? 5/25 Sugar AMPS 341 |+2 318 | +4 364 | +6 352 | +8 314 | +10 344 | PMPS 336 -1st curve, new dose?

Sugar’s Mama

Member Since 2022
Hello! Though high, in these ten days Sugar has gained back his appetite and energy is increased (though not totally back to his normal). We are currently using a pen and are awaiting syringes to be able to pull less then one unit at a time.

We should increase by .25 first, correct? Or, by .5? Do we have to watch and monitor his BG closely on the first day? And, how long should we stay at that dose before another curve test to know if it’s working?

Getting confident with the pen I’m very nervous about using syringes and not getting it right! Has anyone seen videos? I’ve tried searching and only find information about how it’s not recommended (though I think that’s for humans?).
 
Hello and welcome to the Lantus/Levemir/Biosimilars forum. How about this post for videos: Hometesting Links and Tips. The Sticky Note on insulin and syringes has a video on how to draw insulin from both pens and vials.

You are right, the next dose would be 1.25 units. Have you looked at the Sticky Note on dosing methods and figured out which dosing method you'd like to follow? The answer to how long to hold a dose depends on that decision. Both methods would have you increase by 0.25 units if you are seeing some yellow nadirs.

Good to hear that Sugar is getting some of his original self back, this will get even better. :)


https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-levemir-biosimilars.9/
 
Wendy,

Thank you for your reply, I’ll check out that page to prepare! I won’t have the syringes for a few days. I couldn’t find a local pharmacy with them in stock so ordered them from ADW who will verify with my vet. Apparently in my state I need a prescription and can’t order them from Amazon.

I’ve read through the methods a few times and I’m not quite sure. I don’t yet understand what’s so different about them. I think I’ll reference the SLGS as we try to find the right dose.
 
SLGS you hold doses for 7 days before increasing(unless they go below 90 in which case you decrease). The goal of SLGS is to keep their low points, or nadirs, in the 90-149 range. With TR, you hold doses 3-5 days (unless they go below 50 in which case you decrease). The goal of TR is to get them mostly in the healing range of 50-120. Note that the numbers I am referencing are with human BG meters. TR allows you to increase sooner to a good dose, but with being more aggressive requires at least 4 tests per day, the two preshots plus at least one other per cycle. People usually pick one based on their personal circumstances and goals for their cat. Once you've picked a dosing method, could you add SLGS or TR to your signature, it'll help us help you faster.
 
Thank you, this is very helpful to have it a bit simplified! I think SLGS will fit best because we do have dry food out for our other cat. It’s now Dr. Elseys Chicken (2.53% carbs). We haven’t seen Sugar eat any besides one time but he may gain interest when we are out or when he’s feeling better.
 
Back
Top