5/26 Atlas AMPS 155, PMPS 344

Status
Not open for further replies.

Beth & Atlas

Member Since 2010
Last known Condo

Lots of wonderful rain last night....cooler this morning, but the heat wave for the weekend continues...

Memorial day weekend is almost always a cat sitting weekend. Very few dogs on the schedule and those that are, are just 1 or 2 visits for quick potty breaks. So that generally means I can still make a few picnics, parades, and rib cook-offs.

We've been working on reregulating Attie since his 'bout with panleukopenia and I think we finally figured a few things out for him. One he was getting too much insulin and second his food was indeed contributing to his bouncy numbers. I wish I could explain how Dr. N thought this was the case vs. how we see a 'bounce' and the need to increase insulin. I think the only way I could say there was a clue was in my complaint about his numbers and thinking of switching insulin.

I go up...he bottoms out. I go down and he runs high. He needs more insulin to get these numbers under control, but I can't raise the dose without risking dropping way low.

And the food was part of the issue, even though it was a raw diet. The blend contained a large amount of blueberries( 3rd ingredient). Attie's rabbit from Nature's Variety did not contain such a boatload of berries, but to this day it is still unavailable :sad: .

So again it comes back to watching very carefully the food. And in Attie's case not just that it is labelled 1% carbohydrates, but what some of the actual ingredients are. While I did contact the manufacture and challange them regarding their 1% claim on the label, it remains beyond my understanding that a food so packed with blueberries could remotely be tested as 1% carbs.
 
Re: 5/26 Atlas AMPS 155

Nice blue for Attie! Sounds like a busy weekend for you but at least it is mainly cats. They're easy right??? :lol: :lol: :lol: This heat is crazy. We are running around 15 degrees above normal in the mid to high 90's. It looks like whatever you are doing for Attie is working! Have a great day Beth!
 
phhhhttt...that didn't last long....

Actually, he may have gone low last night because of the storms and rain making him too nervous to eat...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top