5/27, Jezebel, PMPS 247, +1.5 187, +3 86, +4 53, +5 56

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 5/27, Jezebel, AMPS 136

Wow, Jezebel is looking really good! You had an exciting day yesterday. I saw where you were trying to decide between te two meters, I didn't realize there could be such a big difference in meters. Most here do seem to use the Relion. I'm still using the Alpha Trak. Good luck. I'm sure someone will be along to advise. I'm a newbie. Have a nice day.
 
Re: 5/27, Jezebel, AMPS 136

Good morning Debie and Jez. Just checking in to see how she is this morning. She is looking great. Can you catch a +1 or +2 before you go to work? That can give you an idea as to how this cycle may go. Have a great day!!!! :thumbup
 
Re: 5/27, Jezebel, AMPS 136, +1 121, +2 89

Thanks! She seems to be doing great!
AMPS 136
1 u Lantus
+1 121
+2 89

Will check again at +3.

Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/27, Jezebel, AMPS 136, +1 121, +2 89

:mrgreen: Looks like a repeat of yesterday. Nice! Do you go work soon?
 
Re: 5/27, Jezebel, AMPS 136, +1 121, +2 89

I can get a +3 and most likely a +4 before I have to go in. After last night...I want to keep a close eye on her.

Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/27, Jezebel, AMPS 136, +1 121, +2 89

Understood. As long as you leave out plenty of LC food she should be good. Can't wait to see her +3. ;-)
 
Re: 5/27, Jezebel, AMPS 136, +1 121, +2 89, +3 72

AMPS 136
1 u Lantus
+1 121
+2 89
+3 72

I'll get a +4 before I go in to work. I will leave LC food out for her. She hasn't quite 'warmed up to' the auto feeder.

Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/27, Jezebel, AMPS 136, +1 121, +2 89, +3 72

Yep she is doing very well. You can feed her some LC now to soften the drop a little. And when at work you know from last night that she will feed herself if she goes too low. You had said she was hungry when in the 50's. That a good sign. All is well here. Although I know you will worry....we always worry about our babies when we are away. She will be good. Hope you have a great day at tbp. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: See you in the PM!!
 
Re: 5/27, Jezebel, AMPS 136, +1 121, +2 89, +3 72, +4 54

Well, I decided to hang around and get a +4 and OH MY

AMPS 136
1 u Lantus
+1 121
+2 89
+3 72
+4 54

Gave her some LC and check again at +4.5.
Should I lower her Lantus dose this evening?

Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/27, Jezebel, AMPS 136, +1 121, +3 72, +4 54 ADVICE?

Ew Wee!!! Jez my dear. This is good. If she drops below 50 you will decrease her 1U dose to 0.75. Yes please feed some LC (a couple tsp) and test again in 30. Post here.
 
Re: 5/27, Jezebel, AMPS 136, +3 72, +4 54, +4.5 65 Dose question

AMPS 136
1 u Lantus
+1 121
+2 89
+3 72
+4 54
+4.5 65

Headed in the right direction. will check in 30 and repost.

Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/27, Jezebel, AMPS 136, +3 72, +4 54, +4.5 65 Dose question

Great job!!! Looks like Jezebel is working hard on her first dosecrease. Generally with newbies the first time they drop <50 we decrease their dose by 0.25U the next cycle. Since she is on her way up.........we will have to see in the next day or so. If you around tonight you might see some action. She is doing very well with not bouncing too. *antijinx*
 
Re: 5/27, Jezebel, AMPS 136, +3 72, +4 54, +4.5 65

She is not going to the food bowl when she gets low. I bring it to her, so don't know how low she would go without 'intervention'.
Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/27, Jezebel, AMPS 136, +3 72, +4 54, +4.5 65

Test her again in 30 and if she is still going up you should be okay to leave. If you are worried you can mix some LC and MC and leave out when you leave.

ETA - remember 54 is not too low. Usually in the 40's....
 
Re: 5/27, Jezebel, AMPS 136, +3 72, +4 54, +4.5 65

It's hard to tell when her nadir is when she was higher. It looks as though it may be around +6 or +7. So she should be okay as long as you see her not dropping the next test. Ok? You are doing well. This is what we want to see.
 
Re: 5/27, Jezebel, AMPS 136, +3 72, +4 54, +4.5 65, +5 71

AMPS 136
1 u Lantus
+1 121
+2 89
+3 72
+4 54
+4.5 65
+5 71

Okay...now I can go to work! Thanks everybody for the hand holding and encouragement!

Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/27, Jezebel, AMPS 136, +3 72, +4 54, +5 71, +10 183

AMPS 136
1 u Lantus
+1 121
+2 89
+3 72
+4 54
+4.5 65
+5 71
+10 183

PMPS in 1 1/2 hours.....

Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/27, Jezebel, AMPS 136, +4 54, +5 71, +10 183, PMPS 247

AMPS 136
1 u Lantus
+1 121
+2 89
+3 72
+4 54
+4.5 65
+5 71
+10 183
PMPS 247 ?????

Is this a 'bounce'?

Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/27, Jezebel, AMPS 136, +4 54, +10 183, PMPS 247 Normal???

Looks like one to me! That's ok; Jez will get more used to the nicer numbers and stick around there longer.
As for the foods, if someone brought ME all my foods, why would I get up to get any?
I am sure if you are not there, Jez will eat just fine.
 
Re: 5/27, Jezebel, AMPS 136, +4 54, +10 183, PMPS 247 Normal???

What numbers should I expect to see with a bounce? Do they 'crash and burn'?

Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/27, Jezebel, AMPS 136, +4 54, +10 183, PMPS 247 Normal???

Looks like bounce indeed... and it's normal.

The liver has forgotten that a green number is normal and as such the liver kicks in and 'dumps' sugar into the system to bring the levels up - thinking it's an emergency situation. Looks at Tizon's SS if you wish, you'll see the bounce. Jezebel's liver isn't too bouncy. See the string of blues and greens for more than 24 hours in a row and no more pink... maybe yellow is the next step.... maybe blue... until such point as it's green all the way - Kathy and Kitty is a very good example of that.

I used to think that Tizon would die in his bed because he was too lazy to get out of bed. Low 40s snapped him right out of his laziness! :lol: Lots of cats walk around in the 50s and 60s normally... it's our bean-reference that's also a little off.

Jezebel is reacting very very well to lantus and that's a great thing... except that it makes the learning curve of the caregiver a little steeper.

Does that help?
 
Re: 5/27, Jezebel, AMPS 136, +4 54, +10 183, PMPS 247 Normal???

It does..thank you Soooooo much.
I'll check her at +2.
WIll it drop as rapidly as it rose?

Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/27, Jezebel, AMPS 136, +4 54, +10 183, PMPS 247 Normal???

Unfortunately.... every cat is different... :roll: No telling in advance.... sorry!
 
Re: 5/27, Jezebel, AMPS 136, +4 54, +10 183, PMPS 247 Normal???

And that's the reason it's more important to get those tests in and you will see what Jez does.
Some cats are not huge bouncers or they clear them quickly. Once you know what to expect from Jez, you will almost be able to predict what to expect.
Jez will get used to the lower numbers and not bounce so much.
One of these days, you will see Jez drop down nicely and stay there!
Keep an eye on how Jez reacts as the different numbers too.
 
Re: 5/27, Jezebel, AMPS 136, +4 54, +10 183, PMPS 247 Normal???

It looks more like a bouncette to me! When there's a bounce/rebound, the liver dumps glucose and counter-regulatory hormones into the blood. It can take up to 72 hrs for the hormones to clear. Like Gayle and Helene noted, every cat responds differently. Hopefully, given how well Jezebel is doing, she'll clear this blip quickly.
 
Re: 5/27, Jezebel, AMPS 136, +4 54, +10 183, PMPS 247 Normal???

Just checked her...
AMPS 136
1 u Lantus
+1 121
+2 89
+3 72
+4 54
+4.5 65
+5 71
+10 183
PMPS 247

+1.5 187 so we're dropping. Will check her again in an hour or should I check sooner?

Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/27, Jezebel, AMPS 136, +4 54, +10 183, PMPS 247, +1.5 187

This is going to sound kind of stupid, but what is LG and MG?
 
Re: 5/27, Jezebel, AMPS 136, +4 54, +10 183, PMPS 247, +1.5 187

An hour is fine. You and Jez are doing well. That was a little bounce but she looks to be clearing it already. Let's see how the +2 looks. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/27, Jezebel, AMPS 136, +4 54, +10 183, PMPS 247, +1.5 187

I think it's LC and MC and HC.....low carb, medium carb, high carb...

I think.....

Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/27, Jezebel, AMPS 136, +4 54, +10 183, PMPS 247, +1.5 187

maggie&curly said:
This is going to sound kind of stupid, but what is LG and MG?

Maggie - do you mean LC and MC? It's short for low carb and medium carb food. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/27, Jezebel, AMPS 136, +4 54, +10 183, PMPS 247, +1.5 187

AMPS 136
1 u Lantus
+1 121
+2 89
+3 72
+4 54
+4.5 65
+5 71
+10 183
PMPS 247

+1.5 187
+2 145

She's hungry.....should I give her some LC food?

Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/27, Jezebel, AMPS 136, +4 54, +10 183, PMPS 247, +1.5 187

Oh yes, you don't have to refrain from giving her food. If she is hungry let her eat. ;-)
 
Re: 5/27, Jezebel, AMPS 136, +54, PMPS 247, +1.5 187, +3 86

AMPS 136
1 u Lantus
+1 121
+2 89
+3 72
+4 54
+4.5 65
+5 71
+10 183
PMPS 247

+1.5 187
+2 145
+3 86 Giving her some LC food

Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/27, Jezebel, AMPS 136, +54, PMPS 247, +1.5 187, +3 86

Boy she clears a bounce fast! As you did last night : lather, rinse, repeat (feed a little and test). She isn't playing around. Hehe. I'm on my phone so I can't use the cute little emoticons.
 
Re: 5/27, Jezebel, AMPS 136, +54, PMPS 247, +1.5 187, +3 86

Okay...back in 1/2 hour. She ate about 1 1/2 tsp....of LC.

Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/27, Jezebel, AMPS 136, +54, PMPS 247, +1.5 187, +3 86

She is still in a very safe range. You can wait one hour to test next.
 
Re: 5/27, Jezebel, PMPS 247, +1.5 187, +3 86, +5 53

AMPS 136
1 u Lantus
+1 121
+2 89
+3 72
+4 54
+4.5 65
+5 71
+10 183
PMPS 247
+1.5 187
+2 145
+3 86 gave 2 tsp LC
+4 53

Should I feed her again or wait and see what happens??

Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/27, Jezebel, PMPS 247, +1.5 187, +3 86, +4 53

I would feed a little now. Do you have MC and HC food? Not that you need it right now but just checking.
 
Re: 5/27, Jezebel, PMPS 247, +1.5 187, +3 86, +4 53

I have a FF Grilled, some wellness dry, and some Lil Cesar dog food (she likes to steal from the dog food bowl).
Will give her some more LC now.

Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/27, Jezebel, PMPS 247, +1.5 187, +3 86, +4 53

I also have some Kitty greenies. Will check back in at +5 (aka 11 pm EST).
Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/27, Jezebel, PMPS 247, +1.5 187, +3 86, +4 53

If I were you I would stock up on some wet food with gravy. You can look at Janet and Binky's food list for canned food with 18% carbs. You don't need to feed the HC until the numbers are under 50 but it is good to have on hand. Dry food takes longer to get into the system and longer to leave. I would stay away from the dry if possible.
 
Re: 5/27, Jezebel, PMPS 247, +1.5 187, +3 86, +4 53

If she drops I'll give he some of the FF Grilled....it looks like it has gravy...
Debie 7 Jez
 
AMPS 136
1 u Lantus
+1 121
+2 89
+3 72
+4 54
+4.5 65
+5 71
+10 183
PMPS 247
+1.5 187
+2 145
+3 86 gave 2 tsp LC
+4 53
+5 56

Should I wait to feed again and check in an hour?

Debie & Jez
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top