5/27/14 Spot pmps 82/ +3 - 58/ +4-38/+4.5-56

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deb & Spot

Member Since 2009
I haven't posted in a while, so I thought I better get my fingers working here and give you guys an update on Mr. Spot.
He is doing well after he lost a tooth. He had a rough time with the Antibiotics....his blood sugars were high and he just didn't feel well. He hated getting the AB's so much.
After the AB's were done, his numbers started to come back down, but then he went back up. I'm thinking he did a bounce since he was up in the 300's and 400's and then dropped down to the 70's. Then he woke me up vomiting clear foamy stuff. Pepcid helped, but he did not want to eat, so he got FF Chicken appetizers and some baby food. Hard poo in the box. He was constipated. He usually gets 1/4 tsp. miralax twice a day to help with this, but sometimes it doesn't work and he needs extra help. Tried to give him pumpkin, but he wouldn't eat it. Gave .5 ml. of bupe also. Then he hit the 500's and still no poop. Mixed some slippery elm bark in his food (1/3 capsule twice that day) and some tuna in hopes to get things moving. I do not use the slippery elm bark often....just on occasion when it seems nothing else is working. I also increased his dose to 1u. The next day he poop and went down to the blues. Unfortunately, his numbers increased again, possibly a bounce from dropping from 500. He is currently on 1u and is in the 200-300 range. I am thinking he is still clearing his bounce. Hopefully he will break it today.

Today he is doing good. He is being a poopy head because he won't eat his food w/o some freeze dried chix added to it. Then he eats it all. He's hanging out next to me now, but spent most of the morning under my bed....I have learned from my mom that this is his new place to hang out during the day. I guess now that it is warmer out he doesn't need his heating mat.
 
Re: 5/27/14 Spot amps 239/ +5 - 296/ +9 -155

Looks like he is starting to clear his bounce!! Yea!!!!
He also made a nice deposit in the litter box this afternoon :-D
 
Re: 5/27/14 Spot pmps 82 - COULD USE ADVISE ON DOSING

WOOHOO, back to the greens. Now, question....I was shooting 1u to help him through the bounce. I am thinking that I should lower the dose back to .75 now that he has cleared it.

Any suggestions? Need to give him his shot within the next half hour.

Thanks!!
 
Re: 5/27/14 Spot pmps 82 - COULD USE ADVISE ON DOSING

If you are up to monitoring tonight, I would shoot the full dose. He hasn't earned a reduction yet.

Bupe can cause constipation. Have you tried babyfood squash. Some kitties will eat it but not pumpkin. Neko is on maintenance bupe and loves her squash. Well, she loves all food. :lol: But the civie likes it too.
 
Re: 5/27/14 Spot pmps 82 - COULD USE ADVISE ON DOSING

He is no longer constipated...third day of poo!
Just not sure if I should continue with the 1u since I was only dosing that because of the bounce.....he has not been normal since his dental...
 
Re: 5/27/14 Spot pmps 82 - COULD USE ADVISE ON DOSING

he definitely looks like he's clearing a bounce. He has a fair amount of momentum going down from that 296 this afternoon too.

couple of thoughts.

even reducing back to 0.75u i think it wouldn't be surprising if you still had low numbers tonight. to completely prevent it, you probably would need to stall and wait til he's rising or skip.

i'm not inclined to reduce in advance most of the time, personally. shooting low can really flatten out the cycle and lower the range of numbers.

i don't see a clear-cut answer here. if you want to avoid low numbers, you would probably want to do the stalling til rising or skip plan. if you don't mind handling low numbers tonight and are equipped with supplies, i'd probably hold the dose and see what happens.

you have a ton of experience, though Deb, and you know Spot best. What do you want to do?
 
Re: 5/27/14 Spot pmps 82 - COULD USE ADVISE ON DOSING

i was writing before your last post and wendy's post.

i think the fact that you were giving a higher dose because of the dental wouldn't change my strategy. you're dosing based upon his blood sugar because his BGs were higher. When that situation changes, then you'll reduce the dose. When he goes below 50, then you'll know he needs less.

does that make sense?
 
Re: 5/27/14 Spot pmps 82 - COULD USE ADVISE ON DOSING

If it were me, I would shoot the regular dose (1.00) or close to it. Maybe, he'll earn a dose reduction tonight.
I wouldn't stall or skip. I would make a decision on dose and shoot, because I know you have lots of experience.
 
Re: 5/27/14 Spot pmps 82 - COULD USE ADVISE ON DOSING

Hi Deb ~O)

Wow - nice green Spot! so.... what did you shoot? the 1.0, or the .75? I'm no dose expert but I would have used his normal dose, not the one used to get through the AB, poo, bounce scenario. I think too I'd wait, or stall for an additional test just to see what he is/was doing. Well, as Julie said - yoyu know Spot best, and have given him awesome care. Whatever you decided to do it is based on "Spot experience" and porbably is the best call.
Good luck!

An Spot - nice slide!
 
Re: 5/27/14 Spot pmps 82 - COULD USE ADVISE ON DOSING

Dyana said:
If it were me, I would shoot the regular dose (1.00) or close to it. Maybe, he'll earn a dose reduction tonight.
I wouldn't stall or skip. I would make a decision on dose and shoot, because I know you have lots of experience.
ditto. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/27/14 Spot pmps 82 - COULD USE ADVISE ON DOSING

ok.....I didn't see everyone's post until it was to late....I decided to shoot .75u. I believe that his numbers were higher because of the bad tooth. Then once that was out, the AB's made them stay high. Then after that the poop problems continued the higher numbers. Then he bounced..... He is now clearing his bounce.

With that in mind.....and I know it's against what you all said.....I decided to go with a lower dose. No, he did not earn the dose crease, but I just do not feel comfortable shooting a whole unit at this lower number with all the above things going on. Plus, I start back to work tomorrow after 10 days off and I really don't want to be up all night worrying about him. 5:30 am comes awfully early.

I may have made the wrong decision, I may have made the right one...we will see.

Thanks for responding. Next time I'll try to wait a bit before making a decision.
 
Re: 5/27/14 Spot pmps 82 - COULD USE ADVISE ON DOSING

Hi Deb,
If you made the wrong decicion you can always go back up to 1 unit. You have to go with what feels right to you.

Surf safe, Spot! The LagoonMeister is on duty and will keep an eye on you.

Ella & Rusty

Thank you for your words of sympathy on the passing of our friend, Jean.
 
Re: 5/27/14 Spot pmps 82 - COULD USE ADVISE ON DOSING

I think one always needs to to with what they feel.is right, based on what they know about their kitty. You can always go back up if need be.
 
Re: 5/27/14 Spot pmps 82/ +3 - 58

Don't think I made the wrong decision, lol. 58 at +3...not to bad of a drop. Gave him some 5% Friskies Special Diet Beef and Chicken. Not time to bring out the FF Gravy lovers just yet!
I have a feeling that I'll be up a nice part of the evening. Hope they take it easy on me tomorrow, but I doubt it....been off for 11 days (thought it was only 10, lol) so I'm sure there is a crap load of work sitting on my desk. And inventory and billing is due.....Yeehaw!!!
 
Re: 5/27/14 Spot pmps 82/ +3 - 58/ +4-38

Oh, pooh, thought the 5% would at least stop him from dropping to low! That is a quick drop....I hope he does not bounce to hard from this one. He will now get a reduction to .5 tomorrow morning. Mom will be home during the day so she can get some spot checks in for me.

Ok, Spot, I'm pulling out the gravy lovers now....1 tsp of gravy only mixed with your 5% turkey and giblets....wish us luck!!!! looks like I'll be up for a while tonight....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top