5/25 Sya PMPS 415 ,+2 316, +3 260 , +4 251, +5 256

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi,
Began 2 units tonight. I know its a big jump...I think its needed...we've been sitting too long at the high numbers and I think its taking its toll. The vet said move forward with it. Got him to write me a new prescription for Lantus cartridges as well..going to pick that up tomorrow. Meanwhile am shooting her with what I have...guess I'll anticipate having to watch her like a hawk tomorrow when I open a new cartrige.
To my question..anyone have advice on getting urine from a stealth peer? Am worried about ketones...got ketosticks...tried one on a wet lump in the box...didn't know if that would work or not...would love to think it does as it read negative...but have my doubts. I almost wish she'd pee outside the box again...at least I'd have a puddle to work with...I don't smell anything on her breath....I'm just concerned..
This is all so hard :sad:
 
Re: 5/25 Sya PMPS 415 +2 316 New dose started Have question

any chance you can start testing every day? I would be concerned about a dose increase without knowing what is going on. The 415 could be a bounce from some lower numbers that occurred earlier in the day or the day before. See how on 4/30 and 5/1 she was in the 70's, then bounced to the 400's? That is a typical pattern and could be what happened today. It might not be, but that's the first thing that pops into my mind when I see 400's on a spreadsheet that is normally yellow and pink.

A 100 point drop at +2 is also something that means "pay attention." +2 is normally about the same as the PS reading, so please try to get some tests tonight to see if she is dropping fast.
 
Re: 5/25 Sya PMPS 415 +2 316 New dose started Have question

Hi,
I do plan to follow her very closely tonight. I don't think the numbers have bounced low...I actually have my doubts about that one set of low numbers as I got some error messages soon after that. Needless to say, I will be collecting more data. I know that she has seemed to feel "less well" the past two days and seem perkier tonight after dose. The vet was pretty adamant about upping the dose (spoke to him this evening) I think he was looking at her response on the curve I did Saturday (5/22) where the numbers were pretty depressingly flat and essentially no better than when we began all this.
 
Re: 5/25 Sya PMPS 415 +2 316 New dose started Have question

the problem with making decisions based on curves is curves only give you a snapshot of what's happening that particular day. spot checks... more of them... will give you a much better picture. as seen on her spreadsheet, sya can move as much as 200+ points in a couple hours. that movement alone is enough to set off a bounce.
please monitor carefully, especially since you've increased the dose by a half unit.
 
Seem to have hit nadir...she feels better tonight with this new dose. Still wondering about Ketone testing ...maybe there's a sticky somewhere? Perhaps I should have posted in health...
 
i use a long-handled soup ladle to "catch" urine for ketone testing. i watch... and wait.
as soon as i see alex heading towards the litterbox, i grab the ladle and follow her. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top