5/27 larry amps 317 pmps 291

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 5/27 larry amps 317

Good morning Larry and Pam!

Larry's spreadsheet shows a good stretch of yellows - down from the purple numbers.

Get back to the sundeck Larry until we can see some more mid-cycle numbers. This will tell us if you are going to settle on 1unit or vie for a slight increase.
 
Re: 5/27 larry amps 317

thanks robin!
i look forward to the new strips coming. i didnt wanna run out so being careful. i have been so overwhelmed, exhausted, and stressed that i got behind on everything, and got low on strips.

again, is it ok that his shot fluctuates? between bubbles, him jumping, and me shaking and all, i dont think he gets a consistent 1U. i dont want to keep squirting out insulin and wasting it so whatever i get on the 2nd or 3rd try i try to use that. not always a perfect 1U. if he varies between .5 and 1u some, will it hurt him? anything bad? thanks.
 
Re: 5/27 larry amps 317

If he varies slightly like 1.1 or .95 not so much but there is a huge difference between .5 & 1u. As far as anything bad happening that depends on how he reacts to insulin. If he is suppose to get 1 and only gets .5 he's only getting half a dose and will be higher. If he suppose to get 1 and gets 1.5 he could hypo. Insulin is a very powerful hormone and once you get under .5u a drop one way or the other can have a huge impact.

What I do is I always over draw by one unit so I have room to adjust my dose. So to shoot 1u I draw up 2u. Then flick the syringe with the needle pointing up to get the bubbles to the top. Then pull down on the plunger to add air and make one big bubble and then push that out as well as the additional unit of insulin.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 5/27 larry amps 317

thank u mel! i have never gone over the 1U when on 1. i will try that drawing to 2U. that will make the insulin run out fast. so u just waste as much as u use? u use 1U and squirt out a unit? right? thanks.
 
Re: 5/27 larry amps 317

Well not really but kinda. I overdraw by 1u regardless of dose. So if I'm shooting 1.5 I draw up 2.5u, if I'm shooting a .25u I draw to about 1.25 or 1.5 if I'm in a hurry. 1u is really a tiny amount. A pen has 300u in it. I'm shooting 3 at the moment and still getting at least 2 months to a pen. And still having to trash some because its weakened too far to use.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 5/27 larry amps 317

ohhh ok! thanks! helpful to know. i should have done that all along i think.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top