5/27 Ann & Maggie PMPS 121 Dental/ Question on Dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

Very Active Member
if you're withholding food that early, you might want to give a half dose or no dose of insulin. She won't be able to do her normal snacking to keep her numbers up
.

Hi Sienne,
I was going to ask about her pm dose tonight. I give her insulin at 6 pm, so I would only have two hours til I stop feeding unless the Vet Tech was incorrect and it's 11 oor 12 pm! Her numbers are looking really good. but with no food tomorrow I'm worried about her going too low. I will do a bg check right before I leave. I am dopping her off 7:30 am tomorrow.

I'm up since 1:30 am. The birds are really singing/chirping right outside my patio. I feel a nap coming on soon. :YMSIGH:

Yesterday
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=15515
 
Re: 5/27 Ann & Maggie +8 95

Good luck with the dental tomorrow. I hope they do it first thing in the morning, so she can be home early :-D
 
Re: 5/27 Ann & Maggie +8 95AMPS 108

Thanks Miriam and Dyana. I hope they can do it early, too. I have a feeling they won't have many surgeries, as it's the start of Memorial Day weekend, which I totally forgot.
 
Re: 5/27 Ann & Maggie AMPS 108 - Dental Tomorrow!

Pedro wants Maggie to know how much fun he had with her at the party. He said to tell her that the dental really isn't so bad - cept the part where they won't let you eat. Maybe she can have a doggie bag from the Full moon party?
 
Re: 5/27 Ann & Maggie AMPS 108 - Dental Tomorrow!

Pedro wants Maggie to know how much fun he had with her at the party. He said to tell her that the dental really isn't so bad - cept the part where they won't let you eat. Maybe she can have a doggie bag from the Full moon party?

Maggie really enjoyed getting to know Pedro, too, and had a great time! Thank you Pedro from Maggie for suggesting a doggie bag at the Full Moon. That will be the hard thing with no eating and her sad eyes wondering why I'm starving her :( Oh well, she will feel so much better after it's all over, and she can have her doggie bag!
 
Re: 5/27 Ann & Maggie AMPS 108 - Dental Tomorrow!

I HATE the night before the dental....that no eating is a KILLER!!! They look at you and cannot understand why you aren't feeding them...sooooo sad...I hate it... Next time I might just get a motel room for the night and leave them alone...only kidding...
Good luck tomorrow Ann & Maggie....this is going to be so much better after it's over with...Maggie will feel so much better..you'll see. It is hard on us Beans...keep taking deep breaths...HUGS!
 
Re: 5/27 Ann & Maggie =6 138 - Dental Tomorrow!

Thanks Hillary, PeterDevonMocha and Pat for the Good Luck wishes, Yes, it is a killer, as the mornings are my favorite when she wakes me up and wants to eat and play.
 
Re: 5/27 Ann & Maggie +6 138 - Dental Tomorrow!

Ann,

Good luck with Maggies dental tomorrow. I now its so hard to look into their little faces and say no. They don't understand why. But it will be worth it.

OT Yes Ann it was in the 90's over here for two days. I'm just not used to that yet. I was pretty miserable at night. Don't have my AC in yet. It was quiet on the homefront, for all the pets were pretty hot too. So there was a lot of laying around going on.

We had a storm last night and today is beautiful. 77 sunny and a lot less humidity. :smile: I can see why your not looking forward to the dog days of summer.

Have a nice night.

jan and sara
 
Re: 5/27 Ann & Maggie +6 138 - Dental Tomorrow!

Thank you Jan and Sara. I just found out no food after 9 pm, so I will make sure she gets her snacks tonight. Yes, I remember those hot muggy days when I lived on the east coast many years ago. It is hard on the pets, too. I hope your nice, sunny weather continues for the weekend,
 
Re: 5/27 Ann & Maggie +6 138 - Dental Tomorrow!

I'm at tbp and didn't see your note until now. I'd call the vet's office and speak to the vet vs. the tech. The tech does not appear to be all that knowledgeable and certainly not about Lantus. You need to know when they have the dental scheduled and how many hours without food they expect Maggie to go. I'd point out that the food issue is relevant to her insulin tonight and if her numbers drop because they are telling you to withhold food, you're going to have to feed her to get her numbers to come up. So basically, unless they don't want you to give insulin tonight, you need better information.
 
Re: 5/27 Ann & Maggie +6 138 - Dental Tomorrow!

I'm at tbp and didn't see your note until now. I'd call the vet's office and speak to the vet vs. the tech. The tech does not appear to be all that knowledgeable and certainly not about Lantus. You need to know when they have the dental scheduled and how many hours without food they expect Maggie to go. I'd point out that the food issue is relevant to her insulin tonight and if her numbers drop because they are telling you to withhold food, you're going to have to feed her to get her numbers to come up. So basically, unless they don't want you to give insulin tonight, you need better information.

Her shot is at 6 pm, and you mentioned a half unit or no insulin tonight. I have three hours after her shot. I thought this was standard to start the fast at 9 pm approximately. Did most of you skip the pm dose the night before the dental next day?
 
Re: 5/27 Ann & Maggie +6 138 ; Dental/ Question on Dose

+9 134

Maggie is scheduled for surgery at 8:45 am, so gosh that will be almost 12 hours w/out food! Is this similar to the rest of you regarding the number of hours for the fast?
 
Re: 5/27 Ann & Maggie +6 138 Dental/ Question on Dose

My situation is a little different, as Tizon is currently honeymooning... however, the 12 hours of fasting is what I also got from my vet. I know that some people (who had no food after midnight) shot 1/2 of the normal dose in the AM of the surgery, but with only a couple hours of food at night... I'm really hesitant to say shoot anything.... At the most, and please do not take my opinion as the only opinion, I would say to shoot a BCS dose of 0.25U tonight and nothin tomorrow. It's not like Maggie is on a high dose to start with and she's not a diver either... that I can see. You can also skip both shots if you'd prefer.... Let's wait and see if you have more opinions ok?
 
Re: 5/27 Ann & Maggie +6 138 Dental/ Question on Dose

Hi Helene,
Thanks, that is exactly what I was thinking - .25 units for her pm shot ,and I was already planning on no shot tomorrow. I can give her some dry DM Purina later, and it raises her bg a little, not much, and she likes the food. No, she's not a diver. This sounds like a good plan to me. I'll see if others agree. She's a grazer, so I'll give her small meals up til 9 pm.
 
Re: 5/27 Ann & Maggie +6 138 Dental/ Question on Dose

I'm seeing if some of the others will weigh in. I think shooting half tonight and no shot tomorrow sounds fine. I might want to feed at +9 but I think you're already past that. I would make sure to get some PM tests in to make sure Maggie is not dropping too low.

I'm not exactly sure what time Gabby's dental was but it was the first procedure of the day -- probably around 9 or 10 AM. Food was picked up at midnight. Her shot time and food the night before were fine to keep as usual given our schedule. My vet had me skip the AM shot.
 
Re: 5/27 Ann & Maggie +6 138 Dental/ Question on Dose

Ann,
Shadoe's dental was 3/19 if you want to look.
We fasted from midnite, she did get a reduced pm shot and no shot in the am.
I took her in around 8am when they opened and her work was done around 1030am I think.
I took in a wee bit of foods in a container to leave with her and also her meter for them to check her BG before and after the work. They said she was kinda too scared to eat, but she sure ate when I got her home. I just gave her a tiny bit so she would not get sick.
We went with the same reduced dose in the pm but she went low and so we gave no shot the next morn.
 
Re: 5/27 Ann & Maggie +6 138 Dental/ Question on Dose

I think your plan to shoot 0.25 tonight and none tomorrow sounds good. You might want to test a couple of times before midnight, so if she does go low you can feed a little. Then just tell the vet you did that so they can decide if they want to continue with the procedure.
 
Re: 5/27 Ann & Maggie +6 138 Dental/ Question on Dose

Hi,
Thanks Libby, Gayle and Sienne. Her PMPS is 121. I almost think she could go with no pm shot as her numbers are so good today!
 
Okay, I shot barely a .25 unit, and she's eating her Sophisticat. Would it be okay to give her some HC mixed in with her regular food around 8 or 9 pm just to make sure she doesn't go too low?
 
Ann, you did well by shooting low tonite--The reason she gets no shot till she comes home tomorrow is first because of fast--no food so that cat doesnt throw up during procedure, and no shot in am, because the anesthesia lowers the bg, it sort of eats up the sugar, so wait till you get home tomorrow to test & shoot--She will be just fine, Moonie has gone through it twice in 2 yrs & was fine both times--
Wishing you & Maggie an easy dental & hope it goes by quickly--Big Hugs!!
 
You could take in some of the foods she likes to leave at the vet in case they are going to feed her a tsp or something. You don't want them feeding her something weird or bad.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top