5/26 Champ PMPS 101, +4 74, +5 72, +5.5 76, +6.5 70, +7 79

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patty & Champ

Member Since 2011
I'm not too worried about this number...it's normal for Champ after some blues and greens. He better clear it this cycle, though!!! I'll have to write more later as I have to get to work for now!!!!
 
Re: 5/26 Champ AMPS 386

just read his condo from last night - it made me tired! how are you doing today? champ did great.

were you being extra cautious because you think champ might be acro? i just wondered why you gave him the 13% carb when he hit 80's.
 
Re: 5/26 Champ AMPS 386

Hi Julie! It's crossed my mind about acro, but because he does seem to respond to insulin and isn't on a huge dose, I'm not going to give it much thought for now. I gave the 13% mainly because I wanted to slow him down (he was at 76 when I gave him the 13%). I saw he had dropped 16 points between +3 and +4 and knew that the dose of insulin I gave him last night should be kicking in around +3 and +4 and I wanted to make sure he didn't drop another 16 points between +4 and +5. Really I just wanted to slow him down. Unfortunately, I found out last night that he is very susceptible to even medium carb food and it puts the brake on his slide down. So instead of slowing him down, I stopped him completely and made him rise. But that's okay...data collecting for next time. I'm going to forego anything but 2-3% (just a taste for me to do the poke) next time and see if he continues down and how fast or if maybe his onset is just really early and he will always flatten out around +4 or +5.
 
Re: 5/26 Champ AMPS 386

Ok - Champ - time to get of the pink floor! You and Zoe are starting off the same...so come on down. Nice run of blues and greens - so pretty to see. You are doing so well with him. Keep it up Champ, learn to like the greens and no more bouncing into the pinks! ;-)
 
Re: 5/26 Champ AMPS 386

Hi guys .. sorry to see champ up on the pink floor, but at least there is a reason behind it! I'm sure he'll clear this soon and be back down in no time .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 5/26 Champ AMPS 386

Good morning Patty, sorry to see the bounce this morning.. Nice job last night though. I hope he clears this one real soon and you can get some rest at some point today :-D
 
Re: 5/26 Champ AMPS 386

mORNING Patty--& Champ--time to come down from the pink OK?
Pinks just happen, & hopefully he will come down later today--I'm sure Champ is fine & will respond well.
He had green & you know a bounce can last 72 hours--I would stick with this dose for now..
You need to give a new dose 6 cycles(3 full days) to work--Good job there you two--Hugs from us!
 
Re: 5/26 Champ AMPS 386, +4.5 140

I went back to bed, thinking his bounce would last a bit. Got up and checked his BG and, wow, bounce cleared!!!!! Champ is being a, well, a CHAMP!!
 
Re: 5/26 Champ AMPS 386, +4.5 140

Patty, Champ is looking good!

I completely agree with you....giving the 13% last night showed you how he will react, no harm done at all. There are no mistakes, only opportunities to gather data! :-D
 
Re: 5/26 Champ AMPS 386, +4.5 140, +6 112

Champ doesn't normally go lower beyond this point (his nadir is usually +4 or +5), but he's been known to move the ol' nadir around a bit. If I have time from work, I'll check him again, or get the DD out of bed (yes, it's noon here) so she can do it!! :lol:
 
Re: 5/26 Champ AMPS 386, +4.5 140, +6 112

Champ is looking awesome....his SS is really showing improvement with your patience!!!

One thing we've found that works with Gracie to slow her down but not pop her permanently back up is, if she is coming down fast, a drop of karo....just to slow and just a little. For her, we've been able to get her on her surfboard much more effectively that way without overcarbing her. She is one that accumulates carbs so if I give her MC or HC food, she may not show it for a while, meanwhile, her number might stay low. Then BOOM....up she goes. As you collect data on Champ, you might see how he reacts to just a drop of karo to slow him....it wears off quickly so you have to keep testing if he goes up. ECID and as Jill says, you just have to try new things to see what works.

I have to say that, with Jill's awesome help and experience, we've seen great improvements in Gracie and I think it's worthwhile to think about it. You are already holding him many cycles which is great. I think two big things have helped Grace: (1) food consistency...we only feed her WN 4% varieties all the time (2) trying to slow her drops with a tiny drop of karo and if we need to bump her up, we used her 4% first and if that wasn't enough, a drop of karo. It's best to manage the curve with food if at all possible so our choice to use karo is simply based on how she accumulates carbs.

Anyway...just thought I'd pass on some thoughts....they may not be applicable to Champ at all. But I love how you've held his doses....he's doing great. NICE WORK!
 
Re: 5/26 Champ AMPS 386, +4.5 140, +6 112, +7 95

Two cycles in a row with green!!! :mrgreen:

Thanks so much for the info, Marje. That's what I'll try next time when he gets to a mid 70 if it's still early in the cycle, a drop of Karo!
 
Re: 5/26 Champ AMPS 386, +4.5 140, +6 112, +7 95

One thing, tho....I don't typically use it if she's only coming down 16 an hour unless she has dropped to the 50s already :-D I used it if she was dropping 70-80 an hour and waited until she got to around 100. In other words, gauge the drop, where you are in the cycle, and how much you think they could continue to drop. If Gracie was at 70 at +4, I'd let her drop another 16 easily without giving her anything.....just a thought...but ECID and you may have to work your way into it until you and Champ are comfy. And it might not work for him.....
 
Re: 5/26 Champ AMPS 386, +4.5 140, +6 112, +7 95

Gotcha!! I'm already becoming more comfortable with him being below 100. I looked at Champ's SS and see the first time he had a low 100 (114), I gave him a lick of gravy!!! Talk about being cautious. If I do this in babysteps, I won't panic when he does have a drop to the 50's. More than likely, no one will be on when that happens and I'll be dealing with it alone damn being on the west coast!) so I'll just keep gathering data and advice and see how it goes!! Now that you're back working, I don't want you staying up on account of me so I'm glad you're giving me the benefit of your knowledge now!! :-D :-D
 
Re: 5/26 Champ AMPS 386, +4.5 140, +6 112, +7 95

Patty: if I was on and you needed help, I would gladly stay up with you all night and still go to work the next day. I did that with Renee and Mala one night....it wasn't all night for me but pretty durn late but Mala was in the 20s and wouldn't come up. There's a rule in LL...if you commit to help someone, you stay up with them. I've seen Jill and Libby and others do it so many times.

One thing Jill told me a long time ago that we are finally seeing with Gracie is:
manage the curve with food.....flatten the curve....increase the dose to bring numbers down.

If you look at Gracie's SS, you'll see that for a long time, she had almost a "V" curve....down fast, down low, lots of carbs, shoot back up. Not good. Yes these flat yellows are driving me crazy EXCEPT...we've finally gotten to stage 2 by keeping her food consistent in type, %carbs, and amounts. She very rarely dives (she used to dive 100/hour!!). Now we will slowly increase the dose and see if she'll stay flat into green....then we can bring her down slowly. HOPE!!!

But what may work for her, might not work for Champie. There are many cats who don't need any food to manage low numbers in their curve...or LC works great. I'd probably start there and see how he does. Then if it doesn't help his drops, try something else. I had no appreciation for "it's a marathon, not a sprint" until now. :lol: :lol: :lol:

One thing I think....which could be totally wrong....I believe some of Gracie's really hard bounces were due to carbs......no proof....just gut.
 
Re: 5/26 Champ AMPS 386, +4.5 140, +6 112, +7 95, +8 89

I trust my gut much more than the written word when it comes to my family and my pets so I know what you mean!!! Champ has come down even further at +8 and I'm not even giving chicken breast pieces for pokies. He's being such a little freakin angel about it all, too!! :-D I really want to see what he's going to do with no food beyond what I would give him normally and, to be honest, this is keeping me from overloading him with treats at the pokes which I have a tendency to do because the 1/4 Italian in me equates food with love!! :lol: But i'm being a good mamabean today and no treats, at least not until he starts to rise naturally!! :-D
 
Re: 5/26 Champ AMPS 386, +7 95, +8 89, +9 80, +10 71

Weird. Why are his numbers continuing to drop? I did give him some chicken breast with his poke this time.
 
Re: 5/26 Champ AMPS 386, +7 95, +8 89, +9 80, +10 71, +11 83

At both +10 and +11 I gave him just a few small pieces of boiled chicken breast cuz he's pretty tired of the pokies. Would the chicken breast at +10 have raised his BG or did it raise naturally? I ask because I don't know what to shoot in just an hour. I don't want him to sink down on me tonight. So...dosing advice please!!
 
Re: 5/26 Champ AMPS 386, +7 95, +8 89, +9 80, +10 71, +11 83

hmmm, Im hoping others will be along to take a peek,
but in the meantime, whats your schedule look like for tonight?
have supplies, various foods?

IF you have to stall, can you afford that on your shot schedule?
 
Re: 5/26 Champ AMPS 386, +7 95, +8 89, +9 80, +10 71, +11 83

Patty, sometimes nadirs move around. Did you see my post earlier? I'm not surprised at the late nadir.

Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
Yup, he's clearing a bounce, so all bets are off on the nadir....

It looks like he has turned around and is heading up now, but we'll see at PMPS. Nice numbers this afternoon! Ronnie asked the questions I had already. ;-)
 
Re: 5/26 Champ AMPS 386, +7 95, +8 89, +9 80, +10 71, +11 83

Patty....he could be clearing a bounce....this is what Gracie does quite often when she is. She sllllidddeesss into PMPS. This is where data collection helps. If I see her doing this (and I think Laurie does the same thing), I give her a small LC snack at +9 to try and bring it up a tad. Then I recheck at +10...if she's still sinking or level, I might give her just a tad more LC snack. Of course...too late for that tonight with Champ...sorry :-D :-D

Just do your +11.75 or +12 and post with how long you can stall.....it's gonna be an interesting night!!!
 
Re: 5/26 Champ AMPS 386, +7 95, +8 89, +9 80, +10 71, +11 83

Shot time is in 15 minutes and I do have food, karo, strips, etc. How do I know what dose to shoot? Do I just shoot his usual 3.75u no matter what the BG is?
 
Re: 5/26 Champ AMPS 386, +7 95, +8 89, +9 80, +10 71, +11 83

niiiiiiice. :smile:

It looks like you have shot 90s before, is that right?

The reason he keeps going down is that his bounce is already clearing. When that happens toward the end of the cycle sometimes they can just keep dropping. However, +11 looks like he has stopped dropping and maybe even turned around, so he should be shootable tonight. Let's see what +12 is.
 
Re: 5/26 Champ AMPS 386, +7 95, +8 89, +9 80, +10 71, +11 83

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Patty....he could be clearing a bounce....this is what Gracie does quite often when she is. She sllllidddeesss into PMPS. This is where data collection helps. If I see her doing this (and I think Laurie does the same thing), I give her a small LC snack at +9 to try and bring it up a tad. Then I recheck at +10...if she's still sinking or level, I might give her just a tad more LC snack. Of course...too late for that tonight with Champ...sorry :-D :-D

Just do your +11.75 or +12 and post with how long you can stall.....it's gonna be an interesting night!!!

I would not give a late snack unless Champ has a pattern of sliding down and being too low to shoot at PS time.....I only feed after nadir if Tinkles is in low numbers (below 50) or I can see that he will be too low by PS. You really don't want to feed after nadir unless you have to, it contributes to higher PS numbers.

I don't think that applies in this case.
 
Re: 5/26 Champ AMPS 386, +7 95, +8 89, +9 80, +10 71, +11 83

This looks like there's a surf going on. How about grabbing a test at +11.75 so we can get an idea about dose?
 
Re: 5/26 Champ AMPS 386, +7 95, +8 89, +9 80, +10 71, +11 83

I would not give a late snack unless Champ has a pattern of sliding down and being too low to shoot at PS time.....I only feed after nadir if Tinkles is in low numbers (below 50) or I can see that he will be too low by PS. You really don't want to feed after nadir unless you have to, it contributes to higher PS numbers.

oooppsss...I forgot to mention that very important point, so thank you, Laurie. Usually when Gracie is sliding where I have to feed her, she is in the 50s-60s because she WILL drop 20 more after +10 typically. Obviously, you can't read my mind, Patty, but when I was thinking about Gracie sliding and me feeding, it is because she's too low to shoot. Normally if she is sliding but she's higher, I do not ever feed after nadir. THANKS, LAURIE!!! Geez, Marjorie.
 
Re: 5/26 Champ AMPS 386, +7 95, +8 89, +9 80, +10 71, +11 83

I did try to not give him any food at all after +6 but he was getting cranky from the pokes so I have him the chicken breast at +10 and +11. That's why I was concerned that was the reason his BGs finally started to climb, from the chicken, not because he would have anyway. I just don't know how much the chicken would raise his BG, especially as little as I gave him
 
Re: 5/26 Champ AMPS 386, +7 95, +8 89, +9 80, +10 71, +11 83

Hi Patty,
This is a really nice, stable surf. None of these numbers is that much different from the others. But I can't advise you on what to shoot!
(Oh, I see that Laurie and Sienne are ready to advise. Good shooting!)

Ella
 
Re: 5/26 Champ AMPS 386, +7 95, +8 89, +9 80, +10 71, +11 83

well the chicken is usually low carb, very low.
most of us do the same with the chicken treat, with not much of an effect, except to settle them down, lol

so it looks like you've shot 2 lower than usual preshot numbers according to your spreadsheet.
don't be nervous - let's see what the +12 is and what's suggested.
 
Re: 5/26 Champ AMPS 386, +7 95, +8 89, +9 80, +10 71, +11 83

I would shoot too, he is surfing now, not dropping. Plan to get a +1 and +2.
 
Re: 5/26 Champ AMPS 386, +10 71, +11 83, PMPS 101

Pretty unbelievable for him to do this in the daytime for me. And that was the shortest bounce of his life!!! I can't wait to see what's going to happen tonight. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 5/26 Champ AMPS 386, +10 71, +11 83, PMPS 101, +1 141

Kinda anticlimactic!!! I wonder if he'll do what he did last time I shot a low number.....have rising BGs for the entire cycle. Hmmmm...we shall see!! :-D
 
Re: 5/26 Champ AMPS 386, +10 71, +11 83, PMPS 101, +1 141

Well, you never know...+1 should be higher with the food spike. The +2 might give you a better idea of which way he will go.

Sorry I disappeared....I dropped the sauce from my calzone on my keyboard, it took me a while to get that mess cleaned up! I'm glad you had plenty of help. :smile:
 
Re: 5/26 Champ AMPS 386, +10 71, +11 83, PMPS 101, +1 141

HAHAHAHA :lol: :lol: :lol: Laurie, you crack me up. But now you got me wanting a calzone. I haven't had one of those in so long. YUMMM.
 
Re: 5/26 Champ AMPS 386, PMPS 101, +1 141, +2 130, +3 116

i haven't gotten to stop by in a while because i've been super busy, but oh me oh my, it seems you all have been too! reading your condo and ss after a full day is kind of like watching a really wonky auction, the numbers don't go up straight up, but the excitement does! keep it rolling champ!
 
Re: 5/26 Champ AMPS 386, PMPS 101, +1 141, +2 130, +3 116

perfect cycle so far, really nice! Shooting low can really pay off. :smile:
 
Re: 5/26 Champ AMPS 386, PMPS 101, +1 141, +2 130, +3 116, +

It's getting interesting now!!! I just gave him some 3% FF, but it's what I do every night as part of his three small meals at night, not something extra.
 
Re: 5/26 Champ AMPS 386, PMPS 101, +1 141, +2 130, +3 116, +

good, a little low carb should help him surf. You can check again in an hour (or 30 minutes if you prefer) to be sure he's surfing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top