? 5/25 Pmps Squirrel increase caused bounce bc of 80 @ +8? Hold or go down?

Adriana & Squirrel

Member Since 2020
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/squirrel-dose-increase-for-pm-shot-slgs.247776/

Good morning everyone! So I upped my boy's dose last night back up to 1.25 because he was running way too high. I camped out next to him on the couch and kept waking up to check his BG. He got down to 80 last night and bounced. He looks like he feels terrible. Really want to follow this protocol. Not sure if I should hold or decrease the dose. Not even sure if I should have given him a full 1.25 Units this morning. Wondering if I can find an in between 1 unit and 1.25. The unit markings are off on the syringes, I've been using calipers to measure consistent doses lately.

As always any input would be appreciated. Losing my head here, he's beginning CKD, my 17 year old girl is advanced CKD which we follow Tanya's for and the dog has oxolate urinary stones. ugh
 
Last edited:
With SLGS a reduction was earned. He sure likes to go lower at night. When he gets to around 100 are you feeding him some lc to prevent the drop? I also would not wait two hours when that happens.
 
@tiffmaxee thank you! Yes, he scares the daylights out of me. He's always been this way! And I have to wake up at 5 am for work! Sorry I am feeling a bit sorry for myself today lol had a quick breakdown earlier and back to normal self and glad my boy is still with me at this great age. Still, I feel so helpless seeing him feel awful and responsible for it.

Yes I do give him some LC food when I see drops like that.
I will start one unit again tonight, and see where he takes me. Its unbelievable-11 years at this and I still have so much to.learn.

Thanks again
 
Some people do take reductions at a slightly lower number especially with long terms. It’s up to you. If you want you could reduce at 70 or under 80 in which case you could hold. It’s not the way the method is written but after 11 years you know your cat and what you can handle.
 
@tiffmaxee will reduce to 80, as I'm confident in handling his numbers and will stay on guard. That 27 really threw me off and as I'm looking at his spreadsheet, i cant figure where that came from. I always try to keep every single factor the same.Since he's gotten off of the fancy feast, things have been a bit tougher. He can't handle the phosphorous in it any longer. He is eating a lower phosphorus, lower carb food now hence the need for less insulin. Much harder to regulate.As always, your advice is appreciated. Thank you
 
Well, I have a feeling my boy is going to be in the 200s Come PMPS. It seems to be a trend with him. Like I said feedings are all the same, He's left out food at night. Wish I could make sense of this.
 
Back
Top