5/26 Simon PMPS 147 +4 102

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
I'm not sure what is going on with Simon's numbers. I increased his dose from .25 to .50 and ever since, he is posting higher numbers. The best numbers he has had lately is when I went out of town and skipped 2 shots which doesn't make any sense. Do you think something else is going on with him? He seems ok, eats well, uses lb regularly. He is a little more lethargic but it is so hot out, I think that is the reason. He has been throwing up more hairballs, but once again, since it is hot, he is grooming himself alot more, causing more hairballs. He is still scratching at his ears a little so maybe his allergies are still bothering him. Maybe I should take him back to the vet? Any advice is welcome!!

I'm off to work and then I have a doctor appointment later today to try to figure out what is going on with me. It's terrible to get old!

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=44077
 
Re: 5/26 Simon AMPS 157 Dose Question

Sorry, no help here. I just know my civvie kittie's allergies are BAD right now, too. Lots of black gunk in ears. I'm wondering if that's Simon's problem. We give drops twice a week for ours.

Good luck!
 
Re: 5/26 Simon AMPS 157 Dose Question

Good morning.
This is only the 4th cycle on this dose so he may need a few more cycles to show a difference.
His tummy could be bothering him or it could be allergies.....I am not much help am I? :roll:

If he continues to scratch at his ears you may want to have the vet take a look to rule out infection.

I hope you are feeling better too.
 
Re: 5/26 Simon AMPS 157 Dose Question

Hmm no advice here but bumping you up so you can get some eyes on this.

Hope Simon's numbers improve.
Have a good doctor visit
 
Re: 5/26 Simon AMPS 157 Dose Question

Hi Georgia, good luck at the doctor for yourself. I hope everything is okay and nothing serious. A call to the Vet might help with your concerns about Simon so you don't worry all day. Heat does bother the kitties and hairballs. The Vet might say bring him for a check-up. What Miriam said about staying on the dose and a few more cycles makes sense. Keep us posted.
 
Re: 5/26 Simon AMPS 157 Dose Question

I know when Maverick was having wierd numbers it was after upping his insulin too to get him back in the greens but he went up.

I wonder what happens if you give a cat that doesn't need insulin, insulin. Do they go hypo? Or does their liver compensate for unneeded insulin?
 
Re: 5/26 Simon AMPS 157 Dose Question

I agree with Miriam, give the dose a couple more cycles.

If you do check with the vet and there's no infection, and you are pretty sure it's allergy related, maybe you could ask him about trying an antihistimine? I use the generic Chlortrimeton with Tinkles for allergies...it works great, no side effects. I would not try it without talking to the vet first though.
 
Re: 5/26 Simon AMPS 157 Dose Question

Hi guys .. no dose advice here .. I wish that our kitties could just tell us how their feeling, wouldn't that make everything so much easier? I'm sure you'll get it figured out, youre such a good bean .. And yes, take care of yourself too .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 5/26 Simon AMPS 157 Dose Question

Thanks for all your great advice. Karrie, I also wondered about your same question about the insulin. It is just so strange that when I stopped giving him the insulin for two times, Simon's bg numbers were so good and once I started again, they went up. Probably just a coincidence.

I am definitely going to call my vet and see if I should bring Simon in for a check-up. I'll ask about the antihistimine. The ear drops I have for Simon don't seem to do anything.

I'm off to the doctor's. Trying to decide how best to treat these horrible daily headaches. I have been avoiding heavy duty meds but I think I am going to have to break down and try it. I just am nervous about all the side effects.

Thanks again!
 
Re: 5/26 Simon AMPS 157 +7 128

Or maybe it was the shed draining and it has to be refilled. ohmygod_smile Forgot about that option ;)

I'm sorry about your headaches, wishing you get answers and relief soon. I have one or two evil days a month and that is too much for me. I shouldn't complain. I am lucky. My fear is that they will become more frequent. I don't know how you and others stay functional while fighting them. Big hugs your way.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top