5/28, Jezebel, +2 51, +2.5 61 +2.75 +4 58, +5.5 54, +6 61

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jezebel

Active Member
Hopefully we are surfing now. Nice not to see a higher number this morning. She woke me up at 5 am hungry...told her she had to wait for an hour. She was not amused...

AMPS 127
1 u Lantus

Yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=15581

I'll check her again at +1.

Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/28, Jezebel, AMPS 127, +177

AMPS 127
1 u Lantus
+1 177 Food spike?

Hey wrong way! Will check again at +2

Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/28, Jezebel, AMPS 127, +1 177

Very nice BG this morning Debie and Jezebel :-D
 
Re: 5/28, Jezebel, AMPS 127, +1 177, +2 154, +3 128

AMPS 127
1 u Lantus
+1 177
+2 154
+3 128

Looking better. I'll check at +4 then have to get to work.

Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/28, Jezebel, AMPS 127, +1 177, +2 154, +3 128

That rise at +1 is a food spike! Jezebel is looking good and this is a lovely surf. Remember to leave food out for her since her numbers are coming down nicely.
 
Re: 5/28, Jezebel, AMPS 127, +1 177, +2 154, +3 128, +4 113

AMPS 127
1 u Lantus
+1 177
+2 154
+3 128
+4 113

Leaving food out. Hoping to get by at lunch time to check. Still really haven't established a Nadir...

Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/28, Jezebel, AMPS 127, +1 177, +3 128, +4 113, +6 116

AMPS 127
1 u Lantus
+1 177
+2 154
+3 128
+4 113
+6 116 After I had already posted and was walking out the door....Jez was at her food bowl.....YEAH! She went looking for it today! Now if I can just get her used to the timed feeder.

Back at +4.

Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/28, Jezebel, AMPS 127, +1 177, +3 128, +6 116, +10 100

Day 19
AMPS 127
1 u Lantus
+1 177
+2 154
+3 128
+4 113
+6 116
+10 100

My vet has recommended I reduce her dosage to .5 u Lantus. I sent her my spreadsheet and she did not like the 50's. Your thoughts would be appreciated.

Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/28, Jezebel, AMPS 127, +1 177, +10 100, PMPS 106

Day 19
AMPS 127
1 u Lantus
+1 177
+2 154
+3 128
+4 113
+6 116
+10 100
PMPS 106
.75 u Lantus

Vet wanted to go to .5.....I chose .75

Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/28, Jezebel, AMPS 127, +1 177, +10 100, PMPS 106, +1 87

Day 19
AMPS 127
1 u Lantus
+1 177
+2 154
+3 128
+4 113
+6 116
+10 100
PMPS 106
.75 u Lantus
+1 87 Gave her some freeze dried chicken.
I'm going out...I'll check her at +3...

Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/28, Jezebel, AMPS 127, +1 177, +10 100, PMPS 106, +1 87

I'll run home at +2 and check on her. 30 min from now.

Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/28, Jezebel, AMPS 127, +1 177, +10 100, PMPS 106, +1 87

She is down to 51. Fed hersome mc ff and some weruva. Don't have access to my spreadsheet. Advice please
 
Re: 5/28, Jezebel, AMPS 127, +10 100, PMPS 106, +1 87, +2 51

how long are you going to be out tonight, or are you home now? If you're going out, you might want to feed HC. It's early in the cycle.
 
Re: 5/28, Jezebel, AMPS 127, +10 100, PMPS 106, +1 87, +2 51

I'm home right now but was heading back out. Family in town. I'll check her again at +2.5

Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/28, Jezebel, AMPS 127, +10 100, PMPS 106, +2 51, ADVICE

+2.5 61...hopefully on our way up.

Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/28, Jezebel, AMPS 127, +10 100, PMPS 106, +2 51, ADVICE

Oh the places I didnt go & things I didnt do because of Moonie :lol: :lol: :lol:
Glad you fed MC and you can actually get a test in 15-20 minutes to see if she went up==
Moonie could be Jezebel's sister!! Love those tuxedos!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/28, Jezebel, AMPS 127, PMPS 106, +2 51, , +2.5 61 ADVICE

Will do.....7 minutes and counting. I think I will take her down to .5 tomorrow.
Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/28, Jezebel, AMPS 127, PMPS 106, +2 51, , +2.5 61 ADVICE

lLooking good keep doing what you are doing--Can you stay a bit longer?? Just to be sure she is going up!
 
Re: 5/28, Jezebel, AMPS 127, PMPS 106, +2 51, , +2.5 61 ADVICE

+2.75 57

Gave her some more of the higher carb FF....will stay until I'm sure she's going up.. Again, I don't have access to my spreadsheet right now..on a different computer that is not playing nice...

Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/28, Jezebel, AMPS 127, PMPS 106, +2 51, , +2.5 61 ADVICE

good job. You just want to get her surfing a little higher than this (70's would be nice).
 
Re: 5/28, Jezebel, AMPS,PMPS 106, +2 51, +2.5 61 +2.75 53 ADVICE

Day 19
AMPS 127
1 u Lantus
+1 177
+2 154
+3 128
+4 113
+6 116
+10 100
PMPS 106
.75 u Lantus
+1 87
+2 51
+2.5 61
+2.75 53

More Food or some honey????

Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/28, Jezebel, AMPS,PMPS 106, +2 51, +2.5 61 +2.75 53 ADVICE

HC is good. I would probably just give the HC if you want to bump her into the over 60s. See what that does before you do anything more.
 
Re: 5/28, Jezebel, AMPS,PMPS 106, +2 51, +2.5 61 +2.75 53 ADVICE

Day 19
AMPS 127
1 u Lantus
+1 177
+2 154
+3 128
+4 113
+6 116
+10 100
PMPS 106
.75 u Lantus
+1 87 Gave some freeze dried chicken
+2 51 gave some ff mc
+2.5 61 gave more ff mc and some weruva mc
+2.75 53 gave MC food (FF with gravy and some weruva)
+3 52 gave her some delicious dog food (she loves it)
PS...she's acting fine.

Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/28, Jezebel, AMPS,PMPS 106, +2 51, +2.5 61 +2.75 53 ADVICE

Regarding the input from your vet...

Most vets freak at low numbers. If you think about why, it makes a lot of sense. Most people don't home test. Their vet end ups intervening when a cat's numbers have bottomed out. Most people don't even know what to do with low numbers. When they notice something is wrong, their cat is having symptoms of hypoglycemia. For us, that's very late in the game. We test and we know when and how to intervene with food. We rarely have a cat who is symptomatic. Many of the cats here, Gabby included, have hit numbers in the 30s or even lower on a rare occasion, and been fine. Numbers in the 50s are safe -- they are normal BG numbers. Vets are not used to have clients who know how to handle this.

The dosing protocol that we use is based on solid veterinary research. Decreases are earned when numbers drop below 50. Research would never be permitted if it was deliberately jeopardizing the health and welfare of an animal.

So, my thinking would be to keep your dose at 1.0u. Jezebel is trying to earn a decrease. If you aren't comfortable with keeping the dose, it's fine to decrease. Just be aware that her numbers may not be as good and you may need to increase the dose back up. This is a dance. Sometimes you take one step forward and sometimes one step back.

I would give more HC to bring the numbers up a bit. I dunno about the dog food, though! The nutrient content isn't the best for kitties!!
 
Re: 5/28, Jezebel, +2 51, +2.5 61 +2.75 53, +3 52 ADVICE

I just tested myself with my ReliOn and my Contour. The Contour read 10 points higher. Will check Jez now.

Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/28, Jezebel, +2 51, +2.5 61 +2.75 53, +3 52 ADVICE

Day 19
AMPS 127
1 u Lantus
+1 177
+2 154
+3 128
+4 113
+6 116
+10 100
PMPS 106
.75 u Lantus
+1 87 Gave some freeze dried chicken
+2 51 gave some ff mc
+2.5 61 gave more ff mc and some weruva mc
+2.75 53 gave MC food (FF with gravy and some weruva)
+3 52 gave her some delicious dog food (she loves it)
PS...she's acting fine
+3.5 57
 
Re: 5/28, Jezebel, +2 51, +2.5 61 +2.75 53, +3 52 ADVICE

it seems like Jezebel really wants to surf the 50's tonight. Are you still wanting to go out once she goes up? Or are you in for the night?
 
Re: 5/28, Jezebel, +2 51, +2.5 61 +2.75 53, +3 52 ADVICE

I'm in....I hauled my family over there and we're ordering pizza rather than having steak!!

Check again at +4.

Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/28, Jezebel, +2 51, +2.5 61 +2.75 +4 58, +5.5 54 ADVICE

Day 19
AMPS 127
1 u Lantus
+1 177
+2 154
+3 128
+4 113
+6 116
+10 100
PMPS 106
.75 u Lantus
+1 87 Gave some freeze dried chicken
+2 51 gave some ff mc
+2.5 61 gave more ff mc and some weruva mc
+2.75 53 gave MC food (FF with gravy and some weruva)
+3 52 gave her some delicious dog food (she loves it)
PS...she's acting fine
+3.5 57
+5.5 54
 
Re: 5/28, Jezebel, +2 51, +2.5 61 +2.75 +4 58, +5.5 54 ADVICE

that's quite a nice surf. :smile: And you're doing a great job of managing it.
 
Re: 5/28, Jezebel, +2 51, +2.5 61 +2.75 +4 58, +5.5 54 ADVICE

You are doing GREAT!! What a good job you did tonite!--It is best to see that they are going up, before you leave--
Do you have a timed feeder?? We all do & it is a Godsend!--If I am out for the day, I set it for +3 (when the onset of insulin begins) and + 5 as Moonie's nadir is between +5 & +6, so if she eats then, she will probably surf the rest of the day..and I leave out lots of food in their dishes.

You have got some great numbers for your curve today--Most vets make you bring cat in all day so they can do testing all day & charge you a ton of money, for what you did here yourself and better than them--Cat isnt stressed at home like at vets!
Jezebel is doing very very well :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
I've sent my family home...now off to bed. I'll leave food out tonight for her...which may make her amps higher...but don't want to chance her not having access to food.
We're working on acclimating to the timed feeder.
Once again....thank you all for your guidance and advice.
Debie & Jez
 
Wow I missed all this action. I agree with Libby and Sienne----she is really close to earning a decrease. Which would be to 0.75 units. Vets do freak out with low numbers. I think it is because they do not want to be held liable without recommending you decrease, because most beans don't hometest :lol: That's just my 2 cents. If she keeps this pace going it will be soon that she earns her very first dosecrease.

Great job tonight Debie!!! :RAHCAT
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top