5/26 Pumbaa AMPS/437 +4/270 +7/201 PMPS/376

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pumbaa

Member Since 2012
Holy moly...where did that number come from?

I raised Pumbaa's dose last night to 2.0U, tested him at +4 and he wasn't dropping dramatically, so I went to bed. Some time during the night, he must have had quite a low number to get a 437 this morning.

But, he's very active and playful this morning, so all is good!

Suze

**********************

UPDATE: At least Pumbaa made it down into yellow today after his dose increase last night. I was hoping for better numbers. I'm tired of seeing red and pink...I want only yellow, blue and green on his SS from now on!

I'm trying to concentrate on the positives:
• His appetite is very good and he's put on some weight since his diagnosis, but he's more sleek and muscular, and not flabby like he was when he was getting dry food.

• His activity level is excellent. I love having my little obnoxious juvenile delinquent back!

• I think he's handling the wide range of BG numbers better than he used to. I don't see him going off and hiding as much.

• He has been such a good boy during all of the ear pricks and injections, I am simply amazed. I know cats aren't supposed to feel when we prick their ears, but Pumbaa always jumps, and I'm manually pricking his ears, not using a device that makes a sound. I also use Neosporin Pain Relief ahead of time, and a rice sock, but he still jumps/makes a noise during the prick. I have been using 30 gauge lancets lately, and that hasn't changed his reaction. But, more often than not, he purrs throughout the testing. And this is the cat who bit me, hard, at the vet before they even touched him for anything. :) Thank you, Pumbaa, for cooperating.

• Both Pumbaa and Larry seem to be very happy eating Friskies again. They used to get the gravy versions, and would suck up all the gravy and leave the chunks. I held off buying them Friskies pate's because the data in Binky's charts was old and I wanted to make sure that the carbs were still low. I haven't heard back from them on my as fed data request, but hey, if Mel feeds her cats Friskies pate's, that that was enough to convince me to try them again. They are much easier on the pocketbook than FF Classics or the other high-priced, low carb canned foods, that is for sure!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top