5/26 FAX PM + 2.5 295.2, +3.5 309.6

Status
Not open for further replies.

roisin and fax

Member Since 2011
Morning All,
Fax's reading this morning is consistent with the last few days. I hope that soon I start to understand what it all means! Total information overload going on over here.
Sienne: You mentioned last night about food - is it safe to start the gradual switch over if I am testing regularly? I am assuming that if numbers start to drop as a result of the food change that I would start dosing less - am I right to follow the protocol page for newbies in this situation?

I know many of you feed the Fancy Feast low carb wet foods and then others feed brands such as Wellness or EVO - there isn't a huge price difference here for any of those - is one better than the other?

Here is the link from yesterday

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=44092
 
Re: 5/26 FAX AMPS 338

Good morning! We have never stopped by to say hello, so HELLO!!! I don't know your dosing question but there are a lot of smart people who will.

We tried both FF and wellness out and Tarragon prefers the FF. I'm not sure which is really better, but he wouldn't touch the Wellness. He is a very picky eater though.

Hope you have a great day!
 
Re: 5/26 FAX AMPS 338

IMHO, as long as you're going to be around to test, it's fine to start switching the food over to a lower carb variety. You're going to have to transition at some point!

If you look at the ingredients, Wellness or Evo are a better quality food than Fancy Feast. Wellness and Evo are considered "premium" human grade cat foods and do not contain any by-products. FF does contain by-products. On the other hand, many cats really, really like FF. My guys rejected both Wellness and Evo initially. They now eat Wellness. They're cats. They don't make it easy or predictable!
 
Re: 5/26 FAX AMPS 338

Good morning!!! Champ likes Wellness just fine. I mix it with water so it's a thick consistency and he laps it right up. I recently bought some Fancy Feast to test it out and my cat would literally give his left hind foot for Fancy Feast. He really loves it. If the price is the same for all of it for you, I would buy the premium stuff, like Wellness, because it really is good for the kitties, but feed the Fancy Feast at one of the meals. Take turns. It could be that Fax tells you which one he wants!!!
 
Re: 5/26 FAX AMPS 338 +2 336

I have picked up some EVO 95% food to start the switch over (I'll start with his lunch meal). I will continue testing with frequency and keep you all updated.
 
Re: 5/26 FAX AMPS 338 +2 336

That's fine, Roisin. Did you get the high carb food too?

I use EVO, you will want to add some water to it, it's like a paste. The extra water is good for FD kitties.
 
Re: 5/26 FAX AMPS 338 +2 336

i've never seen wellness around here - probably would need to go to the pet store to get it. i feed fancy feast, and on the one hand i hate having 5 cans a day between the 2 cats that have to be washed and recycled, on the other hand, it's perfect portion control. that's the main reason i've stayed with it - plus they like it. my civvie (non diabetic cat) had chronic diarrhea before and was on the vet dry prescription food - this has cleared up any problems and both cats just seem healthier.

we mix water with the food - punkin would get bladder infections most every year and the water is apparently really good for that. so i do about 60% food 40% water for the cats. just figure the water is good for them.

as you switch over the food, keep posting numbers like you're doing, and if you want to change the dose ask here first.

congrats again on all that testing. you've really done a super job!
 
Re: 5/26 FAX AMPS 338 +2 336

Yes, I picked up a couple of gravy high carb foods and also have honey on hand.
We'll see how this afternoon goes with a bit of the new food. Fingers crossed we can start making changes soon!
 
Re: 5/26 FAX AMPS 338 +2 336

fax said:
I have picked up some EVO 95% food to start the switch over (I'll start with his lunch meal). I will continue testing with frequency and keep you all updated.

Remember you'll want to do the change gradually...I would mix about 75% m/d and 25% EVO for 2 days, then 50% for 3 days, then 75% EVO for 2 days. A quick food change can cause an upset belly sometimes, which makes the cat not want to eat the new food even if they like the taste.

You should be able to return any unopened cans of m/d to your vet, and just tell them that your cat stopped eating it and have them give you a refund.

It also may take a couple of EVO flavors to see what Fax likes. Bandit goes nuts for the Venison and Beef, but he's meh with the Duck (we haven't tried the turkey yet). He eats it, but not with the gusto he has for the other two.
 
Re: 5/26 FAX AMPS 338 +2 336

Thanks for advice Julia - I just fed him a lunch and mixed the two together - there is one lucky thing to all of this - Fax is the farthest from being picky as you can get - always has been. He just loves any food you give him!!
I will take it gradual and mix over the next 5 days - week.

If the food will make that big of a difference to his glucose levels I assume I will start to see changes right away even though he isn't getting full feeds from the new food? I will test again in about an hour.
 
Re: 5/26 FAX AMPS 338 +2 336

Hi guys, I know it's a lot to take in right now but you are doing great and have gotten lots of good advice from everyone .. mocha started out on FF, and then rejected the wellness .. we went back to FF but soon that started cutting into our budget (the little oinker) so we made the switch to wal marts special kitty, turkey and giblets which is more cost effective for us and she really enjoys it .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 5/26 FAX AMPS 338 +2 336

roisin and fax said:
If the food will make that big of a difference to his glucose levels I assume I will start to see changes right away even though he isn't getting full feeds from the new food? I will test again in about an hour.

You might see some lower numbers right away, or they might not lower until he's mostly or completely on EVO. Every cat is different with the way their bodies handle carbs. The biggest advice I can give to you is to be patient. Especially with Lantus! The "slow and steady wins the race" idiom holds true with this insulin.
 
Re: 5/26 FAX AMPS 338 +2 336 +4 250.2

I fed a little of the EVO at lunch and have just taken a reading - its the lowest number for this time of day yet!
I will test again at +6 and see where he is at.
 
Re: 5/26 FAX AMPS 338 +2 336 +4 250.2

heehee, i think we've sucked you over to the dark side - us who 1) hometest and 2) are happy with the info the data gives us. i should really call it the "light side" because it's all good. it lets us fine tune things so the kitters who depend on us can do the best possible.

once you've seen this, don't you wonder how people could possibly be ok shooting insulin without hometesting - and yet all or most of us started out that way.
 
Re: 5/26 FAX AMPS 338 +2 336 +4 250.2 +6 277.2 DOSING Q

I know that we started out not home testing because the vet said it would be too much work and too hard to handle. Way easier to test at home then pack the poor guy into the car and stress him out to get the tests done at the clinic for a hefty price!!!

I will feed another snack (dried chicken) around 6 and then for dinner at 7:45 a mix of the EVO and M/D.

Should I keep up with the same dose (5u) that I have been currently giving?
 
Re: 5/26 FAX AMPS 338 +2 336 +4 250.2 +6 277.2 DOSING Q

I would stay with the 5 unit dose for now. His numbers continue to be high at this point, reducing the dose will just allow his numbers to go higher. There are several of us keeping an eye on Fax's numbers, and we will help you step the dose down if necessary. You are doing great!

At any time, if you think he needs a reduction or his numbers are going down late in the cycle, I would suggest that you get a +11 test and ask for help in your header before shot time. That hour gives people a chance to review the SS and discuss options with you. Also, don't be afraid to ask lots of questions...we like questions!
 
Re: 5/26 FAX AMPS 338 +2 336 +4 250.2 +6 277.2 DOSING Q

Thank you so much for keeping on eye on Fax with me everyone!
I will do a +10 or +11 reading today and see where he is at.
Do I need to do this kind of curve everyday? Or can I cut back a bit tomorrow (say to +2, +6, +10)? I am home if I need to do a more thorough curve if needed.
 
Re: 5/26 FAX AMPS 338 +2 336 +4 250.2 +6 277.2 DOSING Q

Hi Roisin and Fax,
You are doing a great job. Rusty loves Wellness turkey but doesn't care much for Wellness chicken. He doesn't like EVO, although Stu, our previous FD kitty, liked it a lot, especially the turkey and the venison. Rusty REALLY loves FF Turkey and Giblets, but even though it is low in carbs (3%), it tends to raise his bgs. So I feed it in very small portions as a treat. (All of the cats seem to love FF. It must have some mystery ingredient!!) Every cat is different (ECID), so you will find out which foods Fax loves, which ones he accepts, which ones he merely tolerates, and which ones he rejects. All of the paté type foods, like Evo, Wellness, and the FF paté (Classic) varieties benefit by being mixed with a little water.
You will see Fax's numbers going down when you switch to a low-carb food, but see what happens today with feeding the mixture of LC and MC and ask for advice this evening about lowering his dose, after some more numbers are in.

Keep up the good work,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 5/26 FAX AMPS 338 +2 336 +4 250.2 +6 277.2 DOSING Q

Yes, you can cut back on the testing, what you suggested for times is fine. Normally, you wouldn't need to test this much...it's only because you needed data, and are switching food.

Don't go by Mr Tinkles' SS...I'm a testaholic!
 
Re: 5/26 FAX AMPS 338 +10.5 322.2 DOSING Q

Numbers lower today than before - my fingers and toes are crossed this food switch is really helping.

+10.5 @ 322.2

Still carry ahead with 5u @ dosing time?
 
Re: 5/26 FAX AMPS 338 +10.5 322.2 DOSING Q

looks like you still have some time left til PMPS.
let's see what a +11 or +11.5 may show, make sure you hold on to your patience cap k?
I'm glad to see there's been a food switch!
.
 
Re: 5/26 FAX AMPS 338 +10.5 322.2 DOSING Q

Hi Roisin

I wasn't sure if you had another question or were still asking about testing times. Here is what Laurie said about testing times:

Yes, you can cut back on the testing, what you suggested for times is fine. Normally, you wouldn't need to test this much...it's only because you needed data, and are switching food.

For your dosing question, she said:

I
would stay with the 5 unit dose for now. His numbers continue to be high at this point, reducing the dose will just allow his numbers to go higher. There are several of us keeping an eye on Fax's numbers, and we will help you step the dose down if necessary. You are doing great!

I hope those are the answers you needed or did I miss another question? I'm sure glad to see Fax's numbers coming down from the other day!!! You're doing a super job!
 
Re: 5/26 FAX AMPS 338 +10.5 322.2 PMPS 361.1

oh you are at PMPS now, I see it now.
based on that number, ditto to what Laurie mentioned earlier.
try not to stree k?
 
Re: 5/26 FAX AMPS 338 +10.5 322.2 PMPS 361.1

Patience cap on? Check! (almost lost it though!)

5u given at dinner feed.
I feel like I am on the right track now,
Thanks everyone!
 
Re: 5/26 FAX AMPS 338 +10.5 322.2 PMPS 361.1

you are totally on the right track!

we all need patience pants, don't worry! it's part of it.

if you need something to do while you're waiting for fax to go off of insulin ;-) take a look at other people's condos and spreadsheets. especially the condos that are long are usually because a cat has something going on (either that or someone posted something cute although we're trying to move stuff like that to the "Loose Lips" condo) and you can learn a lot from just reading advice given to the person going through whatever the situation is. that was a REALLY bad sentence, but i trust you get what i mean.
 
Re: 5/26 FAX AMPS 338 +10.5 322.2 PMPS 361.1

It would also be good if you can try to get spot checks during the PM cycle. Many cats experience lower numbers at night so checks during the evening can be very helpful.
 
Re: 5/26 FAX PM + 2.5 295!!

PM + 2.5 and Fax is lower than any other check this time of night over the past month! I will try to do one more before bed.

R.
 
Re: 5/26 FAX PM + 2.5 295!!

Fax is sounding fabulous and you are doing a wonderful job!!!

Have a great evening, guys!

Amy
 
That number is about the same as the +2.5....looks good so far. If you happen to get up during the night, grab a test, ok? I don't want to worry you, his numbers look fine, but as Sienne pointed out, many cats do lower at night.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top