5/28 Guinness +8(+3R)191|PMPS 314|+4 422 R QUESTION

Status
Not open for further replies.

linda and guinness

Member Since 2009
Good morning Lantus Land!

I have a very loving black cat laying with his head on my leg, purring as I type this. His numbers are a little high this am even though I shot him with the extra R this morning. I plan to give another round of R this afternoon and then possibly increase his dose to 8u.

My vet finally got back to me with a suggestion that he (my cat, not the vet) might be insulin resistant (ya think?), but she didn't think he as an acro cat. She did offer to do both tests though, which we will do to rule things out. She offered up the fact that I might want to contact the feline diabetes "expert" in town, but I dealt with that vet last time I was here and she wasn't much of an expert to me (compared to the people here). Her advice wasn't so up-to-date. I think I'm going to try and stick with my current vet for tests and scripts and keep working Guinness through this site. I may be forced to visit the "expert" if things don't change.

That's all for us for now! Have a great day!
 
Re: 5/28 Guinness AMPS 351(.25uR)|+3 367

Linda: I hope Guinness will continue to come down today. What a love he is!!!!

Interesting info on the vets including the "expert". Yeah...we have one of "those" in town, too, who told me I was killing Gracie, that she was in Somogyi, and that she needed to be OFF insulin. I think you are wise to have the tests done..then you know for sure.

Have a great day.
 
Re: 5/28 Guinness AMPS 351(.25uR)|+3 367

Hi Linda,

Love the happy black kitty - can't beat the cuddle time. Good luck with the tests - will be good to have answer, one way or the other. I hate seeing such high numbers - but then you look at the cat and they are happy and purry, so all is OK then. Hope you don't have to see the "expert".... :roll: Now, Guiness, come on down from there a little, k?
 
Re: 5/28 Guinness AM351(.25uR)|+3R 367|+6 274(.25uR)|+8(+3R)

OMG! We actually hit a blue today! Look at that! Good boy, good boy!!

AMPS 351(.25uR)
+3R 367
+6 274(.25uR)
+8(+3R) 191
 
Re: 5/28 Guinness AM351(.25uR)|+3R 367|+6 274(.25uR)|+8(+3R)

I was so surprised!! I think I even said, "WOW" out loud!!

Nice Job Guinness & Linda!!
 
Re: 5/28 Guinness AM351(.25uR)|+3R 367|+6 274(.25uR)|+8(+3R)

That's awesome, Linda!!!! So happy Guinness is showing some sign of improvement today!!! Keep it going, Guinness!!! You can do it! :-D :-D
 
Re: 5/28 Guinness +8(+3R)191|PMPS 314 Dose Increase

AMPS 351(.25uR)
+3R 367
+6 274(.25uR)
+8(+3R) 191
PMPS 314 - 8 units Lantus

Had to think long and hard about my decision to increase his dose tonight considering we hit that 191, but I feel without the R and just with the 7.5u Lantus he would still be in upper pink territory, maybe red. Sooooo, I decided to up his dose to 8 units Lantus and skip the R tonight. I will test him at +4ish and +6 or 7ish and then decide if I want to give him a little .1u of R to keep him off that red floor. I'm guessing after the 191, we will see a bounce tonight or tomorrow. I'm hoping to lessen the "sproing" with a little of the R.

He's been such a lovey-dovey cat all day too. I even went out and got him some turkey and chicken for making food and some beef tips for special testing treats. Good Boy Guinny!
 
Re: 5/28 Guinness +8(+3R)191|PMPS 314 Dose Increase

OMG LINDA!! He hit blue today!!! HOORAY FOR GUINNESS!! Now that just totally made my day, i'm so happy for you. Even though he bounced back to pink its still a great thing.

Enjoy your lovey dovey kitty and have a good evening.
 
Re: 5/28 Guinness +8(+3R)191|PMPS 314 Dose Increase

If, in fact, Guinness is insulin resistant (IAA), then a dose increase may help to punch through the antibodies.

(I think I suggested this test a few weeks ago. Let me know if you want the links.)
 
Re: 5/28 Guinness +8(+3R)191|PMPS 314 Dose Increase

WAY TO GO GUINNESS!!! ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile Blue!! That is very very cool Linda.. Guinness is trying real hard for his mommy. Good luck with the dosecrease. I sure hope that's the magic number for your boy.. He is very handsome and that's neat that he likes to be your friend while you type..
I hope you have a good evening.
 
Re: 5/28 Guinness +8(+3R)191|PMPS 314|+4 422

...aaand we're back! 422! Just can't stay away from those high floor can you boy?

Question: should I give R now, even though he maybe hasn't nadired yet or wait until +6 or +7? If yes, what unit R do you suggest?

Sienne, I have the links and have passed them on to my vet. It's just a matter of getting an appointment set to go down to her office for the draw. She seems to think because he is responding to the R, he probably isn't insulin resistant.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top