've had to drag him out of there every time. Recently I've been clipping his lead to the clothes line so he can't even get anywhere near it.
 
TheBowHuntress said:
I've never had a long-haired brat cat, but I cannot even imagine how many times I would swear I gave a fur shot, if I did....just how do you give a shot to a long-haired cat?

I do still give quite a few fur shots, but the longer needles help significantly. With the shorter needles, I'd say practically every other shot ends up being a fur shot. ohmygod_smile :evil: On top of it all, when I first started giving him shots, he was only 6 months old and 4.6 pounds; he didn't even have enough skin to pull up to give him a shot properly! I had to learn how to shoot "flat" (luckily, I've been giving myself my own weekly B12 shots this way for the past couple of years so it wasn't too difficult to adapt the technique for Michelangelo).

TheBowHuntress said:
Gobbles started losing some of his sweetiness when I started taking him outside (about 3 weeks ago) because of taking off running and heading for a dilapidated piece of farm machinery, to hide from me--I've had to drag him out of there every time. Recently I've been clipping his lead to the clothes line so he can't even get anywhere near it.

Haha! This is exactly the reason why I'd never consider taking Michelangelo for a walk. He wouldn't even make it past our front porch without darting into the bushes and hiding out. He's a total homebody and loves his backyard just fine. Henry's the one who's the trouble-maker when it comes to outdoor adventures. :YMSIGH:

Heck, Henry's really the trouble-maker overall now that I think about it! Michelangelo is stubborn and set in his ways like a grumpy, old man. Henry is curious and mischievous and is always trying to get up in everyone else's business and into things he knows he's not allowed. I don't know how many times a day I tell Henry to stop being so nosey. No, get out of the fridge; there's never been anything to eat in there for you. No, stop opening the cupboard doors; I haven't changed the arrangement of my pots and pans since the last time you went through them. No, the neighbors don't want to you to come over and hang out in their backyard. No, the possum does not want to be friends; neither do the other neighborhood cats. No, my brother does not want you to "fertilize" his garden and that's why you're not allowed back there; not because we're hiding anything from you. No, there's nothing to see under my skirt so stop trying to get under there! :lol: Such a boy!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top