Re: 5/27 FAX AMPS 300.6 +3 324 +6 356
meters have a 20% variance, so you are basically seeing the same number, although perhaps slightly up. if you test a blood sample and immediately put a new strip in and test the same sample, you might still get different numbers. what is most important is the overall trending - and even with variations you can see that. you might test fax in another hour and see if it's still around the same or has moved. that's one of the reasons i usually get a spot check in the 2nd half of the cycle (between +6 and +12) because occasionally he's been lower there - and i'm surprised!
cats do funny things - one of the greatest things that helped me was when i really *got* it that insulin is a hormone. think pms, slamming doors, adolescence, tears . . . it's not an exact thing at all.
before i really got the ramifications of that, i thought it would be a math equation like "punkin + xunits of insulin = perfect blood glucose." nope. not like that. the nadir (lowest point) moves around sometimes and you have no idea why. well, maybe someone more expert than me understands why, but i have no idea. sometimes they go up instead of down at the mid-point. you just scratch your head and stay the course.
i do know that there are 2 times when a cat's numbers go up. one we call a "bounce" when the cat's blood sugar goes low enough that the liver puts out counter-regulatory hormones that act like sugar and shoot the BG up. that can last up to 72 hours. the number that is "low" is whatever the cat's body thinks is lower than what has been "normal."
the second time it goes up is when we increase doses. it would make sense that more insulin would make the numbers go down, right? wrong. it does eventually, but first you go through "New Dose Wonkiness" where the numbers go up. that's why it's so important to not decide too soon to increase a dose - because most every time you increase you have a few days of going up, so before you increase to a new dose, make sure the NDW and/or bounce from any previous days have cleared.
make sense? if not, it will later as you go through it with fax. for now, just stay the course. keep his dose the same and keep collecting data. that will tell you how fax responds to all of this and will help you anticipate/understand what he does in the future.
how's the change-over on the diet going?