5/26 MIMI AMPS 162 +2 96 +3 120 +5 209 PMPS 145 +2 135

Miimi and Velvet Mirth

Member Since 2019
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/mimi-amps-341-6-37-pmps-652-1-682-h-2-558-4-424.214885/

We just fed her the mixed wet food again and given her the 0.1 shot. Digital caliper ordered.
We monitored closely throughout the night and offered her small portions which I think helped with offsetting major drop. It did help that she liked the mixed food v the LC we usually offer her. No dry food. Ketones negative. We will offer little meals again as suggested. She is a grazer so that is usually the way she eats anyway and test at +2. We are all sleep deprived, but she was a good girl and thankfully she let us test her last night.... Thank you everyone!!!!
 

Attachments

  • IMG-20190525-WA0006.jpg
    IMG-20190525-WA0006.jpg
    42.5 KB · Views: 56
Last edited:
She still has a good potential to keep dropping, so I'm going to suggest you just give the MC grilled on its own, and I'd like to see her stay flat or rise a bit this early in the cycle. We want to try and keep her from dropping too low. A +3 is a good idea. Those insulin needles sure have some space between zero line and the top of the needle, but according to the lines that's as good a 0.1u as you are going to get I think ;)
 
Things are looking good so far today . I'm glad you stopped the dry food. When I feed Ravan he only gets a teaspoon at a time, several times a day. He was raised on a Raw meat diet. If I occasionally give him canned food it's usually either 0 or 4 or 5% carbs. The carbs will raise BG.

Did you get a chance to look at the food chart? You can pick out a few different foods to try. Some of the kitties here like Weruva. My cats like "Halo" brand, Turkey & Duck 5% carbs.
I have an assortment of canned food & I mark the bottom of the can with the % of carbs.
Anywhere from 0 to 13% carbs.

I think the force feeding too much food was getting her more upset than the pokes?? :eek:

Hope her Bg continues to go well Like Christie said you can give Mimi med carb to make sure she doesn't drop too low. Once you have more info on her SS you'll know how much carbs to give her.:)

(did you get a chance to read all I wrote to you in my post yesterday?)

images
 
Last edited:
She still has a good potential to keep dropping, so I'm going to suggest you just give the MC grilled on its own, and I'd like to see her stay flat or rise a bit this early in the cycle. We want to try and keep her from dropping too low. A +3 is a good idea. Those insulin needles sure have some space between zero line and the top of the needle, but according to the lines that's as good a 0.1u as you are going to get I think ;)
Just tested and she is at 120. She has been grazing lightly on the MC food and I gave her a treat for testing. Both cat and husband now demanding a nap! I feel like Nurse Rachted... :)
 
Things are looking good so far today . I'm glad you stopped the dry food. When I feed Ravan he only gets a teaspoon at a time, several times a day. He was raised on a Raw meat diet. If I occasionally give him canned food it's usually either 0 or 4 or 5% carbs. The carbs will raise BG.

Did you get a chance to look at the food chart? You can pick out a few different foods to try. Some of the kitties here like Weruva. My cats like "Halo" brand, Turkey & Duck 5% carbs.
I have an assortment of canned food & I mark the bottom of the can with the % of carbs.
Anywhere from 0 to 13% carbs.

I think the force feeding too much food was getting her more upset than the pokes?? :eek:

Hope her Bg continues to go well Like Christie said you can give Mimi med carb to make sure she doesn't drop too low. Once you have more info on her SS you'll know how much carbs to give her.:)

(did you get a chance to read all I wrote to you in my post yesterday?)

images

yes I have and I am reading it aloud so we can all absorb what has been suggested.. ;) To be honest, due to Mimi's wild nature, i doubt she will ever associate positive to testing. She hates people touching her and she will go for your eyes if she gets really mad (my left eye has permanent scarring because when we rescued her she was even wilder!). We moved out of our apt in the city and moved to the suburbs so she could have a safe yard to roam around and she is so territorial that she will chase anything out (animal or human)..
We use the food chart and we are using nothing above 4%. Mimi has never eaten wet food in her life so the struggle begins at making her try anything, regardless of brands (we have literally purchased everything on the healthy food chart). I find that when we use the blender and make it smooth, she likes it better. Then again, just today she really enjoyed her MC food with had the grilled bits in it.. but at least the force feeding has stopped for now. Happy Sunday!
 
Last edited:
Well done! Nap definitely earned, how do you feel about getting a +5? Keep letting her graze, I'm glad she is handling the tests so much better. The MC seems to be helping.
 
I am also wondering if we should switch the AT2 for a human meter and which one is best. We can only poke her paw. Her ears are a no go zone so I need something that uses smallest amount of blood. Is the ReliOn Premier good? We use their syringes.. The caliper arrives tomorrow so hopefully that will help with the micro dosing too..
 
I sure hope she doesn't get back into the 600s too! Yes, please dose 0.1u again this evening, we want to try and see what this dose can do, and you need to give it a few cycles. She probably doesn't need anymore snacks, since she is on her way up, and it would be good not to cut off the duration, which can happen if you feed too many carbs after nadir. Although she did drop some more last night after +9, but she is in a nice safe range today. I'm really hopeful for you :) this higher LC combo worked nicely I think. I'd stick with it for a few cycles just to hopefully keep her bounces in check, then at some point maybe re-evaluate feeding.
 
I’m glad you took Christie’s advice, and mine, and dropped the dose to 0.1u. Once we suggested it, you shouldn’t have shot 0.25u as Christie correctly pointed out, we don’t dose on preshots.

Yes, if you can’t test her and you aren’t feeding the curve, you stopped the dry, and the dose is too much, she will bounce ridiculously high from a steep dive into green numbers. Did you see the video I posted on the 5/24 condo about testing a fractious cat? I believe it was that day. It might be good to look at it. It is very possible that Mimi won't need insulin once the dry is out of the picture; however, her numbers can be affected for up to six cycles by the higher dose so it’s really important that you not raise her dose back up without giving her a few cycles at the 0.1u to “normalize” so it can be seen what that dose can do for her.
 
Anxiously awaiting pm preshot number :nailbiting:, in the meantime I noticed something you said yesterday that I didn't have time to clarify. You noted a nadir of 520 which was you +6 on PMPS cycle of May, and today asked about holding the dose based on the +5 reading. Nadirs aren't necessarily at +5 or +6, they move around, but they are always the lowest point in the cycle. So, technically when you noted nadir of 520 May 24th, actually her lowest point (nadir) was her preshot on May 25th of 341. Today, her am cycle nadir was +2 of 96. Does this make sense?
 
Anxiously awaiting pm preshot number :nailbiting:, in the meantime I noticed something you said yesterday that I didn't have time to clarify. You noted a nadir of 520 which was you +6 on PMPS cycle of May, and today asked about holding the dose based on the +5 reading. Nadirs aren't necessarily at +5 or +6, they move around, but they are always the lowest point in the cycle. So, technically when you noted nadir of 520 May 24th, actually her lowest point (nadir) was her preshot on May 25th of 341. Today, her am cycle nadir was +2 of 96. Does this make sense?
Oh.. I thought the +6 was the nadir which is why we were using those numbers to make a decision. I didn't realize that the lowest point to watch can be seen at any time in the timeline. Thanks so much for catching that!!!
 
I’m glad you took Christie’s advice, and mine, and dropped the dose to 0.1u. Once we suggested it, you shouldn’t have shot 0.25u as Christie correctly pointed out, we don’t dose on preshots.

Yes, if you can’t test her and you aren’t feeding the curve, you stopped the dry, and the dose is too much, she will bounce ridiculously high from a steep dive into green numbers. Did you see the video I posted on the 5/24 condo about testing a fractious cat? I believe it was that day. It might be good to look at it. It is very possible that Mimi won't need insulin once the dry is out of the picture; however, her numbers can be affected for up to six cycles by the higher dose so it’s really important that you not raise her dose back up without giving her a few cycles at the 0.1u to “normalize” so it can be seen what that dose can do for her.
Will not raise and stayiing on 0.1. Thank you! I hope for remission one day..
I did see the video, but I can assure that Mimi is impossible to handle. Only my husband can. We have not gone on holiday together for years because of that.. she is very sweet when she is with him!
 
@Marje and Gracie if you are still online, do you have any thoughts on modifying things? I only stepped in to help yesterday evening but I only really have experience feeding the curve with Mav, and his situation is entirely different than Mimi. You have seen much more with others over the years, if you have any suggestions, it would help me learn as well.
 
@Marje and Gracie if you are still online, do you have any thoughts on modifying things? I only stepped in to help yesterday evening but I only really have experience feeding the curve with Mav, and his situation is entirely different than Mimi. You have seen much more with others over the years, if you have any suggestions, it would help me learn as well.
I am only on for a short time. I have a family emergency and anticipate that I’ll be leaving again within a few days.

I’m glad she’s eating every two hours. The first thing we usually recommend with a kitty whose numbers drop like this is front loading the cycle and feeding at PS, +1, +2, +3 to start. Since every cat is different (ECID), some do well with this schedule and others need a little modification. The total portion of food is divided up into “minimeals” fed at those times, or a modified version of it (e.g. PS, +1, +2, +4). Sometimes it works fine to divide the food into equal portions. I found with Gracie when she was on Lantus, that she did better with larger portions at AMPS and +1 and then smaller portions later.

That’s a start. If that doesn’t work (and it’s not an overnight thing), then we start looking at managing the curve with food in a more strategic manner (although the above is actually considered to be managing the curve with food).
 
Thanks Marje, I'm sorry to hear you have a family emergency, it was kind of you to answer my tag, hope everything will be ok :bighug:. Yes, it seems Mimi is handling these higher LC mini meals nicely. I noted these little double dips consistently, but I think as long as the cycles are looking like today, this higher LC seems to be working.
 
I am only on for a short time. I have a family emergency and anticipate that I’ll be leaving again within a few days.

I’m glad she’s eating every two hours. The first thing we usually recommend with a kitty whose numbers drop like this is front loading the cycle and feeding at PS, +1, +2, +3 to start. Since every cat is different (ECID), some do well with this schedule and others need a little modification. The total portion of food is divided up into “minimeals” fed at those times, or a modified version of it (e.g. PS, +1, +2, +4). Sometimes it works fine to divide the food into equal portions. I found with Gracie when she was on Lantus, that she did better with larger portions at AMPS and +1 and then smaller portions later.

That’s a start. If that doesn’t work (and it’s not an overnight thing), then we start looking at managing the curve with food in a more strategic manner (although the above is actually considered to be managing the curve with food).
Very grateful for your time when you have so much to worry about. I truly appreciate you and everyone here who has been keeping me from going insane! All the best for you and your family.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top