Re: 5/28, Jezebel, AMPS,PMPS 106, +2 51, +2.5 61 +2.75 53 ADVICE
Regarding the input from your vet...
Most vets freak at low numbers. If you think about why, it makes a lot of sense. Most people don't home test. Their vet end ups intervening when a cat's numbers have bottomed out. Most people don't even know what to do with low numbers. When they notice something is wrong, their cat is having symptoms of hypoglycemia. For us, that's very late in the game. We test and we know when and how to intervene with food. We rarely have a cat who is symptomatic. Many of the cats here, Gabby included, have hit numbers in the 30s or even lower on a rare occasion, and been fine. Numbers in the 50s are safe -- they are normal BG numbers. Vets are not used to have clients who know how to handle this.
The dosing protocol that we use is based on solid veterinary research. Decreases are earned when numbers drop below 50. Research would never be permitted if it was deliberately jeopardizing the health and welfare of an animal.
So, my thinking would be to keep your dose at 1.0u. Jezebel is trying to earn a decrease. If you aren't comfortable with keeping the dose, it's fine to decrease. Just be aware that her numbers may not be as good and you may need to increase the dose back up. This is a dance. Sometimes you take one step forward and sometimes one step back.
I would give more HC to bring the numbers up a bit. I dunno about the dog food, though! The nutrient content isn't the best for kitties!!