5/26 Blackie +2.25 46 2.5 45 +2.75 43 +3 52 +3.5 67 +4 72

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ele & Blackie (GA)

Very Active Member
We got some green last night. :mrgreen:
+3 139
+6 85
+7 94
+9.5 130

WCR: Blackie is feeling good and his fur is looking good too. He and civie Charlie have become best buds and we often find them curled up together or washing each other. It's very sweet. Its really nice weather here (finally), so Blackie is making the most of it. During the day he only wants to come in for food.

Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=15458
 
Re: 5/26 Blackie amps 170

Nice Blackie....maybe you will do a repeat of your PM cycle today! Looking GREAT!!!!
Hope to see you at Pedro's....see ya later!!
 
Re: 5/26 Blackie amps 170 +5 97 +6.5 85

Hooray!! Beautiful cycle for Blackie. I wonder what he has in store for you tonight?

Blackie-
Are you excited about the party? I am sooooo excited. Stu is going to cook some great food, the decorations are awesome (as we know, since we worked so hard on them), and the weather is going to be perfect. There will be dancing, food, kitty talk, friends.....OHMYGOSHICANTWAIT!!!!!
<3, Buzz
 
Re: 5/26 Blackie amps 170 +5 97 +6.5 85 +8 78 +10.5 56

We were planning on going out with friends after Blackie's shot. I swear I did not say anything about this in front of Blackie, cuz the last time these friends were in town, Blacki had a delayed shot and we couldn't meet them. Now look at that +10.5! :roll: I asked DH to feed a tb of lc food and I'll be home in about 30 minutes. That Blackie! Such a ham! Maybe it's in honor of Pedro & his party today.
 
Re: 5/26 Blackie amps 170 +5 97 +6.5 85 +8 78 +10.5 56

Blackie.... you're ahead of schedule... Friday isn't tonight! :-D
 
Re: 5/26 Blackie amps 170 +5 97 +6.5 85 +8 78 +10.5 56 +11.5 65

And now look at the +11.5! Maybe your friends need to come over to your place and you'll pick up dinner!
 
Re: 5/26 Blackie+6.5 85 +8 78 +10.5 56 +11.5 65 +12.25 64 Shoot?

We've canceled the festivities tonight. Since he's flat do I shoot now or wait? He got 1 Tb of food at +10.5 and is eating now. We've shot this low before, but I'm still unsure.
 
Re: 5/26 Blackie+6.5 85 +8 78 +10.5 56 +11.5 65 +12.25 64 Shoot?

You have indeed shot this low before. As long as you are prepared with strips and HC and can test early in the cycle (like +1 and +2), I'd go for it.
 
Re: 5/26 Blackie+6.5 85 +8 78 +10.5 56 +11.5 65 +12.25 64 Shoot?

Sienne and Gabby said:
You have indeed shot this low before. As long as you are prepared with strips and HC and can test early in the cycle (like +1 and +2), I'd go for it.
shooooooooot!
 
Re: 5/26 Blackie+6.5 85 +8 78 +10.5 56 +11.5 65 pmps +12.35 64

Thanks, Sienne & Jill. I shot his 3.5 units and will do spot checks. I guess I still need someone to hold my hand sometimes. :-D I'm glad you're here to do it.
 
Re: 5/26 Blackie+6.5 85 +8 78 +10.5 56 +11.5 65 +12.25 64 Shoot?

Blackie:
We are neck and neck tonight!!
I got shot at 65 nailbite_smile
Looks like we are gonna get a LOT o pokes tonight!!
Give me a call and we can talk, k?
Shad=O
 
Re: 5/26 Blackie+6.5 85 +8 78 +10.5 56 +11.5 65 +12.25 64 Shoot?

Hi Ele, It looks like you got the advice you needed.
Too bad you had to cancel your plans. And Blackie will be late for Pedro's party!! Stu will save some food for him.
We'll look in on you later. Hang in there!

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 5/26 Blackie+6.5 85 +8 78 +10.5 56 +11.5 65 pmps +12.35 64

nice shooting. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

You must have very understanding friends. Maybe it's a good night to invite them over to watch a movie or something.
 
Re: 5/26 Blackie pmps +12.35 64 +1 67

Thanks, everyone. Blackie is having a blast at that party! Can't you tell? I didn't feed at the +1. Should I?
 
Re: 5/26 Blackie pmps +12.35 64 +1 67 feed?

I'd give a few bites. It can't hurt since you're not seeing a food spike it's possible there could be some action by +2. I'd want to keep the surf going or slow things down and a little food will do that.
 
Re: 5/26 Blackie pmps +12.35 64 +1 67 +1.75 53

I fed at +1.25 approx after I read your post. I had tested and then fed Blackie outside. When I went to pick up his bowl he was crying for food, so I tested him and got the 53 at +1.75. I fed him another 1 Tb lc then. I don't want him to go too low, but I'll admit I'm ready for a dose decrease.
 
Re: 5/26 Blackie pmps +12.35 64 +1 67 +1.75 53 +2.25 46

I fed a small amount of lc with almost a tsp of 14% gravy. I'll check again in 15 min.
 
Re: 5/26 Blackie pmps +12.35 64 +1 67 +1.75 53 +2.25 46

Great job!

How carb sensitive is Blackie? I'm thinking you might want to go with just gravy given how early in the cycle this is.
 
Re: 5/26 Blackie pmps +12.35 64 +1 67 +1.75 53 +2.25 46 2.5 45

I fed almost of Tb of 14% gravy with a little of the chicken in it. It was hard to get the gravy out without the meat. Blackie does not seem very carb sensitive. When I've fed hc food before (15%) he only went up a little and didn't stay up. I'm checking every 15 min now.
 
Re: 5/26 Blackie pmps +1 67 +1.75 53 +2.25 46 2.5 45 +2.75 43

I fed another 2 tsp 14% gravy at +2.75. I have some 15% food that doesn't have much gravy & some high carb (unknown %) treats. I'm almost out of the 14% gravy, but I have the meat from that food. I do have karo :mrgreen: but I hope I don't have to use it.
 
Re: 5/26 Blackie pmps +1.75 53 +2.25 46 2.5 45 +2.75 43 +3 52

You might want to pick up some 18% FF next time you're picking up food.

If you're running low on HC, it's fine to add a few drops of Karo to LC. It's a good substitute in a pinch. It's what a bunch of the beans who have kitties with IBD use since the gluten in the HC can cause problems.
 
Re: 5/26 Blackie +2.25 46 2.5 45 +2.75 43 +3 52 +3.5 67 Dose?

I know that technically Blackie hasn't earned a dose decrease, but I really want to lower him to at least 3.25. When he goes this low this late, I think he's getting too much insulin. I also think he would have gone lower earlier in the week if his Lantus pen hadn't gone bad before I switched.

I fed just some lc at +3.5 - he's still a hungry boy. I'll check again in half hour & then set the alarm to get more checks tonight.
 
Re: 5/26 Blackie +2.25 46 2.5 45 +2.75 43 +3 52 +2.5 67 Dose?

You should do what you are comfortable with. Worst case scenario is that you increase the dose if a reduction doesn't hold.

That said, I think Blackie does want a reduction. If you're going to be home tomorrow, you can keep a watchful eye to see if Blackie earns a reduction.
 
Re: 5/26 Blackie +2.25 46 2.5 45 +2.75 43 +3 52 +2.5 67 Dose?

IMHO hitting 40's that early, and staying there, is enough to earn a reduction. It's up to you, but it sounds like that's what you want to do and that makes sense to me.
 
Re: 5/26 Blackie +2.25 46 2.5 45 +2.75 43 +3 52 +2.5 67 Dose?

Moonie only gets a dose crease when she gets like 2--40's numbers--But Ele, you could reasonably do a skinny on the 3.50(if you have a microscope) :lol: :lol: --No but could you take off a drop or two next dose if you are worried??
Ask dose helpers, but I do these drop Ups & downs, as Moonie is a little insulin sensitive. That has done the trick lately for her .Guess 2 drops off would be 3.25 anyway--seems fine.
Beautiful numbers today, and you did great! :mrgreen:

OOOPs I posted same time as Libby--So question answered--Congrats!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top