5/27 Timber PMPS 190; +3 138

Status
Not open for further replies.

katlady1974

Member Since 2013
what the heck is he doing?? I gave him a lowered dose of 1u lastnight because he was low at PMPS and i couldn't delay it. now this morning he's even lower! i guess it's still the reserve insulin in his system (forget the term for that!). but at any rate, i'm on my way to work and won't be home all day so i'm not taking the chance- this morning was only 86 and i'm not shooting at that number and then leaving him alone for 8 hours! :shock:

hope all is well with everyone! have a great day! :-D :-D :-D
 
Re: 5/27 Timber AMBG 86- no shot

I don't blame you for skipping the shot this morning. I hope Timber surfs safely while you're at work.

One thing that has helped me with Furball is getting a test as soon as I get up in the morning. That way when I get her AMPS test I can tell if she is rising or falling. I don't know if it is possible for you to do that, but it is something you may want to consider.
 
Re: 5/27 Timber AMBG 86- no shot

yes, that is a good idea! problem is i'm not a morning person AT ALL and i'm usually giving his shot as i come downstairs from taking my shower! :lol:

either way, i wouldn't feel good about shooting him at that number when i'm not home all day- even if that was a rising number nailbite_smile
 
Re: 5/27 Timber AMBG 86- no shot

Hi Maria - you did the right thing - you didn't have enough data to make a confident decision and you couldn't be around today to test. Last night looks like the first time you've shot a green, and yes, Timber looks like he is dumping some "shed" and showing you lower numbers for a cycle or two after the reduction. Totally normal! :-D

Carla has a good suggestion with the earlier morning shot. Maybe this will sound backwards, but are you able to get a +10 (2 hours before AM shot time) rather than just an hour before? A +10 is also a good value to see if a cat is rising/falling/surfing, and you would still have 2 hours left to sleep some more. Just a thought, although getting a nadir in there would be very helpful as well.

Regardless, Timber is looking very good after only a few weeks on insulin. He's coming down the dosing scale. If you are able to really hunker down and do as much testing as you can, so you have the data and experience shooting numbers like today's 86, it will keep Timber's pancreas in normal BG value longer and promote healing. It will also allow you to be consistent with the amount of insulin you give cycle-to-cycle. I'm no expert, but Timber's SS looks promising.
 
Re: 5/27 Timber AMBG 86- no shot

i get what you're saying, and I want to do what's best for him- but mornings are impossible for me. if i get up to do a +10 i won't get back to sleep and then i'll be tired and cranky all day. even on weekends i find i can't get back to sleep after getting up to test him. i usually try and get a +10 in the evening before his PMPS to get an idea of his trends. But this morning was a total surprise! :shock:
 
Re: 5/27 Timber AMBG 86- no shot

I'm not a morning person either! If you could perhaps get a test before you shower, you could then get your usual AMPS and have a way of knowing if numbers are heading up or down. At least for me, once I get into a routine, even if I'm comatose, I'm pretty good at sticking with it.

I really want to encourage you to start thinking about shooting lower numbers. Timber's BG numbers are looking nothing short of wonderful. I'd hate to see him lose this momentum. I know it's a balancing act between his being safe when you can't be home to test and giving a shot. There aren't easy answers here.
 
Re: 5/27 Timber AMBG 86- no shot

I am hard to get up too... much prefer sleeping.
When we first started with insulin, I was so determined to keep my schedule even though my DH got up every day at 545 am :shock:
And it finally dawned on me that it would be better all around if I would just adapt.... and get up when he did.
Otherwise, he fed the cat and it was 2 hours or less before her shot time which wasn't helping her numbers.

Once I changed, so many things got better. I just had to think outside the box I created. I was able to set up a much better schedule with the new
time. I often went back to bed for an hour after her shot or just laid on the couch with her to get a little more sleep.

Sometimes you just have to brainstorm to find the right pattern.
 
Re: 5/27 Timber AMBG 86- no shot

well, i'll be able to do it for the next 2 days for sure- got a call from my dayhome that my youngest was sick. took her to the doc and it's strep! :o :shock: :cry:

i'll see if i can get into a routine of getting up earlier. but, at 39 years old, i've tried many times and my body just hits snooze on the clock without me even waking up- for like an hour! :shock: it's sad, but true :sad:
 
Re: 5/27 Timber PMPS 190

i'm amazed to see that Timber is still in the blue (albeit the high end) after no morning shot! we'll see how he goes from here! :dizcat
 
He may start heading up as the cycle continues because he used up some of his shed, which is a reason his values stayed good even though you skipped a shot. So you may get higher values at AMPS.

I did what Rhiannon did. I just made a regular schedule, based on when Leo needed to be tested (he had an earlier nadir, or would dip quickly if he was going to dip) and I just set all the alarms and learned to get up and test like a zombie and go back to sleep. "Sleep testing" someone called it. :lol: It got to be routine, and I was more tired than normal, but it's what I wanted to get Leo OTJ. It gets easier if you have a set schedule for testing so you don't have to debate with yourself about getting up. It's almost easier - it would take me 7 minutes to test in the night. Good luck with the string of nice numbers!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top