5/26 Allie AMPS 305/+3 275/+8 261/PMPS 298

Breelynne

Member Since 2023
5/26

Thanking everyone for their help so far. Meeting some very nice people and their kitties amongst the way. I got some blood work back for my other kitty Cassie and she is anemic....I am hoping nothing major I don't know if I can deal with 2 special needs cats. Taking it a day at a time for right now.

On the upside Allie started 5/27 out @ 237 this morning see what happens today. Emailed the vet requesting a bump up for Allie and told them I have issues with their request I use the AT2 (strips to be discontinued in September) been using the same meter since day of DX.
 
Allie is staying in yellow for the most part!! (I know it’s a rollercoaster) that is all progress! The more she stays in the 200s the closer you will be blue and greens!! So she is on her way down slowly but in her way down. I had to take Rasta in cause he was showing some excessive thirst always at the fountain. I have no idea on those results and it was a month ago.. they did find a dental infection and so we to have a dental on him so this results were good enough for a dental exam and I have the saying “no news is good news” its my Noriko kitty that I inks has issues she is already diagnosed with IBS and they in her last blood test (December) they needed to see her again in 3 months potential cancer. And it’s been 5 months. I’m scared of that visit and I needed to get funds back up. (pika needs a dental but vet and I decided to get his diabetes under control first he is starting to get build up nothing major yet.)

I’m so glad your a pet meter as well! Libre was a human meter and Pika is done with it I was trying to buy the at2 but I read somewhere that they were discontinuing so I bought the 3. And I have 150 strips for it. But I am seeing how it adds up really fast when you go through 50 strips in about 10 days (yesterday was the most I’ve tested in a day (9 times) so I’m starting to think about switching.. but I’ve gotten used to the alpha numbers…. And I know once I see 72 he is hypo by the numbers I had to call and get the number on what to look for since everything is for human meters and there isn’t a conversion between the two but I did see that I had what was approximately a 30 point difference between my sensor and my alpha at low numbers. I tested at 67 on sensor and 98 on alpha, then I had a 54 and it was about an 86 on alpha.. that is why I think I’ve been doing a form of tight regulation but I keep getting in trouble on here trying to figure out the difference of pet vs human.. but I haven’t seen any symptoms of hypo. Just last night he got super aggressive and thats not like him and he was 76 so he got his hc and honey.. since I know the act now is 72. (5 point built in safety) if you see a number in 60s on alpha treat immediately. 68 is the number on here to treat now. But switching to a human would mean even lower numbers.. lol so I am lost!! These low numbers stress me out! My goal was 100-200 so I never had to worry about going hypo… but I guess I don’t get to decide that.
 
Allie is staying in yellow for the most part!! (I know it’s a rollercoaster) that is all progress! The more she stays in the 200s the closer you will be blue and greens!! So she is on her way down slowly but in her way down. I had to take Rasta in cause he was showing some excessive thirst always at the fountain. I have no idea on those results and it was a month ago.. they did find a dental infection and so we to have a dental on him so this results were good enough for a dental exam and I have the saying “no news is good news” its my Noriko kitty that I inks has issues she is already diagnosed with IBS and they in her last blood test (December) they needed to see her again in 3 months potential cancer. And it’s been 5 months. I’m scared of that visit and I needed to get funds back up. (pika needs a dental but vet and I decided to get his diabetes under control first he is starting to get build up nothing major yet.)

I’m so glad your a pet meter as well! Libre was a human meter and Pika is done with it I was trying to buy the at2 but I read somewhere that they were discontinuing so I bought the 3. And I have 150 strips for it. But I am seeing how it adds up really fast when you go through 50 strips in about 10 days (yesterday was the most I’ve tested in a day (9 times) so I’m starting to think about switching.. but I’ve gotten used to the alpha numbers…. And I know once I see 72 he is hypo by the numbers I had to call and get the number on what to look for since everything is for human meters and there isn’t a conversion between the two but I did see that I had what was approximately a 30 point difference between my sensor and my alpha at low numbers. I tested at 67 on sensor and 98 on alpha, then I had a 54 and it was about an 86 on alpha.. that is why I think I’ve been doing a form of tight regulation but I keep getting in trouble on here trying to figure out the difference of pet vs human.. but I haven’t seen any symptoms of hypo. Just last night he got super aggressive and thats not like him and he was 76 so he got his hc and honey.. since I know the act now is 72. (5 point built in safety) if you see a number in 60s on alpha treat immediately. 68 is the number on here to treat now. But switching to a human would mean even lower numbers.. lol so I am lost!! These low numbers stress me out! My goal was 100-200 so I never had to worry about going hypo… but I guess I don’t get to decide that.

Well you called it she hit a blue!
You didn't get the results yet and it has been a month? I'm kind of shocked but then I do say no news is good news? I'd rather be on the bottom of the call back list then at the top. LOL I was responding as I read! We've apparently thinking along the same lines. I hope all goes well with his dental.

Oh no! Sorry to hear that about Noriko. Did they say what kind of cancer or what was off in the test? At this point think any vet visit is more scary than my visits to the doctors. Allie has nothing immediate for dental but needs a cleaning, I'm waiting for her to regulate better too. I need some dental work but I feel you on the finances. I'm not stretched but just the thoughts of it money and time is just something else added on top of everything else.

No I don't do the pet meter Allie uses the same type of meter as I do. Same strips but 2 different meters (we each have our own). Yeah come September they are not making the strips for the AT2 anymore and my vet just told me to get one, strips are about $1.00 USD a piece. I've seen here on the posts about the difference in the numbers, thanks for the reminder I need to pull those out and go over them again.
That is where my next step would be looking @ 100-200 since some days I'm gone for 4-6 hours. I'd always make sure to feed before, even if she gets it early and Id also put ou some frozen. Tried 2 different feeders and she wanted nothing to do with them.
Nope, their blood sugars are going to do what they want to do. I'm going to try to sneak in a 1 hour nap here and there might be a long night.

Going through a low, I have all that printed out so I'm going to set all that stuff out just in case.

Thanks sooooo much!!
 
Back
Top