5/28, Falafel - D-Mannose?

thornmallow__

Active Member
Previous: 4/24, Falafel, AMPS 103 +3.75 41 +4 37 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

SS is not up to date, I tested AMPS and +2 this morning but now I'm at work and don't remember what they were. I think AMPS was around 211. IDK what's going on with the BGs right now, maybe the reduction failed? Going to hold this dose til I can do a full curve this weekend, especially since we had a recent FS.

Falafel finished a month-long round of Zeniquin (12.5mg) on 5/9. Last week we went in for a urinalysis and updated blood work. Vet told me today she is confirmed to be at stage 2 for CKD, other blood work is looking great (no white blood cells in urine, for ex.) but that the urinalysis still shows bacteria - no e. coli but something starting with "ana" which she said is rarer and typical for diabetic cats to have these rarer bacteria present in their urine. She consulted with an IM vet and they suggested regularly monitoring Falafel's urine cultures to see if they can trend the urinalyses, or something along those lines. Essentially, since she's not showing clinical signs for UTI, vet wants to wait before prescribing doxycycline (I think that was the AB mentioned).

ANYWAY, on to my question - I asked vet if there are any supplements I can give in the meantime, and she mentioned D-Mannose. I did some quick research, and it looks like this is suited to getting rid of e. coli rather than this other bacteria that Falafel still has growing on the culture...

1. Would you still give your cat D-Mannose in this case since the e. coli is gone? I'm leaning twds yes.
2. Any specific brands that you like? I found this one on Chewy which looks good...

As an aside. OMG. I'm a little stressed. The urinalysis runs about $600 each time. Going back in about 3 weeks to retest. I might have to space these out more than she asked (vet wants every 2 weeks!!) since I am also still paying off the hospital stay from the DKA. I'm just not going to think too hard about bills for now :p:nailbiting:
 
Hi Z I can't help you out about the D-Mannnose but if Falafel has stage 2 kidney disease the Fancy Feast is too high in phosphorus.
Tyler's brother had kidney disease.
if you tap on this link and look at post #32 I listed some Weruva pates for another member that's low carb/ low phosphorus.
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-member-11-8-and-i-am-tired.283363/#post-3124085
I will do some research on this. Falafel is so picky and FF is the only one she’ll touch (I’ve tried phasing in a few different “better” brands so far). I will come back with questions later!!
 
other blood work is looking great (no white blood cells in urine, for ex.) but that the urinalysis still shows bacteria - no e. coli but something starting with "ana" which she said is rarer and typical for diabetic cats to have these rarer bacteria present in their urine. She consulted with an IM vet and they suggested regularly monitoring Falafel's urine cultures to see if they can trend the urinalyses, or something along those lines. Essentially, since she's not showing clinical signs for UTI, vet wants to wait before prescribing doxycycline (I think that was the AB mentioned).

Are you talking about this anaplasmosis ? Not that I know anything about I googled it, does Falafel ever go outside?
https://wagwalking.com/cat/condition/anaplasmosis

They do mention doxycycline in this article
https://www.petmd.com/cat/conditions/infectious-parasitic/anaplasmosis-cats

@thornmallow__
 
Last edited:
I've heard that the latest on treating UTI's is to only give antibiotics if it's a symptomatic UTI. Maybe you can spread out the urine cultures to when she's showing symptoms? Yikes on the price!
 
Are you talking about this anaplasmosis ? Not that I know anything about I googled it, does Falafel ever go outside?
https://wagwalking.com/cat/condition/anaplasmosis

They do mention doxycycline in this article
https://www.petmd.com/cat/conditions/infectious-parasitic/anaplasmosis-cats

@thornmallow__

Falafel NEVER goes outside. Maybe once or twice in a year she will venture out to our front porch lol. But she sniffs around and runs back inside after max ~15 seconds.

I don’t think the vet said anaplasmosis… it sounded like “anaerobic” or something with a hard K sound. She said it’s a rarer bacteria that specifically causes UTIs. Hoping this rings a bell for anybody? I am also following up tomorrow to see if she can send me the name.

I've heard that the latest on treating UTI's is to only give antibiotics if it's a symptomatic UTI. Maybe you can spread out the urine cultures to when she's showing symptoms? Yikes on the price!

Yes I will try to spread them out! I’m glad you have heard something similar. I’m at the point where I don’t trust any vets unless it’s corroborated by someone on here lol. I also didn’t want to put her through another round of medicine - all told she’s been on some type of antibiotics for almost 2 months!
 
Falafel NEVER goes outside. Maybe once or twice in a year she will venture out to our front porch lol. But she sniffs around and runs back inside after max ~15 seconds.

I don’t think the vet said anaplasmosis… it sounded like “anaerobic” or something with a hard K sound. She said it’s a rarer bacteria that specifically causes UTIs. Hoping this rings a bell for anybody? I am also following up tomorrow to see if she can send me the name.
OK so let's forget about that one then :cat:
 
Anaerobic bacteria are a class of bacteria, not a specific type of bacteria. They are a type that do not require oxygen for growth.

E. coli is an aerobic bacteria (requires oxygen), the kind that d-mannose primarily works on.
 
Hi Z I can't help you out about the D-Mannnose but if Falafel has stage 2 kidney disease the Fancy Feast is too high in phosphorus.
Tyler's brother had kidney disease.
if you tap on this link and look at post #32 I listed some Weruva pates for another member that's low carb/ low phosphorus.
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-member-11-8-and-i-am-tired.283363/#post-3124085
I just ordered some Weruva pate and the D-mannase I linked in post 1.

Anaerobic bacteria are a class of bacteria, not a specific type of bacteria. They are a type that do not require oxygen for growth.

E. coli is an aerobic bacteria (requires oxygen), the kind that d-mannose primarily works on.
Yes I know - I was thinking the vet had mentioned the specific bacteria rather than the type but maybe she just said anaerobic. I will find out more and report back tomorrow.

I booked the next urine culture for 3 weeks out but now I’m reconsidering…
 
I think I’d double check the price of the urine culture. That sounds a bit high (a lot high actually). Is that just the culture cost or does it also include the office call/exam? I know vet prices have skyrocketed but still…
 
Back
Top