5/26 Guinness PMPS 353|+4.5 311|

Status
Not open for further replies.

linda and guinness

Member Since 2009
Good Morning Lantus Land, we missed you all yesterday, but now we are back.

Guinness survived his blind PM shot (we had a pet sitter come and shot his PM, but she was not comfortable testing, so I felt it would be ok for her to just shoot the 7 units of Lantus blind. Guinness's numbers are so high, he has not shown me any indication of a fast steep fall to this point, so I felt we were safe. Of course, that didn't stop me from worrying about him all day while I was suppose to be enjoying "The Happiest Place on Earth."

QUESTION: Guinness hit some 200's this last cycle at 7.0units, but it was aided by the R. Although one pre-shots on 5/25 was R free and in the upper 200's. I will be increasing his dose tonight. Should I increase by .25u or .5u, in your opinions?

No link to yesterday's condo.

Have a great day all you Sugar Cat Jedi Masters!
star-wars-smiley-5472.gif
 
Re: 5/26 Guinness AMPS 361 (.1uR) Question?

Good morning Linda & Guinness! I am glad the blind shoot went well and that you were able to get away. Hope you have a great day!
 
Re: 5/26 Guinness AMPS 361 (.1uR) Question?

Ultimately, it's what your comfortable shooting. My take on it is that increasing by 0.25u when your dose in 2.0u is a big percentage of that dose. If your dose is 7.0u, it's a much smaller increase, relatively speaking. I'd go for the 0.5u increase. I'd love to see Guinness bread into the green zone.
 
Re: 5/26 Guinness AMPS 361 (.1uR)|+2.5R 424

Thanks for the input Sienne, .5u it is!

Still wondering when he will ever officially respond and stop having me increase the doses. I would love to see him on the blue floor one of these days!
 
Re: 5/26 Guinness AMPS 361 (.1uR)|+2.5R 424

Hi guys .. no dosing advice here, but just wanted to say that guinness, you need to come down off those high floors silly kitty! I hope if you do increase, you start seeing some lower numbers .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 5/26 Guinness AMPS 361 (.1uR)|+2.5R 424

I would love to see him on the blue floor, too!!!! I just know his day is going to come...it did once, it will again. He's just being a stubborn stinker this time 'round!!! :-D

I'm glad you got away. I just bet your daughter had a blast!!! I took my daughter for her 5th birthday many, many moons ago and had so much fun. I'd like to go again with her as an adult. I bet it will be even better cuz she can go on the "big girl" rides this time!!! :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 5/26 Guinness PMPS 353 Solstar pen in fridge???

Shot a increased dose (7.5u of Lantus) this evening.

Question: I just read something my vet gave me a while back which prompted me to read the insert that came with my Solostar Pens. It says that pens in use should not be stored in the fridge and should be stored at room temperature (up 86 degrees). This is what the instructions read:

Keep your Solostar in cool storage (36-46 degrees) until first use...Once you take your Solostar out of cool storage, for use or as a spare you can use it for up to 28 days. During this time it can be safely kept at room temperature up to 86 degrees. Do not sue it after this time. Solostar in use must not be stored in the refrigerator.

So, I've been storing my "in use" pen in the fridge. Is any one else doing that? Do you store yours at room temperature. Thoughts?
 
Re: 5/26 Guinness PMPS 353 Solstar pen in fridge???

Hi Linda. I've always stored my 'in use' pen, in fridge. The consensus is, it lasts longer. My pharmacist even told me to store in fridge. I think humans take the pen with them throughout the day, so can't store it.
 
Re: 5/26 Guinness PMPS 353 Solstar pen in fridge???

Hi Linda, Everyone here stores their pens in the 'fridge. The instructions that come with the pen are intended for human users, who typically have much larger doses than cats. If people store their pens in the 'fridge, the insulin feels very cold when they shoot their larger doses. Also, the pens are designed for people with active lifestyles who do not want to worry about keeping their insulin cool when they travel. Lantus will last longer if you keep it in the fridge. But since Guinness has a relatively large dose, the longevity issue might not be so crucial for you.
Hope to see your boy in lower numbers soon. Good luck with the dosecrease.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 5/26 Guinness PMPS 353 Solstar pen in fridge???

Jill had posted about this a while ago. Aside from the humans using more insulin, I believe that the dispensing mechanism in the pen is temperature sensitive. Since we don't use the pen itself to inject insulin, the mechanism isn't an issue. Keeping the insulin in the refrigerator probably does a better job of keeping the temperature constant than keeping it unrefrigerated.
 
Re: 5/26 Guinness PMPS 353 Solstar pen in fridge???

LInda: glad you got out and had a nice time away and Guinness looks good tonight.....I hope he'll come off the pink floor!!!
 
Re: 5/26 Guinness PMPS 353 Solstar pen in fridge???

Welcome back Linda, Good luck with the dosecrease.. Come on Guinness, come down from that icky pinkus floor..you know you don't like it up there!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top