5/25 Snuggie: PMPS 394; +3.5 313 ((+11/AMPS 384; +5 339 - now we are having pee problems

Jay Dee

Member Since 2021
UGH! I am so disappointed in myself. I woke up to pull food 2hrs before insulin time. Reset clock to get up for work (1 hr later, which is 1 hr before shot time) and my brain jumped into autopilot ... did the BG reading (thought it was AMPS, but it was PM+11), fed, gave insulin. Even gave the other cat her meds that she gets at the same time.

So here's where I need help (link to yesterday's post at bottom of this one):

1) BG Monitoring today: his +11 was 384 and i know from his history at this dose it wouldn't have gone down much more by +12. He hasn't been seeing many yellows at this dose so i'm not TOO concerned but need someone to look at his spreadsheet and tell me if there are *specific times* today i should monitor.

2) Getting back on schedule: I need help figuring out when to give the next several doses - when can we get back to his normal shot schedule if he was an hour early today?

3) Dose increase: i was planning on going to 6u 2x daily tomorrow, but i know a big change in dose time acts like a dose change. Should i wait til we get back on schedule before increasing dose?

4) Spreadsheet: how the heck do i record this and where do i put things?

Thank you!!

Yesterday's post: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-24-snuggie-pmps-366-amps-325-6-304-9-5-333.247768/
 
Last edited:
I don’t think you need to worry about shooting early based upon how high he was. When getting back on schedule you can shoot late without any worries. It’s shooting early when you dint want to shoot more than 30 minutes early every 24 hours. Let’s see what happens today and tonight in terms of an increase tomorrow. I’m pretty sure you will be fine to go ahead with it given the bg numbers lately.
 
I don’t think you need to worry about shooting early based upon how high he was. When getting back on schedule you can shoot late without any worries. It’s shooting early when you dint want to shoot more than 30 minutes early every 24 hours. Let’s see what happens today and tonight in terms of an increase tomorrow. I’m pretty sure you will be fine to go ahead with it given the bg numbers lately.
Ah whew - thanks! So if usual shot time is 8:30, and I did 7:30 this am, can I go 8pm tonight then 8:30 tomorrow am?
 
Well, crap. It's not that there's less urine output due to the new insulin and better numbers - He's started urinating inappropriately... His sister has had UTIs since Nov and peed along the perimeter of the carpet in our hallway and along some other walls. Even when he was at his SICKEST (CKD Dx in early March, neuropathy and bad wobbles from a potassium crash, concurrent UTI/URI, we nearly lost him), he ALWAYS made it into the box and never peed where she had on the carpet. But yesterday and today he's gone in a few spots where she previously had and we cleaned up with copious amounts of Natures Miracle. As I said, I really don't think he's 'marking' his territory because I think he would have at some point in the past 6 mo since his sister's issues started... He has an appt tomorrow morning. I'll ask for cystocentesis and culture/sensitivity, but would there be anything else to ask about? We had a cat WAY back in the day with CKD - she started leaking in her sleep, ended up to be bladder cancer... should i be concerned about that? should i ask for an ultrasound or x-ray? if i should move this post to the main forum, let me know. i'm absolutely BESIDE myself now.
 
I'm sorry I'm not much help with the more serious health issues, but I do know when Mr Kitty spends too much time above the renal threshold he starts going outside the box. I've cleaned So. Many. Carpets. Hopefully it's just that!

I found that a combo of nature's miracle and Earthworm carpet cleaner (amazon) work really well, assuming you lift up the carpet as well to treat underside, replace any pee carpet padding, and subfloor too if needed.
 
Unfortunately, missing the LB is not uncommon with some diabetic cats. Multiple LB's, putting pee pads around them for those whose neuropathy or arthritis makes it hard to squat, are some tricks. Once you get him under renal threshold more often, that should help. Getting him checked for UTI is also not a bad thing, fairly common with diabetics too.
 
@Wendy&Neko and @FrostD thank you! Yes it’s just unusual for him bc he has NEVER done this before - and it wasn’t missing rhe box, it was flat out in the hallway. Ugh! So we cleaned and he’s back to acting very normal - jumped up on lap, on couch, on bed...

We have 2 cats and 4 LBs, scooped at least 2x daily and cleaned every 2 weeks.

I think he hasn’t been below the renal threshold since his diabetes started so maybe it’s a cumulative effect?
We are testing for UTI tomorrow.

fingers crossed! I may wait til Thursday to increase his dose tho just bc I wonder if he’s stressed with all this stuff.
 
On the other hand, being above renal threshold is stressing him and the increase will help with that.
Yea good point - I was wondering that too.
Right now he’s sleeping on the cardboard we put on the area we deep cleaned with half a bottle of Natures miracle but he used the litter box first! Whew!
 
Good luck at the vet today! If they can spin a sample onsite, and they see any crystals, you might want to do an x-ray to rule out stones. I would guess it's more likely something like a UTI or stress-induced cystitis. (as well as that dang renal threshold...I'm there with you on that one!)

My vet likely thinks I'm nuts because I'm constantly bringing in urine samples. I have the multi-everything dipstick that I use for ketones, and I'm always rushing a sample in saying, "It's got blood! It's got leukocytes!" I also like to keep a very close eye on his specific gravity. With one exception, my dipstick is usually pretty off. The one time he DID truly have a higher quantity of blood, they said was stress cystitis, since the sample was sterile. Maybe that's happening with Snuggie?

Fingers crossed...let us know!
 
@Purrberry thank you! Sorry to hear Fred is having urine issues too. I Know my vet thinks i'm nuts for all the requests i make - but at least they know i care and am informed. He goes in a few hours - i will let everyone know, thankyou!
 
Back
Top