5/25-Racci-AMPS-72,+4.25-36,+5.25-53,+7-98,PMPS-198 Decrease

Status
Not open for further replies.

MelanieAndRacci

Member Since 2010
Yesterday:http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=7178
5/24- Racci- AMPS-95, +4-124, +9.5-173, PMPS-199

Hi LL! I hope you're all having a good day today. The weather is finally nice here, sunny and in the 80's, hot but that's what ac is for. You can always cool offAs long as it's sunny and not raining, I'm happy!

We had the cleaning ladies here today which always stresses Racci so I don't know if her great start will continue throughout the day, but I'm hoping for more greens. It was funny, they couldn't figure out what was different about Racci but noticed the difference in the amount of fur in the house and said Racci looked like a different cat with her haircut. :lol: Maybe I'll get a chance to resize those photos I took today and post them. Her fur is already starting to grow back.

I'm about to do a +4 now and see where she is. She probably went up and then started going down again after her 2 breakfasts. All p's are in place and Racci was a happy little girl before our company arrived. She's still sleeping in the bedroom closet now so I'll have to go wake her for her test. I'll be back soon.
 
Re: 5/25-Racci-AMPS-72, +4.25-36

Racci has made it loud and clear that the 3.5s is more than she wants even though it's a skinny dose! So much for the increase! I guess I need to bring her back down just not all the way down to 3.25 again. Or maybe try the 3.25 and work my way back up again to an in between if I have to? I think the high numbers may have been a combination of the Ultima meter and not feeling well and the humidity. Any thoughts?

I'm going to test her again at about 5:15 and see where she is. She had her regular low carb (2%) lunch and dry dm (13%) treats for the high carb. I ope I didn't overdo the hc.
 
Re: 5/25-Racci-AMPS-72, +4.25-36, +5.25-53, +7-98, Decrease

I have a few questions for you. I noticed that you mentioned injecting air into your Lantus container. Are you using a vial or a Solostar pen? If you're using the pen, please do not inject air. The pens work on a negative pressure system and you can end up breaking the container by injecting air.

With that 36 at +4.25, was your next test an hour later? If so, when you see low numbers, you do need to test more frequently -- especially with a number in the 30s. You do not have much margin for error with numbers that low so you need to be on top of the numbers in order to make sure Racci is safe. Please take a look at this post on handling low numbers.

Congrats on the dose reduction.
 
Re: 5/25-Racci-AMPS-72, +4.25-36, +5.25-53, +7-98, Decrease

Hi Sienne,

About your questions: I use the vial of lantus so there's no problem with injecting the air in the bottle before withdrawing the same amount and it works like a charm with the bubble problem. I have read that you can't do that with the pen but I've never used one. I'm happy with the vial and just never got around to switching to try the other.

I know I should have tested sooner than an hour & actually it was about 50 minutes instead of an hour but I found it too complicated to try to translate that into a number to put in the subject line at the moment it was happening. I had to feed Racci, she pooped and I had to clean her with her Veterycin, powder her, and I was hand feeding her some DM before I tested her again. She was with me the entire time being taken care of & I tested as soon as possible. I had wanted to test in half an hour but it wasn't to be.

Thanks for the congrats, Sienne, Ella & Helen. It's funny, this was a reduction she won before but was having trouble holding. Remember Sienne, when you said I might have to increase her again and I said I was going to give it a couple more days because I wasn't sure what the cause of the high numbers was? Well finally I decided to increase her back to a skinny version of her prior dose and I think today is the 3rd or 4th day on the increase. Now I guess she told me that dose wasn't the reason for the high numbers. It's back down to a fat version of the lower dose again. :lol:

I'm supposed to make another vet appt for her this coming month anyway. I think I'll do it sooner rather than later and have her blood tested for infection. She may need some antibiotics again. That could be what's been making her irregular. She did have a great day but I think the bounce may already be beginning with her pmps, (198), though she did eat a little lc about +10.5 which had some effect.

Thank you all for visiting & caring. :smile: I hope you all have a great night and a wonderful weekend.

Hugs,
Melanie & Racci
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top